We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for food lovers when in Madrid...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod

Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod
Evaristo San Miguel, 21 (esq. a Ferraz), 28008 Madrid, Spain (Arguelles)
+34 915 42 95 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 7,227 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Arguelles
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A must for food lovers when in Madrid...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Probably due more to our navigation skills, but we found the place hard to find and were just about to give up when we found the Bistro and we were so pleased we had. Fabulous food, set in a non formal environment, which make it even more special. The small menu choice is down to the confidence in their food and not baying to try and please every potential request... this proved very justified with fabulous tastes and quality of the ingredients, plus he service was excellent - warm and inviting. The celery mojito is fantastic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    170
    45
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful! Thank you Trip Advisor for Pointing the Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just returned from a lovely lunch at the Metro Bistro. What a delight! Our goat cheese and fig salad was perfect! I could have eaten it for days, but all good things must come to an end. We were also served a fabulous celery mojito, gratis, to accompany our salad. The bacon and veal burger with cheese cream and yucca, in lieu of a bun, was just right-super flavor and just large enough. The hen on roasted eggplant tasted as great as it smelled. As much as we would have loved to try a dessert-we were full! But that didn't stop our waitress for bringing us two delightful truffles so that we could depart with chocolate lingering on our palates! And all very reasonable! Couldn't be happier-ranks as the top meal we've had in Spain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect finish to a perfect trip...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

On our final day in Madrid we visited El Debod at around lunchtime on a beautiful sunny day, took a look at Trip Advisor to see if anywhere good was nearby to eat, how fortunate we were to find Metro Bistro was 300 feet away.
This was a truly amazing dining experience, everything was amazing, the celery mojito, the hummus, the guinea foul, the pork, the chocolate dessert and the mango and pineapple dessert.... It was all absolutely perfect.
I love Trip Advisor because I love good food... And this was exceptionally good food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“the very best in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been dining in this great little restaurant several times, but so far I had never written anything about them... perhaps because I had secretely hoped that by keeping it as a 'hidden gem', booking a table there wouldn't be so challenging. But they do deserve a review, and a very good one, because time after time they have never disappointed me, not even in the busiest nights, and I believe they are one of the best restaurants in all of Madrid. First off, the food is fantastic. The menu is not very extensive but they always have some special dishes off the menu, which a helpful and friendly waiter/waitress will explain to you in detail. Be prepared to be constantly surprised by the flavours and the textures of the food, starting from the 'celery mojito' which you will be served at the very beginning of the meal. Please remember that this is not the "typically Spanish" restaurant, but it rather offers Mediterranean dishes reinterpreted with wittiness and creativity. Remember to ask for the 'Papas Metro' as a starter, and if they have the 'lamb on a base of truffle potato' on the day of your dinner, please make sure to order one. Great wine selection, fine service, relaxing ambiance. It is not a pretentious place, but it is one of those restaurants where you know that your fiancée or friends will be impressed. And the best part is - it is NOT expensive. Best value for money in Madrid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull England
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went their after veiwing on Tripadvisor and booked before leaving England. This place is excelent and the food marvelous. I had the smoked eel and vegatables to start ,steak tartare as main course and pineapple cannalonni to finish. None could be faulted,great flavours and textures and wonderfull presentation throughtout.
The free celery mohito would personally be better with salt round the glass rim rather than sugar but was very nice any way.
Service very good prices very very good
I recommend this restaurant to you when visiting Madrid

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.