We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Husa Princesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Husa Princesa to your Saves list
Hotel Husa Princesa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princesa 40, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Malasana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned from a two night business trip staying at the Husa Princesa, and returned feeling very impressed. On arrival i asked for a quiet room, so they immediately put me on the 12th floor. Had a nice big room, including sofa/coffee table area, comfy bed and good bathroom. I ate in the cafeteria one night as they had a special seeing as there was a big football match on. Burger and 2 beers for 12 EUR, not bad! Was all very nice. The breakfasts were also very good as was the general service. As I said, I returned a happy customer, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stay as high as you can, and facing the rear if you want to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Husa Princesa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in one of our brand new Club rooms, as well as the special "UEFA Champion League offer". We are always coming up with new offers to make the stay our our guests ever more comfortable. We will very happy to welcome you every time you come to Madrid. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    377
    187
    59
    31
See reviews for
182
265
39
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel isn’t opulent or plush, but it is nice and convenient. The metro line is right outside the hotel and it is close to a major shopping area. Unfortunately, you pay for this convenience because the street level noise can be unbearable at night. There are two separate sides to the hotel. You definitely want to ask for a room on the renovated side of the hotel. The morning breakfast buffet has a lot of selections, but you want to open minded about the menu options if you decide to eat there. The staff was helpful and many of the staffers were multi-lingual. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Madrid is so beautiful that you will barely want to stay in your room. Get out and enjoy the city.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the renovated side of the hotel. It's worth the surcharge. Also, tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Husa Princesa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed your stay in Madrid. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in a very near future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Magnificent foyer. I was overwhelmed by my room, very modern and newly refurbished.
Nice minibar, always a bonus. Really comfy bed and great service!
Great location in the centre, good walking distance to all attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Husa Princesa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know you enjoyed our hotel facilities and servicies. We look forward to welcome you again in a very near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

On a recent trip to Madrid, we stayed twice at the Husa Princesa. It is a very good hotel in a convenient location. Most important, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The best example of their help: We wanted paella on a Sunday night. None of the good paella restaurants was open. The front desk agent who was trying to find a restaurant for us got the hotel restaurant to produce an excellent (not on the menu) paella for us. Great surprise.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Husa Princesa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guests, Thank you very much for your nice comments about your recent stay in our Husa Princesa. It is our aim to offer our guests always our best , trying you accomplish all wishes and expectations. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon. We wish you all the best. Thank you again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had read the TripAdvisor reports on the hotel prior to leaving and decided to upgrade the room (for a surcharge of 20 euros per night) to a Club Room the day before we were to arrive. This was achieved very easily with a telephone call. We stayed for 4 days and found the staff in the hotel pleasant and helpful during the whole stay. From reception to porters to bar staff we had no complaints at all. We had arranged for tickets to be delivered to the hotel for the Real Madrid football match and within minutes of arrival reception rang our room to inform us that they had arrived and duly delivered them to the room. Our room was lovely, clean and very practical - I often find in hotels that the dressing table is too small, there is no mirror outside the bathroom for makeup etc, the sink units are small and not enough room to put your toilet bag etc. etc. really not very well thought through but in this hotel I found everything very convenient. There is plenty of storage space for clothes and the bed was very comfortable. Our room was cleaned well every day and any used hotel toiletries replaced. We were on the 5th floor and can't say that the noise bothered us - yes you can hear low level traffic and people but this is a city!

Location is one of the best aspects of the hotel with the metro station just metres away. This line links very well with the centre and you can be in Sol square in about 3 stops. We did walk into Grand Via on the first evening which was quite a long walk but did allow us to get our bearings for the rest of the stay. We bought Tourist transport tickets for 26 euros each (5 day Pass) which was great. If you intend to travel by metro from the airport they add an extra 3 euros for the airport run which makes it 8 euros per person each way. At 32 euros just for this journey the all in one pass is great value.

All in all we would definately stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: If city noise bothers you choose a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Husa Princesa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you so much for your kind feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your visit to Madrid. We look forward to welcome you again in a very near future. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Last week I was with my son in Madrid.
We stayed at the Husa Princesa bed and breakfast.
Excellent hotel location on Princes Street and easy walking distance from España and of course a subway station.
Hospitality was excellent. The room was clean. We got a room with twin beds suited us very much.
The breakfast was excellent (though I'd expect some soft cheeses).
In the evenings we sat in the lobby and watched the football games and was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Husa Princesa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments. We have taken good note of your suggestions for the buffet breakfast and hope that during your next stay you can enjoy your favorite dishes. We look forward to welcome you very soon soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Thanks to TripAdvisor reviews, I was aware that Club rooms were available at this hotel for very little extra. I 1st checked into my non-club room. It was big, but archaic. The temp.control was hopeless, water pressure low, no tea or coffee making facilities, and expensive internet. I asked at the desk for alternatives and the club rooms were indeed only 20E a night extra - figuring in the free internet, coffee and tea, and late checkout, on an almost 1 week stay, I probably paid less than 50E extra for the week. Club is far far better, updated, stylish, and has all the extras tho to be fair any decent hotel in the US would provide these as standard (tea/coffeemaking; toiletries). So 1 question is shouldn't some of these extras be there in non-club in a 4 star hotel? I think so! Hotel location I really loved. It is not in the tourist center but an affluent busy neighborhood full of citizens of Madrid and students, not tourists. Street noise I am sure is problematic on lower floors, on the 7th floor it was not an issue. Metro is steps from the door. 3 stops to Sol, 2 to the University. The breakfast I found superb though they will not allow you to take your coffee out of the dining room what kind of weird rule is that?? Food in the bar and range of drinks available were less impressive I would not choose to eat here except for breakfast. Staff pleasant but a little distant, rather old fashioned. Overall a very good experience but if I had not been in Club I would have been less happy.

Room Tip: Go for club and a high up floor to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMPRINCESA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Husa Princesa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear guest, We thank you very much for your feedback concerning your recent stay in our hotel. We are very glad to know you enjoyed our brand new Club rooms, and we hope that in a very near future we will be able to offer a brand new hotel in full. Happily we are proud to offer now 148 new rooms full equiped to meet all your requirements. Looking forward to welcome you again very soon, kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Husa Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Husa Princesa

Address: Princesa 40, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Husa Princesa 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princesa is set in the heart of Madrid's political, commercial, historic and cultural centre. Walking distance from Plaza de Espana, Gran Via, Royal Palace. In Arguelles district next to El Corte Ingles, department store. It offers 423 rooms and suites which are all air conditioned and have an en-suite bathroom, personal desk, smoke detectors and a fire-sprinkler system. It also boasts conference rooms and banquet halls for between 10 and 600 people, as well as a bar, restaurant, room service . Private Fitness Center (indoor swimming pool) for members only, free of charge for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Husa Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Princesa Hotel Madrid
Husa Princesa Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Husa Princesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.