We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite and pleasant place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Conde Duque

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Conde Duque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Conde Duque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Conde Valle Suchil 5, E-28015 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A quite and pleasant place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located about 20 mins walking distance from the heart of the Main Street and an little further from the Putra De Sol, while this has some disadvantages at 1am New Years morning the walk in the cold helped clear the head and there was no noise around the hotel so you could really sleep in. I asked at the front desk not to be disturbed and I slept until after lunch, at which time the hotel provided me with what they call their "late breakfast" which was a great touch.
The rooms are on the small side but well appointed, quite and have good block out drapes.
The normal breakfast is not fancy but is always fresh, the breakfast staff where always smiling and friendly.
The only downside is the wifi the 2hours was all in one session, so you have two hours in one block per day, not great but manageable.
I would definitely be staying here on my next Spainish holiday

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    164
    48
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
155
53
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you look for the quantity: rooms are quite small. However, if you look for the quality, you will appreciate many details of this hotel that will guarantee you a very pleasant stay. Aromatherapy for your room: you can choose your favourite flagrance. Internet wifi connection is free for 2h/day.
But the most wondeful service of this hotel is the very huge breackfast that can satisfy any need! The hotel is close to the metro line 2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for for two nights. Its in a residential area but within 20-30 minute walk to Plaza Major. Although its a fairly steep slope most of the way. Its also close to the San Barnardo metro station. From the airport this station is easily reachable using lines 8 and changing at Mar de Cristal station to line 4. Remember your terminal on the way back since there are two stops at the airport.

Nice clean rooms with good quality be linen. We also had a room overlooking the square. There is a good supermarket across the square. Also if you walk to the main road, turn right and right up the next street you will find more small supermarkets and grocery stores. We used the restaurant Cafeteria Dixi across the square but the meal was poor. Eat somewhere else.

Friendly staff most of whom speak good English.

Good TV in room but it switched itself off several times when I was watching and took several minutes to restart. Also, wi fi would not work for me both in the lobby and the rooom. This was not the fault of my iphone since it worked perfectly well in previous hotels in Starbucks and I also tested it successfully in McDonalds in the city centre.

The breakfast was excellent. Good choice of fruit, cereals, cheese, ham and fish.

An enjoyable stay in this hotel. Pity about the wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Conde Duque hotel and our first visit to Madrid, our party being 2 adults and 2 teens aged 13 and 17.
We could not fault the hotel. Staff were all very friendly, polite and attentive. Our rooms (although at the back of the hotel so without a pleasant view) were nicely furnished, plenty of space, in room safe, well stocked mini bar (although we didn't use, was reasonably priced as minibars go) and TV. The king size double bedroom had a great power shower, the twin had a bath with shower over, no complaints from the teens who used it. The choice of "in room" air fragrance was also a nice touch and we changed the more sickly sweet fragrance to something very refreshing! Whilst we had no view in the back rooms, the bonus was no traffic noise. It was very quiet. (Apart from some general room noises,like hearing the bath run or loo flush in other rooms.) We weren't bothered about not having much of a view as by the time we were back to the rooms for any length of time, it was dark anyway!!
The relaxed timing of breakfast until 11am weekdays and 12pm Sunday was really useful and the breakfast buffet catered for everyone with a large selection including bacon, eggs, sausages on the hot, colds meats, cheeses and salmon on the cold, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit and fresh fruit juices, a wonderful selection of cakes and pastries, as well as rolls of all varieties and bread, jams and conserves. Highlight of the morning!!
The hotel also has a nice bar area, as well as the tea room option. There's plenty of comfortable seating in the main area and a very nice library area. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well maintained. A very elegant hotel.
We were a bit unsure about the location of this hotel due to other reviews but it suited us perfectly. A 10 minute walk straight down Calle San Bernado brings you right in to the Gran Via, easy access to the Madrid City Tour buses, as well as other buses and a huge range of shops and easy access to other parts, like the "Sol" area. Plenty of shops located on Calle San Bernado too, including 2 supemarkets and lots of other shops, including a shop selling perfume, make up and toiletries, incase you forget your shampoo!! No need to go as far as the big department store for this.There's also another shop selling toilettries just around the corner.Plenty of other smaller shops and cafes too. The hotel is not located in a deserted area at all.
Having seen some of the hotels on the Gran Via, that we also considered booking, we were glad that we had chosen Conde Duque as the Gran Via would have been exceptionally noisy, so we preferred the 10/15 min walk option, which we enjoyed. Most nights it meant we walked off our dinner.
The Madrid City 2 day tour was well worth the money. We did the tours on Route 1 and 2 and used this as an on and off option to see more. The trip to the Bernabeu Stadium was well worth it and enjoyed by all.
On arrival in to Madrid Airport, we took a taxi to the hotel as it was late, this cost 30 euros. On the reurn, we used the metro, which was really easy from the hotel, get on at San Bernado (the brown line) change at Mar de Cristal (pink Line) for the airport. This cost 20 euros for the 4 of us, so there wasn't a huge diffrence.
All in all, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, which we very much hope to do in the future. Madrid is a beautiful city with lots to offer, we need a second visit to take it all in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Conde Duque is located in a real Madrid neighborhood, where you'll see local people going to and from work, shopping, and meeting friends in places that do not depend on large numbers of tourists to stay in business. The quiet Plaza Conde Valle Suchil is a welcome contrast to the noisy traffic just around the corner. At the same time, the hotel is well located for visiting the typical Madrid attractions. The San Bernardo Metro gives you quick access to virtually all sites of interest, and it's easy to walk to restaurants and cafés in Malasaña, Fuencarral, and Chueca.

