We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Husa Princesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Husa Princesa to your Saves list
Husa Princesa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princesa 40, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Astana, Kazakhstan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I actually stayed there not for the first time. And this time, when I was in Madrid I tought that I will check it again. It is nice. Everything you need at a very affordable price (European standards, the prices are not high). I can not say make any negative comment about anything. Internet is cheap, although paid separatelly (20 Euro for three days), wine recommendations in the bar, are perfect and not expensive, location is ok, with a metro stations around, the big mall is next door. What else do you need on a business trip. So, overall, very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Husa Princesa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you for your nice comments concerning your recent stay in our hotel. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your visit to Madrid. We are working to offer WIFI free of charge to all our guests . We hope you will be able to enjoy it in your next visit. We will be very happy to welcome you again very soon. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    342
    168
    48
    26
See reviews for
164
236
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Was in Madrid for a business trip and stayed at this hotel for 11 days. It has a bar, gym and restaurant.
Wifi was included but not a good speed. Breakfast was ok, not the best one.
Location is the best, close to SOL, hart of the city. Metro station is just round the corner and takes you anywhere you want in the city. Staff and its service is good. rooms are clean and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Husa Princesa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. Your opinion will greatly help us to improve our services and facilities, in order to grant our guest a maximum comfort. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I just completed a one week stay at the Husa Princesa and was generally pleased, with a couple of concerns.

The good:
Big rooms, especially for Europe. Lots of space, big windows with a view, especially on higher floors. Large bed, a couple of desks, a couch, plenty of closet space. Very easy to spread out and settle in.
Good location -- not right in the historic district, but it's a nice walk down Gran Via (major shopping street) to get there. Close to Plaza de Espana and the sights near there, and right on top of a Metro stop.

The bad:
Service at the front desk was always difficult. The people were very helpful, no problem with them at all. However, it's a big hotel with a lot of people coming and going, and there never was enough staff. I was always waiting to talk to someone, whether it was checking in or just asking a quick question.
The WiFi (included in some rates, 10E if not) was awful. Really, really, really awful. I was "lucky" to have it included in my rate, but if I had to pay for it I would demand a refund. Don't waste your money on it, looking for a hotspot elsewhere.
The rooms are a bit tired... thin carpet, overall just in need of a refresh. Not a big deal to me, but the room definitely isn't "fresh".

Overall I would probably stay there again if I had reason to be in the area. If I was there for tourism, I'd probably look to something else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Husa Princesa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you for your feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments helping us to improve. We are happy to offer now to our guest 148 brand new Club rooms - available for a small fee on standard room rate - please try it on the your next visit to Madrid. Our WiFi system will be improved in the next days in order to offer our clients a more convenient and friendlier connection. Thank you for your interest in our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you here again in a very near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent several months spending Mon-Fri in Madrid last year and I stayed in a number of hotels in the sub £100 per night bracket. This hotel is well appointed and has a good gym inc a swimming pool. Best room rates seem to be available in July/August. Front desk staff could be friendlier. Otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Husa Princesa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you very much for your feedback, your comments will help us to improve. We look forward of welcoming you again in a very near future. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Husa Princesa is situated in a ugly 14 floor building. One of those that seems to come out from the 70's. So do not expect any charme but big groups, big halls, big restaurant.....
Positive Poits.
The room is really spacious, quite soundproof and bathroom is really clean. Ok but we're talking about a four star hotel, so it's supposed to be so.
Negative Poits.
1)Wi-fi is not free. 10 euros for 24 hours. (you can choose the otrion of 30 mins free in the reception area). Please, do not make business on evrything!
2)Breakfast, in not in promo, costs......20 euros!and is a really normal buffet. My suggestion: In the next door there is a sturbucks. go there!
3)Street noise. Ask fo 11th floor or upper.

