We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheapb central location but take your ear plugs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Madrid Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Madrid Inn to your Saves list
Hostal Madrid Inn
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Calle de Mesonero Romanos, 10 - 40 piso, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 240 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
edinburgh
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“cheapb central location but take your ear plugs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We only paid 110 for the two of us for three nights which was excellent. The hostal is very central close to plaza mayor Puerto de sol and gran via. We took the metro from the airport line 8 and then line 10 took us to plaza espana and then a 5 minute walk along gran via look out for el Cortes ingles and the hostel is behind there. The hostel in on 4th floor and the lift only takes two people. If you have lots of luggage it's a long walk up the stairs. Check in is from 1pm and check out is 12pm. The girl on reception speaks English but I would advise taking a Spanish phrasebook for when your out and about in bars shops and reataurants. We had room 8 and it was small clean and pleasant. Decorated a bit tacky in an ikea way but for what we paid it was good. The shower had plenty of hot water. The room was really hot and the first night we struggled to sleep as the heat was unbearable there was proper heating in the room but no way of turning it down. On the next 2 nights we left window open and this was perfect.the reason we have not given it a 5 rating is the noise from upstairs in the attic rooms. The sound proofing was pretty bad and the floorboards were terrible.could heard every step they took and at times felt like they were going to fall through the ceiling.I'm not a light sleeper but was repeatedly woken up which is not ideal . J would recommend packing ear plugs and you will not have an issue sleeping

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    79
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
134
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here last weekend.The price was excellent as too was the cleanliness.As I was ill they gave me a room until our departure.We found chocolates and champagne in the room and towels in the shape of a swan.Living as we do in a tourist área I have to say that the Madrid Inn offered us a service that we wouldnt get in a 4 or 5* hotel here.Thank yo so much

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stopped for 3 nights at the start of November. Easy to find and early check in made it a great start to the trip. Room was small but immaculately clean. Just been painted and smell lingered just little. Good views from 4th floor meant you could enjoy the fresh air and watch the world go by below. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. And even understood my Spanish - or at least pretended to!!
:-) it is a little noisy at night but that is the down side to the great location. A kettle and tea making facilities would help. All in all a great value location in a fantastic city. Would definitely come again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is at the center of the city.
Very close to all the atractions.
Everything is very close, so you can walk anywhere.
The rooms are on the 4 floor of a regular building.
The room is small but comforteble.
Very clean and nice.
The staff are nice -b u t - they don't know english at all!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hostal is more like an apartment in Madrid. Stephanie was such a pleasure to interact with. The room was spotless and the location was just fantastic.would surely recommend this place to anyone visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

You're right in the center of the action here which isn't ideal if you want to go to bed early. There is an open air cafe across from the hostela, so you'll hear patrons til it closes. Then the garbage dump comes. You hear traffic from Gran Via.
The walls are paper thin, so you hear folks in the hallway, particularly those coming in and leaving. The locks on the door are loud. Some guests don't understand that others need quiet when they come back to their hotel.
Staff are unsympathetic, but they're hands are tied. If you want a quiet room, indicate upon making your reservation.
Rooms are clean in an Ikea way. Bed is very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

If you like to shop and be close to many attractions then this is the place to stay for you! It is a 3 minute walk to Callao metro station. It is also very close to Sol station. Metro, bus stops including hop on and hop off sightseeing buses are all near by. You can walk to playa mayor and playa de sol. Lots of little bars and restaurants around.
This hostal is on the 4th floor. Rooms are nicely decorated in red, pink and white. It's clean and simple. Some might consider the rooms small but we didn't mind it. However, we did find the bathroom sink quite small. It was the same size as ones on airplanes. We found that it was easier to wash our faces in the shower. Otherwise the floor would be wet around sink area.
Overall, I would stay here again due to its convenient location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Madrid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Madrid Inn

Address: Calle de Mesonero Romanos, 10 - 40 piso, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Madrid Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Madrid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Madrid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.