We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madrid Central Suites

Save Saved
You added Madrid Central Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madrid Central Suites
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Apodaca 5, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 339 Specialty lodging in Madrid
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were a group of 4 who stayed in this apartment for 4 nights in Sep. The apartmet is well located and nicely done up. It is very good value for money. I think we were in an apartment with 2BR + 1 bathroom. On reflection, it is better to try to ask for an apartment with 2 bathrooms as it can take quite a bit of time to get ready every morning with just 1 bathroom. Otherwise, I would recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
16
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The apartment is very well located just around the corner from Tribunal metro stop. The area has a real buzz to it, especially on halloween, with plenty of good quality and reasonably priced places to eat. We'd recommend the little restaurant bar El Salton just off Calle de Fuencarral on Calle de Colon. A friendly informal place with two courses for 9 Euro including entres, wine and coffee.

The apartment we were in had a large, comfortable master bedroom. The other bedroom had a comfortable bed (the main thing) but only room for one bedside drawer set, no easy chair and no mirror anywhere in the room. This room had no air con either which would be a downer in the Madrid summer heat. If staying with children the room would probably be adequate, less so for an adult couple. Otherwise the apartment was very well equipped, clean and comfortable. We would be happy to return there at this time of year and recommend to others.

Joan Carlos checked us in late in the evening. He was great - charming and well informed using a street map to point out good places to go, of which there are many in Madrid.

Would recommend the hop on hop off bus for one day - good Metro system though busy and packed out night and day in the city centre.

Sadly pickpockets are rife in Madrid with loads of opportunity for them around multitude of street entertainers and on the Metro. We had our camera nicked in Plaza Mayor. The police were helpful and very well set up to deal with tourist 'victims' like us and several others that evening in the police station on Leganitos. Met a girl from Honduras who had had her i phone stolen by children in Starbucks and a family from Egypt had a purse taken from a back pack with important documents in. A fascinating couple of hours in the police station but a part of Madrid we could have done without. Travellers really are at great risk from this sort of crime even when you think you are wise to it and vigilant. Apartment concierge a great help getting us sorted out with the police.

Loved Madrid obviously very Spanish, English often not spoken but that's fine with us. Would recommend Botin 'the oldest restaurant in the world' though expensive for the privilege and the Crystal Palace in Retiro park.

Room Tip: Win the toss for the master bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Madrid Central Suites was the highlight of our stay in Spain.

The apartments are centrally located just off Fuencarrel which is off Gran Via and not more than a 10 -15 min walk from the apartment. The Tribunal metro is less than 2 mins away, which means you are well connected to most sights in Madrid.

The apartment itself was delightful. A spacious 2 bedrooms, with a nice kitchen and living area. Yes it is all IKEA furniture and I don't see what is wrong with that since it's great design!

Check-in and check-out was smooth and Ronny was very helpful with tips on what to see/do in the city.

In spite of being in a crowded area, the apartment was surprisingly quiet at night and we were on the first floor. The only surprise was someone ringing our doorbell at 6 a.m. on our first morning - probably got the wrong door.

There's a lovely cafe called Pain Quotidien near the apartments which ended being our source for breakfast. And the San Miguel market provided some excellent food for one of our dinners :)

A great choice for a stay in the city, especially if you are a family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our party of 5 stayed 4 nights at Madrid Central suites in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment had all the essential appliances, etc to make for a comfortable stay. The apartment was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The building is located very close to a metro stop, which makes exploring Madrid a snap. The neighbordhood has many restaurants that are walking distance and plenty of interesting shops. There is a small convenient store across the street and two large grocery stores within 5 minutes walk. The staff were great and very helpful. We were provided with a great orientation to Madrid and our neighborhood by Claudia. All of the staff in the office were helpful and patient with our questions. The office hours were very convenient as well. Madrid is a beautiful city and we will certainly return. I would not hesitate to stay at Madrid Central Suites and highly recommend it for families or any other type of traveler.

