We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more convenient hotel for access to Atocha train station.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Sur

Save Saved
You added NH Sur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Sur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Infanta Isabel 9, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Retiro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 457 hotels in Madrid
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No more convenient hotel for access to Atocha train station.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

My wife and I were on our way from a week in Sevilla to our flights from Barajas and decided to spend a day and night in Madrid to break the trip. We arrived on the AVE from Sevilla at the Atocha station, took the escalator to the upper level, and the elevator to the street and were about 50 feet from the hotel entrance. We dropped our bags at the hotel and had the day for touring rather than schlepping luggage. Since the hotel is minutes from the Prado, Royal Botanical Garden, and Retiro Park, there is plenty to do nearby. The next morning the same elevator took us to Atocha station where we caught the Cercania then the Metro to Barajas. Couldn't have been easier. For an extended stay in Madrid, I would make a different choice, but if you want access to Atocha there is no better option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    50
    16
    4
See reviews for
19
50
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Location excellent for Atocha Station, Metro, Retiro Park. The Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen Museums. The metro to Puerta del Sol was 3 stops and cost 1€.
Reception, helpfull, efficient, nothing too much trouble. We were able to leave our luggage with them for collection later and they ordered taxis and advised on restaurants etc we also used the front desk safe.
Rooms and bathrooms very clean. We ask for a quiet non smoking room and on the two occasions we stayed this request was met.
Breakfast was 14€ plus tax, but we ckose to have coffee and toast at a local bar for 2€.
Would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

This is good, clean hotel. I have never stayed at NH before so I do not know the standards and I am aware rooms are smaller in Europe. However these rooms were tiny. Beds were moving... we blocked the wheels but they still moved. Other than that, everything was good. Breakfast was very good, we had a child with us and they even have attractive, tasty little treats for children.

Overall is good and clean hotel and not far from the main atractions. Is very close to Retiro park and the metro station is just outside the hotel. Very convenient location.

Parking is a problem because nearby public parkings are very, very expensive. At the train station is 27.5 euros/day and at a closeby hotel is 24 euros. I have never paid this for a parking in north america. Look around for a no fee spot at night on the streets adjacent to the train station. During the day is hard to find. We parked at the train station for 12 hours and then found a spot late in the night and we didn;t move it from there for the rest of our stay. Also, forget going aroung by car... it is a mess. Metro is very good to move between points of interest.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

I stayed at NH Sur for one night as it is right across from the main station, Atocha, and very close to the metro line to take you to the airport. The room was small but clean; no view but that meant it was quiet.

Staff at the desk were accommodating when my TV would not work. Nothing too special but a safe and clean hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

I booked a room in the NH Sur after two excellent experiences in other hotels of this franchise (in Salzburg and in Dortmund) and this one was definitely not as good. The room was quite small and nothing particular in terms of style or atmosphere. Perhaps the worst was the wood floor, that was badly worn around the bed. Traffic noise is a problem but to be fair I have to recognise that the hotel management have done their best (there is a double window) but if you have sleep problems just ask for a room not facing the street. The good news is that air conditioning was faultless, so there was no problem in getting the adequate room temperature.

If the room was not something to remember, breakfast did lighten the day: they had perhaps the best orange juice I have had in a hotel for a long time, and the rest of the food was also of a high standard. Free newspapers were also a nice detail.

  • Liked — Location near a railway & subway station
  • Disliked — Worn room
  • Tips/Secrets — Street in front of hotel is noisy - ask for a quiet room if you have sleep problems
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2006

The NH Sur was right across the street from the Atocha train station, which was incredibly convenient. I paid about 150 Euro for 3 nights, whcih was a fantastic price. Super close to the "golden triangle" and with the new bar/restaurant at the Reina Sofia, a great place to eat/drink just a couple of blocks away. Although the room was tiny, it was spotless, well decorated & the bathroom was spacious, and the staff was unbelievably helpful. Staying with a respectable chain was great for the services -- i got sick my 2nd day in Madrid, and they had a doctor come do a "house call." Was feeling better in less than 24 hours (and as it was my first stop in Spain, was grateful for not having to figure out where the hospital was, etc.) I would highly recommend it for a short stay especially if you plan on traveling by train. For a longer stay it might get a little cramped. Request a room on a high floor with a balcony.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

We stayed at the NH Sur in Madrid for two nights and were very happy with it. While the room was quite small (to be expected in Spain), it was still quite comfortable with very modern furnishings and a great, marble tiled bathroom. The lobby is nothing to rave about, but this hotel makes up for it in its location. It is across from Atoche train station and very close to all the museums and Retiro Park. It's about a twenty minute walk to Plaza Mayor, or 5-7 minutes by subway. In all, we really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Sur

Address: Paseo Infanta Isabel 9, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Retiro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Sur 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your NH Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Sur Madrid
Nh Sur Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.