We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Casa Bueno

Hostal Casa Bueno
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Casa Bueno to your Saves list
Hostal Casa Bueno
Calle Fuencarral 10, 4th floor, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 238 Madrid B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Everything we needed, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed at Pension Bueno for 4 nights. Hot water and wifi were very consistent, which is always a plus. Location is great as we walked to all the major sights. From the airport, you can take the metro to Neuvos Ministeres and transfer to Tribunal. From Tribunal the Pension is just a 10 minute walk down the pedestrian only shopping street.

We chose a double room with shared bathroom and we never ran into anybody else the whole time we were there. Didn't have any problems with noise levels, air con worked well. Room was small but adequate.

Overall, there's nothing to complain about and I would definitely recommend Hostal Casa Beuno if you're looking for a cheap place to stay in Madrid. For 2 people, it's almost a better deal than paying 2 beds in a dorm.

Room Tip: There is an elevator so appropriate for disabled persons or those travelling with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    43
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
35
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Australian couple traveling, Madrid is our first stop. Hostal Casa Bueno is very centrally located. It's only a couple of hundred meters walk from Gran Via metro station. We caught the train here from Madrid airport. You're right in the heart of everything. Shops, bars, restaurants are right on your front doorstep. Room is small but clean and comfortable. It's all you need when you're out and about seeing the sights every day. Our host was lovely and very helpful. There are a few flights of stairs to get to the hostal. A lift does take you some of the way but not all so maybe not suitable if you have heavy luggage or mobility issues. Overall we loved our stay here and would happily return.

Tip: request a room with a balcony. Only a couple of rooms are street side, the rest are "inside" the building. It made such a difference to the feel and experience of our stay. I think you'd feel quite boxed in otherwise and I loved looking out to what was going on the street below.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, the philippines
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

my room was small, clean and simple. mattress was good for a night's rest, toilet was spartan, functional and sanitary. the staff was very helpful, adjusted room temperature and loaned electric adapter plug. good wifi. tourists and shops abound in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The location is good - walking distance to the city center. The hosts are very friendly. they maybe lack some English, but do everything to make you feel well as their guest. It was a bit noisy, but the noise was not from the street, but other guests. Rooms are really small, but clean. If you just want some place to sleep - this place is for you. They even have a room service daily (I have not expected it for this price). A tip - bring your soap and shampoo, there was only some "basic" soap.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A place with small and simple rooms. Clean and very economic. Allows you to spend the money on food and other amenities. Tip: The Café Austrica is just around the corner and a great place for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get the room to the backyard. The street can be a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Casa Bueno based on good TripAdvisor reviews and found it to be just as described in the reviews: an excellent value in an excellent location. You are a two minute walk to the Gran Via metro station and five minutes from the Plaza Puerto del Sol. Most of what you are in Madrid to see is within just a couple of metro stops. In fact, we found it was more often close enough for us to walk to the major sights. The rooms here are smallish but clean and well maintained. The proprietor is energetic, earnest, and genuinely concerned about his customers. He went out of his way to see to our needs. It is clear that Casa Bueno is a family business and that the family takes pride in its efficient and friendly operation.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on Fuencarral, which is a pedestrian street, so traffic is not an issue. We to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Perfect location in the city center! We stayed in a double room with private bathroom. Clean room and bathroom. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. The hostal is very accessible by different modes of public transportation to the tourist areas in Madrid. You won't have a hard time getting to and from the airport.. Definitely the best value for money. Would highly recommend and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: At the end of Calle Fuencarral, one can visit the Museo de Historia de Madrid. Entrance is free but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Casa Bueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Bueno

Address: Calle Fuencarral 10, 4th floor, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Casa Bueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Casa Bueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.