We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such s great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Arenal

Save Saved
You added Apartments Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartments Arenal
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ Bordadores 9-1 Bajo F, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 339 Specialty lodging in Madrid
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Such s great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Arenal Apartments is such a great place. Secret tip - take the 1A Apartment. It'great and big. I liked this place, it's in the city centre, everything is close to you. Shame it's not an elevator here and the stairs are not in good shape.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el_Gerent, Gerente at Apartments Arenal, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are sure you'd like to know that we have more apartments with the same quality as the 1A, and even bigger! Anyway we are glad you enjoyed it and we wish to see you again soon.
Remember that you have a 5% off the next reservation now that you got our fidelity card.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    51
    19
    14
    16
See reviews for
36
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

we've got an apartment for 4 people and paid 100€ per night. the apartment was clean and with new forniture. it was perfect for sleeping because there was no noise at all. the apartment was inside a main building and for that reason there was not a lot of light coming from the outside , nevertheless for a few days this is totally fine. i highly recommend it because the ratio quality - price is extremely high. i do not understand why they charge immediately your card with 30% of the total you have to pay but at the end it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el_Gerent, Gerente at Apartments Arenal, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are really glad for yor comment. Regarding we are located in the center and we have serveral locations, you just have to ask us for the kind of apartments you preffer. Should you want to be quitier in an inside building, or with a view to Arenal Street. If we have it available it will be our pleasure helping you.
We look forward to see you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I knew it would be a louder location due to proximity to square and tourist location. It actually wasn't too noisy coming from the streets, however our neighbours were brutal. They made a big deal about noise level when checking in, but it seems nobody else got the memo. We stayed in the studio sweet, not the greatest but did the trick. The website said we would have a washing machine and kitchen, which was no washing machine and a hot plate, no oven.
Our sweet was connected to another, so for them to get in, they had to walk a short 6ft hallway to their door. The neighbours were so loud and I'm sure they had well over 10 people in there, then locked themselves out and screamed and yelled outside for a solid 30 minutes before the others woke up. They also attempted to open our door multiple times, which my girlfriend didn't feel overly safe about drunks trying to get into our suite.
Overall, my most disappointing stay on the trip.

Room Tip: IF you can muster the stairs, going higher seemed to help the noise level from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Apartments Arenal consists of several apartments located in three different addresses all close to Puerta del Sol. And let's be fair, this is an excellent location. The pulse of Madrid truly beats in this area, filled with shops, restaurant, attractions, and seemingly crowded around the clock. This is however also the disadvantage - we did have trouble sleeping at night.

We arrived about 8pm on a Sunday night (beware of the 40 euro additonal pay for arriving later than 1pm on a Sunday!), just to be told that our ordered apartment was unavaliable for the night. Instead we were shown a shared-bathroom apartment in one of the alleys between Calle de Arenal and Calle de Mayor (and got the night for free), in which five rooms shared two bathrooms (ladies'+gents') and a microwave. FAR from what we ordered. As our neighbors were throwing a party in the apartment that night, we didn't get much sleep.

Our real apartment, close to Calle de Preciados, which we got the next day, was very charming, though rather old. Both the kitchen and the bathroom were tiny, but functional. From the French balcony we enjoyed view of a beautiful church, around which there was a parade on the night before Maundy Thursday. The energy of the area was very fascinating, but made it rather hard to eat.

If you want to cook your own food, you've got El Corte Ingles, a large supermarket, about 50m away. One should also be aware that elevator's not to be taken for granted - we had in our first apartment, but not the second.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The up-side of this place is how central it is, just a stones throw from the Sol Metro and in the heart of the city. The downside was the size of the room, shared bathroom and a misleading website entry. The 40EUR check in fee if you arrive out of their specified hours is a rip off and should be more clearly labelled on their website. I payed 160 EUR for four nights (plus the 40EUR Check in fee) for a room that was literally 2m by 3m. Almost all of the so called 'room' was taken up by the double bed. We had one half of a window and the whole place was incredibly noisy because of the high volume of teenagers staying and the paper thin walls. You really can hear the people in the next room talking.

My advice, if you can afford this place, then book at the hotel Petit Palace Arenal or one of the local three stars which offer far better value having their own bathrooms and a lift. Your'e talking a few euros more and a world of difference.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing rooms first and dont book a room with shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Over all it was a great experience. The apartment had its everyday necessities, it was clean and comfortable. It is located in a great area, only 2 mintues away from Plaza del Sol, and the area was always busy, with bars, resturants, day activities, night activities, and street artists.

I was located on the 4th floor and the apartments had no lift, but for me that was not a problem. The shared bathroom was always clean, but very small, no room to move in, and the lock in the ladies shower did not lock well, which I reported it to the staff.

The staff is friendly, and answered to all my questions even before that i arrived. Internet is available at the room and you can control the cold by switching on the heater.

One problem was that the wall is thin so you listen to every conversation, and evry move it is made in all the apartment and in the street.

My overall experience was good. And I recomand it for young people who want to just enjoy madrid night life withou spending a fortune...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on a pedestrian street 20m from Plaza del Sol. I was on the 4th floor, and even though my room was tiny (compared to photos on their website) it was comfortable and clean. The only drawback was the walls were very thin and I could heat conversations and packing of luggage in the room next door.

As mentioned on previous reviews, the bathroom is shared for apartments and there isn't a lot of room, but what it lacks in space it makes up for in cleanliness.

The staff were friendly - I requested a late check-in and they rang me to make sure I was not lost at 12am.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartments Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Arenal

Address: C/ Bordadores 9-1 Bajo F, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 339 Specialty lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartments Arenal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 80 metres from Madrid's Puerta del Sol Square and Metro Station, Apartments Arenal are set on a charming pedestrian street. These bright apartments, studios and rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi.All accommodation at the Arenal is modern and air conditioned, with parquet floors and soundproofed windows. Seating areas come with a flat-screen TV. Apartments and studios also feature either a kitchen or kitchenette with an oven, electric hob and microwave.The Arenal complex has a tour desk, where staff can provide information about what to do in Madrid. Calle Mayor, 50 metres from the Arenal Apartments, has many shops, restaurants and bars.The apartments are less than 700 metres from Madrid’s Royal Palace and Plaza Mayor Square. Sights such as the Prado Museum and Retiro Park can be reached in 10 minutes by Metro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Apartments Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.