We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Madrid Arguelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Madrid Arguelles to your Saves list
NH Madrid Arguelles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vallehermoso, 65 | Universidad, Chamberi, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #296 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Well located for visiting Madrid in a pleasant residential area. Excellent breakfast with fresh food and plenty of choice. Rooms clean and comfortable, but air conditioning set to bottom limit of 15 degrees was too hot for night time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
23
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the NH Argüelles in March 2014 for a week-end break. The hotel is located about a five-ten minute walk from the Canal metro station making it easy to get there from the airport and to reach the central parts of Madrid. The hotel is located in a quiet, residential looking area, there are tapas bars and small restaurants on the same road which were pleasant and affordable.

The hotel is well maintained, clean, decent sized room and good bathroom facilities. TV and safe in the room, air-con and heating. Can't fault the facilities and the staff were polite and helpful.

Recommended as a budget friendly hotel, slightly out of the main tourist areas but easily reachable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here for business and mixed with pleasure for five days between Christmas and New Years 2013. Excellent, friendly staff, room was small but clean and well kept. Breakfast was good and the metro was close by. Only problem was the safe would not open but the staff came to the rescue and shared to only use two numbers.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Set thermostat on zero to cool the room when the heat is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Staff, location and breakfast...very good. Perfect breakfast! If you want a nice room, without luxury,in a very convenient place (not too noisy) and not pay a lot...this is a hotel that could suit you.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for 8 days; 4 for leisure and 4 for business.
My room was small but confortable with a good size bathroom.
Excellent service. Good breakfast (included)
2 blocks away from a metro station.
It´s a good quality/service/value option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

in February 2013 I booked four nights in Arguelles Madrid - better to say I tried to book, My first attempt ended in a error reply that server would not be available. So I tried it again - this time successful - but unfortunately I did get two confirmations - so I booked four nights for two persons in a double booking - which means double payment

To cut a long stors short: I tried on several ways to cancel one of my bookings - with the result that I got several times the confirmation of NH that they clearly understood my problem and that they know that I will have two rooms for exactly the same time period but that they don´t want to cancel one of them.

This a an excellent example how you should not do customer service - more that that- this is absolutely unfair - to be honest I can still not believe that they are really serious about that!

Please avoid booking Arguelles or better no NH hotel at all because I got the last reply from HQ NH (not to mention that my last mails wasn´t answered at alll....)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here in September 2012 for 7 nights. 3 with my family and 4 more for business. I had 2 standard double rooms.

I stayed here before on a business trip and I liked the hotel enough to bring my family here for a short city break.

Good:
Incredible value for money. I got a deal that worked out at less than €50 per night (room only)

Clean, reasonably comfortable, helpful staff.

Canal is the nearest Metro station. Just 5/6 stops from the centre of Madrid (Opera and Sol)

Superb cafe right across the street with good food, outside tables and excellent coffee. Open 'til late. Have a good Cognac after your meal - they're dirt cheap and about the size of a cup of coffee!

Lower floors have mechanical shutters that help keep out the street noise.

Bad:
Room decor is in need of a touch up. The wallpaper is beginning to peel here and there.

No free internet in the rooms, not even a wired connection.

Free internet in the lobby but time limited and slow.

Breakfast is OK, but that's all. There's no hot food. I already knew this from a previous trip so I booked room only and ate breakfast at the cafe across the street. Much nicer and much cheaper.

The nearest Metro is about a 10 minute walk away. Not a great distance, but a little further than I would have liked when it's cold in the mornings.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Madrid Arguelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Madrid Arguelles

Address: Vallehermoso, 65 | Universidad, Chamberi, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Madrid Arguelles 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable NH Madrid Arguelles is centrally located in Madrid's Arguelles district. While the hotel is near many attractions, such as the Vallehermoso Stadium, the celebrated Canal Theater and the University district, it actually sits in a calm residential neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Madrid Arguelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Arguelles Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Madrid Arguelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.