We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect finish to a perfect trip...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod

Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod
Evaristo San Miguel, 21 (esq. a Ferraz), 28008 Madrid, Spain
+34 915 42 95 21
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 6,507 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect finish to a perfect trip...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

On our final day in Madrid we visited El Debod at around lunchtime on a beautiful sunny day, took a look at Trip Advisor to see if anywhere good was nearby to eat, how fortunate we were to find Metro Bistro was 300 feet away.
This was a truly amazing dining experience, everything was amazing, the celery mojito, the hummus, the guinea foul, the pork, the chocolate dessert and the mango and pineapple dessert.... It was all absolutely perfect.
I love Trip Advisor because I love good food... And this was exceptionally good food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    153
    40
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“the very best in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have been dining in this great little restaurant several times, but so far I had never written anything about them... perhaps because I had secretely hoped that by keeping it as a 'hidden gem', booking a table there wouldn't be so challenging. But they do deserve a review, and a very good one, because time after time they have never disappointed me, not even in the busiest nights, and I believe they are one of the best restaurants in all of Madrid. First off, the food is fantastic. The menu is not very extensive but they always have some special dishes off the menu, which a helpful and friendly waiter/waitress will explain to you in detail. Be prepared to be constantly surprised by the flavours and the textures of the food, starting from the 'celery mojito' which you will be served at the very beginning of the meal. Please remember that this is not the "typically Spanish" restaurant, but it rather offers Mediterranean dishes reinterpreted with wittiness and creativity. Remember to ask for the 'Papas Metro' as a starter, and if they have the 'lamb on a base of truffle potato' on the day of your dinner, please make sure to order one. Great wine selection, fine service, relaxing ambiance. It is not a pretentious place, but it is one of those restaurants where you know that your fiancée or friends will be impressed. And the best part is - it is NOT expensive. Best value for money in Madrid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull England
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went their after veiwing on Tripadvisor and booked before leaving England. This place is excelent and the food marvelous. I had the smoked eel and vegatables to start ,steak tartare as main course and pineapple cannalonni to finish. None could be faulted,great flavours and textures and wonderfull presentation throughtout.
The free celery mohito would personally be better with salt round the glass rim rather than sugar but was very nice any way.
Service very good prices very very good
I recommend this restaurant to you when visiting Madrid

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a really great time at Metro Bistro.
Firstable the plates was really really good with good tastes and perfectly flavoured.
Moreover the staff is kind and very available to explain the history and the origins of the plates and products.
A place to go in order to have a good food experience and warm welcome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Still don't understand the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Some freinds of mine came from the States and invited me to eat out. They wanted to surprise me by inviting me to the Metro Bistro, a restaurant they found "highly rated" on Trip Advisor. I had already eaten here about a month ago.
Well, it was just the same. The food was OK, the service was OK, and the place is still not elegant. (no table cloths, no candles). They still are stingy with the olive oil and they charge you for teh bread without informing you.
here is my point: IT IS EXPENSIVE for what they give you. I have eaten grilled butterfish at various Preuvian resturants in Madrid and they give you more quantity for less price. The wine by the glass is really a bad deal. I live in Madrid. I know that there are many tourist places that have terrible paella and usually low quality pizzas. This place does not even offer you a complimentary after dinner drink (almost all Spanish restaurants with class do this). So, I gave them 2 stars instead of 3. I think tourists should try other restuarnts than just the top 10. I will never go back to Metro Bistro. If you do, you won't have a bad meal. But it is not Spanish, it is modern and you will pay top Euro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Bistro - Templo de Debod, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;