We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Equity Point Madrid- SOL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Equity Point Madrid Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Equity Point Madrid Hostel to your Saves list
Equity Point Madrid Hostel
Calle de la Cruz 5, 28012 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Equity Point Madrid- SOL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The location of this hostel is to die for. At the heart of SOL, lined with pubs and small quaint cafes , walking distance from Atocha and the main SOL metro station. economical and very clean by hostel standards. THe staff were very helpful and the walking tours and pub crawls organized from the hostel were a godsend. Not to forget the free breakfast which is a rarity with budget hostels

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    41
    52
    17
    20
See reviews for
8
20
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hostel is horrendous!! It's unclean, bathrooms are disgusting, no lockers, no air conditioning, crazy loud, zero security, one key per room which is annoying. I had my purse stolen from the common room and the hostel refused to even look at security cameras. You can get much better hostels for the same price. The only positive would be the breakfast is okay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends after we had a passport stolen and had to come to Madrid for the embassy. It was right in the middle of Madrid only a two minute walk to SOL train station, at only 9 euro a night it was exactly what we needed. Staff were wonderful! The rooms are what you would expect but still very clean, no air con so was a bit hot but for the price to hotel is perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a good hostel but the security is a little lax and I would strongly advise ear plugs as the from the street is quite loud especially on account of no air con. The breakfast was a standard Spanish selection but did offer tea and coffee. Not bad for 14 euro average a night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for two nights with my brother in a 5 bed-room. We enjoyed the central location in Madrid, and we really didn't experience any noise in the hostel. Maybe we were just lucky with our room, but I really got some good nights sleep :-)

The bad thing about the hostel is that there is just one key for each room which is very unhandy with up to 5+ people living in the rooms. And the wifi only worked in the first floor, which was a bit annoying.
On the good side was the breakfast - and the location. And the bed was good as well. We enjoyed our stay at the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Appreciated the breakfast and free computer use. Rooms were all you expect in a hostel. This was the cheapest hostel we stayed in on a month long Europe trip (Portugal, Spain, and Italy), so it was a good value for sure.
Not great common spaces so a bit hard to meet people.
We went on a tour with the hostel, but it was very uninspired. This could just be the fault of our tour guide, but it did not leave us with a great feel of madrid. I don't know our tour guides name because I specifically recall he never told us.

Overall, just felt more disconnected from this hostel. It had less "soul" so to speak. But as far as accommodations, it was plenty adequate. Except for not having a kitchen to use, it had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

So noisy it sounds like elephants are running up and down the halls; combined with the constant shouting and children screaming making sleep impossible! No air conditioning or lockers for you bag. There are many places that offer more for the same amount

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Equity Point Madrid Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Madrid Hostel

Address: Calle de la Cruz 5, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Equity Point Madrid Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equity Point Madrid Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.