We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good quality all around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Conde Duque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Conde Duque to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Conde Duque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Conde Valle Suchil 5, E-28015 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, good quality all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We spent about a week at this hotel and it was cozy, but clean and courteous. I am specifically writing about the service. The hotel's staff was extremely professional and helpful. In fact, when I left one of my belongings at the front desk upon departure, they promptly shipped it to me in another city (on my dime, but it was still very reassuring).

The hotel itself was in a great location, close to the metro and nearby some interesting shops and nightlife.

I would highly recommend this to any Madrid traveler. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    187
    59
    9
    5
See reviews for
40
174
56
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier Ca
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently stayed at the Conde Duque. We have stayed there many times and find it friendly and comfortable. Several times they have allowed us to check in before noon, after a long flight. They have recently added free wifi in all rooms, which was limited before, the lobby is comfortable, as is the bar. An all time favorite!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the front overlooking a small park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranHotelCondeDuque, Director General at Gran Hotel Conde Duque, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us last month and thank you for your kind review. The whole team work hard to ensure every guest enjoys their time with us,

I hope we see you in Madrid again soon.

Regards,

Fernando Olivares
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our first stop in Madrid. Very friendly staff who helped with our awkward Spanish and spoke English when/where they could. The food was fantastic especially the multi-national breakfasts.
A great bar with good cold beer. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great hotel, clean comfortable room, free wifi and good selection on the buffet for breakfast (we found all the staff in the restaurant friendly and helpful). Stayed there for a weekend break to celebrate my husband's birthday. Hotel easy to reach by Metro from the airport and only a short walk to Plaza de Espana where you can pick up the Hop on Hop off bus tour (which is well worth doing). Would definitely recommend staying there. Great restaurant only a short walk away - El Tendido, great steak and excellent service at a reasonable price, pick up a flyer in the hotel reception

Room Tip: rooms at the back may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely cosy 4 star in a upper class area opposite a park, within walking distance of outdoor bars/cafés. Staff very helpful and friendly and rooms comfortable. Would highly recommend staying here. 30 minutes from the airport

Room Tip: We are on the 8th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My girlfriend booked this hotel blindly using a website that allows you to book hotels based on the location + star rating without knowing the hotel name. The hotel was about a 15 or so minute ride from the train station and a 20-25 minute ride to the airport. We were only in Madrid for one day to end a trip so we were looking for something that would allow us to be within walking distance from most of the key Madrid landmarks as we played to weather forecast and chose sites to visit the day we arrived. We were able to easily walk to the Royal Palace and surrounding area from the hotel, taking a very casual and round about stroll and still making there within 30 minutes.

As for the hotel itself, the interior is very regal, almost bordering on stuffy. Being only 30, I have to imagine it is a solid representation of turn of the 20th century high end European hotels. There's a bit of an odd scent... theme... in the hotel in which you get to choose between some rather intensely thought out fragrances for your room. It brought some interesting character to the hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room size was respectable if not slightly cramped. The bathrooms were fine. The channel selection was considerable. The staff were helpful in providing directions and recommendations.

Keeping in mind we booked the hotel blindly and probably saved 10 or so percent on the hotel, I don't think we would have felt bad had we paid the going rate for a one night stay. Going more than 3 or so days may not be worth it at the price, but if you're going to have a short trip in Madrid, I wouldn't hesitate to make your reservations here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very comfortable stay. Soft plush beds. Very helpful front desk staff. Good internet. Breakfast choice was good but waiters were not very friendly. In particular Eloy Dominguez was a crumudgeon!!! Instead of welcoming guests to breakfast he was yelling and acting rude. He seemed more interested in room numbers than saying good morning. Only other issue with the hotel was it was quiet but seemed isolated from main streets and attractions/restaurants and required one to use public transport to get anywhere. Restaurant was good and bar was pleasant

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Conde Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Conde Duque

Address: Plaza Conde Valle Suchil 5, E-28015 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#91 Business Hotel in Madrid
#94 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Conde Duque 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A First Class boutique hotel with 143 rooms situated in a quiet gardened square in the center of Madrid. Close to main places such us Gran Vía, Plaza de España, Plaza Colon and Paseo de la Castellana among others. Totally renovated, the hotel keeps in all places a high level of maintenance. Very well comunicated, uderground at 200mts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Conde Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Conde Duque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.