A note about travel to and from the Madrid airport via Metro: The trip takes about 45 minutes and is easily accomplished with just one transfer, between lines 8 and 4 at the Mar de Cristal station. You'll encounter many steps in the San Bernardo station, which hasn't been updated with elevators or escalators. Travelers with light luggage will be able to negotiate the steps, but anyone with heavy suitcases will find it hard to get in, out, and through San Bernardo. Currently, the Metro opens at 6:00 am daily, so you'll have to take a taxi for early flights.

I got to the hotel about 11:00 am after my transatlantic flight. The receptionist was welcoming and had a room available for early check in. I was traveling solo, so I had made the reservation as single occupant. Opening the door, I was surprised to find a room that really was for a one guest. The room was about eight feet wide, and the single bed took up most of the floor space. There was a narrow work table and chair, and enough room to open the door and move around a bit at the foot of the bed. Fortunately, a large, well-designed closet allowed easy storage of my clothes and a good place to stash my suitcase. The bed was perfectly comfortable, and the bathroom was more than adequate size, but it would be hard to imagine doing anything else but resting and sleeping in this room. There was little room for relaxation or work. In contrast, my wife and I stayed at the Conde Duque on another trip just over a year ago. Our double room was perfectly spacious for two people. I'll book a double room if I return in the future, paying just a little more than the cost of the single.

That said, the Conde Duque provides a comfortable stay. Eclectic design and furnishings make the lobby a very interesting place to relax. Staff members are formal, but unfailingly friendly and helpful, and are very well informed for providing advice to travelers. I overheard several conversations to confirm that they speak very proficient English.

Rooms, halls, and lobby were spotless. There were no small bottles of toiletries in my bathroom, which reduces waste by providing larger dispensers of hand soap by the sink and gel/shampoo combo in the shower. Water pressure was adequate, there was plenty of hot water, and the towels were soft. I also appreciated high quality bed linens. I heard a bit of noise from other guests in the hall, and there was a fair amount of plumbing noise from adjacent bathrooms. Otherwise, peace and quiet reigns.

I enjoy staying at the Conde Duque because it is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city center for a respite from all the noise, but close enough to walk to many sites. Travelers interested in an authentic view of Madrid will appreciate the experience of a real neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a charming room overlooking the park and with a balcony. Comfortable bed, bathroom had a shower / bath. Not as centrally located as we anticipated, however taxi to Prado museum was about 8 euros.
Breakfast was outstanding with good choice and high quality ingredients. Staff were very personable and helpful.
Approximately 200 metres to the left as you leave the hotel is a tapas bar with Fiat 500 memorabilia with great service and great value.
This hotel gave us a great start to our Spanish Odyessy.

Room Tip: Only some front rooms have balconies - great for viewing the park opposite and drying essentials qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I found this hotel to be charming, exuding an old world Spanish charm with art work, a library and comfortable lounge area with attractive decor.

My room faced the park which was tranquil and pleasant although one night there was a lot of noise from people holding a party on the grass. I didn't mind, but others found this disrupted their sleep. Those with quiet back rooms complained that they were small, but mine was very spacious and light. The bed was very comfortable with high quality linen and good lighting.

A curious feature was no shampoo in the bathroom but only a generic dispenser of body wash that left my hair a tangled mess. The man at reception said, "you should have brought your own shampoo" which I found unhelpful. But I discovered an El Corte Ingles department store very close by where you can buy anything you need from clothes to food and cosmetic items.

There are no coffee or tea making facilities in the room, and my travel hot water jug came in handy here and throughout Spain.

There is a computer in the foyer and Wi Fi available in the lounge area with password access, but I there was a lack of staff at busy times such as early morning and evening when groups were checking in and out. My questions regarding the hop on tourist bus and routes to the city centre were greeted with irritation and inaccurate responses.

The breakfast was ok, but the health corner actually contained mostly packaged and high fat and carbohydrate foods. The staff however were outstanding.

The hotel is about 15 minutes on foot from the centre and there is a route (if you can find it) that passes through picturesque streets rather than the main roads. Transport in Madrid is superb and you will find it easy to use the rail system or buses to reach the many places worth visiting in and around Madrid.

Despite a few minor issues, my stay at the Conde Duque was very pleasant and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The back rooms are smaller and quiet but the front rooms facing the park are large, have a balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Hotel Conde Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Conde Duque

Address: Plaza Conde Valle Suchil 5, E-28015 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#60 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#92 Business Hotel in Madrid
#125 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Conde Duque 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A First Class boutique hotel with 143 rooms situated in a quiet gardened square in the center of Madrid. Close to main places such us Gran Vía, Plaza de España, Plaza Colon and Paseo de la Castellana among others. Totally renovated, the hotel keeps in all places a high level of maintenance. Very well comunicated, uderground at 200mts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gran Hotel Conde Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Conde Duque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.