Room Tip: 11th floor
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Husa Princesa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you very much for your comments that are very much appreciated helping us to improve our services and installations. Concerning your positive/negative points we would like to inform you ,as well as our Tripadvisor readers as follows, The hotel was built in 1976, following the hottest trends of the time, a 14 story geometric postmodern building, glass and granite facade,large windows offering superb views of the city's in upper floors. Large spaces, including its 30 sq mts rooms( not very common in 4 star, or even in 5 star hotels). We are working to improve our WIFi service in order to offer this service free of charge to all our guests. Currently WIFi is available free of charge in Club Rooms. For Standard rooms only available at a charge and a courtesy of 30 minutes in hall area. Please ask for your breakfast discount ticket when checking-in, it is always available. All our windows are soundproof, but we have to considere our location, in the heart of the city. We thank you for your understanding and please do not hesitate we will do our best to improve. It is our aim to offer our guests the maximum confort. Thank you! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Husa Princesa is on the Calle de la Princesa, just a short walk away from the centre of Madrid.
The Metro station of Arguelles is virtually on the doorstep of the hotel, and the Metro provides quick and easy links to all the main tourist attractions in the city.
One of Madrid's flagship stores, the El Carte Inglis department store is next to the Husa Princesa and its 11 floors sell just about everything you can think of.
The hotel has a stylish interior and a welcoming appearance. The staff are friendly and very happy to help with advice and details of the local tourist sights, and there's a relaxed feel to the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Husa Princesa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice feedback concerning your recent stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcome you here again in a very near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Husa Princesa is a 4 star hotel on the Calle de la Princesa, just a short walk away from the centre of Madrid. The Metro station of Arguelles is virtually on the doorstep of the hotel, and the Metro provides quick and easy links to all the main tourist attractions in the city.

No doubt because of the current recession in Spain, several of the shops close to the hotel are empty and have become covered in graffiti, however one of Madrid's flagship stores, the El Carte Inglis department store is next to the Husa Princesa and its 11 floors sell just about everything you can think of.

The hotel has a stylish interior and a welcoming appearance. The staff, particularly those in the restaurant, are friendly, and there's a relaxed feel to the place. During our stay, the guests seemed to be split 50-50 between tourists and businessmen. The continental style breakfasts are self service with a good, varied range of food choices. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and are cleaned daily.

The wi-fi service is disappointing. You have to obtain a code from reception to be able to access the service, which is temperamental and limited to just 30 minutes.

The hotel has a pool and a gym, which are also open to the public as well as hotel guests.

When arriving at Madrid airport, you can buy a 5 day Metro pass which appears to be cheaper than buying it elsewhere. We stayed for 4 days, and the 5 day passes gave us unlimited travel on trains or buses. The colour coded map, similar to the London Underground, was easy to follow, and the service is so good that you never have to wait more than a few minutes for a train to arrive. A 5 day pass costs 26 euros 80 cents, and half this price for children.

Recommended places to visit include the Madrid Zoo which is home to 4 giant pandas (admission is 19 euros each); the Plaza de Toros (impressive bull ring); Casa de Campo (a tranquil park and lake in the west part of the city); Palacio Real (Royal Palace); Plaza de la Cibeles ( Madrid's most famous landmark); Plaza Mayor (cobbled centre of the city) and Puerto del Sol (with the bear and strawberry tree statue). All of these are easily accessible from the hotel's convenient location.

The locals love football, and no trip to Madrid would be complete without visiting the Santiago Bernabeu stadium, home to Real Madrid, or Atletico Madrid's Vicente Calderon stadium. Tours of each stadium can be booked. Real's costs 22 euros 90 cents for adults and 18 euros 55 cents for children. Atletico's tour gives an opportunity to have your photo taken with the Europa League trophy and the UEFA Super Cup trophy, both won by the club last season.

Eating out is good value, and a visit to a tapas bar and a churros bar should not be missed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Husa Princesa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest, We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your visit to Madrid. We thank you for your comments. We are working to improve our WIFI system and we will offer our guest a more friendly operation in the next coming days. Awaiting the pleasure of welcoming you again in a very near future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Husa Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Princesa

Address: Princesa 40, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#129 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Husa Princesa 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Husa Princesa is set in the heart of Madrid’s political, commercial, historic and cultural centre. It offers 275 rooms and suites which are all air conditioned and have an en-suite bathroom, personal desk, thermostat, smoke detectors and a fire-sprinkler system. It also boasts conference rooms and banquet halls for between 10 and 900 people, as well as a bar, restaurant, 24-hour cafe, 24-hour room service and a business centre with a secretary, fax and photocopying service. The facilities also include private offices and a fitness centre with a heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Husa Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Princesa Hotel Madrid
Husa Princesa Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husa Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.