Room Tip: A/C was very helpful during our stay in July
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a great suite hotel in a great location. We have very few complaints and suggestions. The location is wonderful for walking, shopping, dining, and only 2 short blocks to metro station to take you straight to the scenic areas like the Prado. The street is quiet and the small balconies are wonderful for surveying the local scene. Air conditioning units are only in living room and master bedroom but worked well. If sleeping in second bedroom, it will be warmer and will need to open window (no screens) or borrow a fan. Air conditioning unit should really be installed in that room because Madrid can get very hot in the summer. Couch does not fold down like a sofa bed but is very comfortable for extra sleeping space. Wireless internet and hot water did not work initially which was a hassle but staff were very responsive in fixing them. The office is not manned 24 hours a day however. Bathtub/shower is very slippery and there are no hand holds, so a hand rail should be installed for safety. Management provided verbally and in a list restaurant recommendations. The Parallel which is only a few blocks away was superb for tapas, desserts, and patio dining. Addresses should be added to the restaurant list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We highly recommend these apartments—you get so much more space for the same price as a regular hotel room with no need to worry about going out to find breakfast (you get a spacious kitchen with a full-size fridge, stove, dishwasher and washing machine), vacating the room so cleaners can get in, etc. And, if you want the room cleaned in the middle of your stay, you only have to pay about €30 (if I recall correctly). The apartment building is centrally located, but in a non-touristy area. That means that local shops, with the exception of the small Dia Supermarket, close at 2pm on the dot and don’t open till 5 or later. You are however no more than a 30 minute walk from most of the capital and there is much to see. It can get noisy outside on Friday and Saturday nights, but the main bedroom is at the back of the building and the apartments themselves have double or triple glazed windows and the front rooms have very thick shutters on the balcony doors and air conditioning, all of which blocks out the noise. Our bedroom faced an inner courtyard and so was also not noisy. The only downside could have been that there was no A/C in the bedroom, but it was cool enough with the bedroom window open (and not too noisy, though I’d still recommend earplugs no matter where you stay in Madrid—it’s a noisy place!). There are few Radio or TV channels in English, but this isn’t a place to stay in and watch TV. The other downside was that the wi-fi in the building was pretty sporadic, but we found this to be the case everywhere we stayed in Spain. The staff were very helpful in trying to sort this out, as well as with other things we asked for help with. Bruno in particular spent a considerable time marking up a map for us with details of things to do and tips on the best times to visit. He excelled himself when on realising we had bought a few items of out of date food from the above mentioned supermarket, he offered to come to the supermarket to explain on our behalf, although we bravely settled for him writing the appropriate phrases in Spanish that achieved the right result. Don’t even think about hiring a car. Parking is very difficult, roads are narrow and local drivers unforgiving, but this is a town to be walked anyway, day or night. One tip is buy a Metro ticket. €12 for 10 trips within the city, on the Underground Metro is tremendous value and the Central Suites are well connected via the Tribunal Station to all the main tourist areas and the University area. We will definitely stay here if we ever have the pleasure of coming to Madrid again.

Room Tip: If you think you need the sofabed, make sure you get help opening it or let the staff know in advanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Compaired with other accommodation available we thought this excellent value. The rooms were well equipped, clean and comfortable. We visited on the weekend of the Gay pride perade and the final of the European football cup final that Spain won; we thought there would be a great deal of noise from the street but once the shutters were closed there was no noise in the apartment. Shops and a good selection of restaurants are handy and the nearest metro station is only a few min walk away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madrid Central Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madrid Central Suites

Address: Calle Apodaca 5, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 339 Specialty lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madrid Central Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious 1 or 2 bedroom apartments in a newly reformed building that is situated 10 minutes walk from Puerta del Sol through the pedestrian Fuencarral street, full of restaurants and shops, and just one metro stop to Puerta del Sol. All the great attractions of Madrid are within a comfortable walking distance through charming old town streets. Access the Museums, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor and the Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Madrid Central Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madrid Central Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.