We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better in than out!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palafox Central Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palafox Central Suites to your Saves list
Palafox Central Suites
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Palafox 7, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 377 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better in than out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were a little surprised at the street level of the Palafox building because of some graffiti around but it seems that Madrid is covered with it!! The apartment, however, seemed new, very clean and stocked with all the basics (incl: towels, soaps, dishwashing stuff etc). The location proved to be great once we learnt the area and had a couple of walks into Sol.
We were worried about arriving and meeting on time as per some bad review comments but we called the agent and Rafael was there waiting for us upstairs in the apartment (be aware: there is no office). We had to be shown where the extra cleaning fee (45eur) was indicated waaayyyyy down the bottom of our confirmation form because this wasn't included in the price. A frustrating surprise.
Overall we were happy, just don't expect to be arriving to a hotel or fully-serviced apartments. They hand over the keys and for better or for worse, you don't see them again (just what we wanted..).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
Couples
0
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The place itself is fine - basically furnished by IKEA. We stayed in the 2 bedroom 2 bath apartment and had a kitchenette with a small stove/range and washer. The biggest qualm I had with this place was upon arrival - waiting in front of the building with my kids and all my luggage for the manager dude to get there. They emailed me in advance to ask when my arrival time would be and I emailed them back with the time. Despite this, when we got there, no one was there. We had no cell since we'd just arrived, and had to run around in the streets looking for a working pay phone. Several phone calls later, we FINALLY reached the manager who said, "oh well we arent open yet." It might've been nice if he'd emailed me back to let me know that they wouldnt be open at my arrival time. Instead, we had no idea if he was located inside the building or what, so we basically pushed all the buttons on the security box and woke everyone up trying to find him. He finally showed up to take care of the paper work, etc., but the place wasn't cleaned yet so we had to wait while it was being cleaned. My kids were driving me CRAZY at this point and I too was exhausted from the plane ride, but regardless, out into the Madrid streets we go, looking for a place to get a coffee/waste time while the room was being cleaned.
Our stay was fine after we finally got in. We later saw other people waiting outside for the manager - so be aware that you will have to wait for him whenever he feels like getting there.
Unfortunately there aren't a lot of hotels in Madrid that can accommodate a family of 4 in one room, so we were stuck with this place. Also, this apt is located about 1/2-1 mile outside the main historical center. What's good is that you can get a decent night's sleep. What sucks is that its a long ---- walk with your complaining kids to the main area. Luckily there's lots of cabs around.
For you American families - yes there is a washer but NO DRYER! Apparently everyone in Spain hangs their clothes out to dry!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central_Suites, General Manager at Palafox Central Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Flowerchicken,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Palafox Central Suites and taking the time to share your opinion with us.

I'd like to firstly extend my apologies for the fact that our service did not meet your expectations and also inform you and any other readers about the new system we have installed in the entrance of our Palafox apartment building. We now have a buzzer called: "Reception" that you can push and then call and speak to our receptionists directly to their reception mobile. They can then remotely open the entrance door for you so you can wait inside while they walk the 3 blocks from our office to Palafox.

With this new door buzzer technology we have managed to stop any waiting from arriving guests. we still ask that you call us from the airport if possible to advise us of your arrival progress so we can best coordinate any other arrivals happening at a similar time. These methods combined are ensuring a fast and seamless check-in process. We hope that you can consider staying at Palafox Central Suites again in the future and you are welcome to ask for me directly so I can ensure extra care is taken in the service extended to you and your family.

Kind regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Wonderful, and one of the best places to stay in Madrid
- Clean
- Lots of space
- Excelent service
- Central, with metro at your door, right in the middle of the main city life
- Wonderful restaurants and bars around

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great location, new furnishings, bright lighting and stylish interiors. Full kitchen making cooking no worries. Friendly local staff as well with good local tips drawn on a map for you etc. Me and my mates really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I come into Madrid very often for work and the Palafox apartments are just perfect. They are very comfortable, fully equipped and the staff are really helpful and friendly. The location is also really convenient...wouldn't think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chamberi
Innside Madrid Luchana
Innside Madrid Luchana
#29 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Malasana
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#59 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Chueca
Only You Hotel & Lounge
Only You Hotel & Lounge
#3 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Chamberi
Agora Juan de Austria
Agora Juan de Austria
#212 of 453 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palafox Central Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palafox Central Suites

Address: Calle Palafox 7, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 377 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palafox Central Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious 2 and 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartments in a newly reformed building that is situated 14 minutes walk from Puerta del Sol through the pedestrian Fuencarral street, full of restaurants and shops, and just two metro stops to Puerta del Sol. The accommodation is also right between the lively central Madrid districts of Malasaña and Chueca. All the great attractions of Madrid are within a comfortable walking distance through charming old town streets. You can arrive quickly to Puerta del Sol, El Prado, Plaza Mayor and the Royal Palace & Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Palafox Central Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palafox Central Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.