We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Madrid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Catalonia Atocha to your Saves list
Catalonia Atocha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Madrid
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short stay in Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed at the Catalonia Atocha for 2 nights when in Madrid. The front desk personnel were helpful - they printed museum passes for us the night before our reservation. There are lots of sight to see within walking distance. Also, there's a taxi stand right outside the hotel, so it wasn't hard to grab a cab when we headed to the airport early on a weekday morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for using your valuable time in writing this nice review. And thank you for mentioning a new advantage to our potential guests: the new taxi station right in front of the hotel. It will allow our guests to take a taxi to the airport or any other destination in 20 seconds, the time they will use to walk from the hotel main door to the taxi station. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    245
    44
    9
    3
See reviews for
83
280
38
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The room I got was very comfortable, however the one next to me was really tiny so I can say I was lucky (keep this in mind when checking in). The first thing I had an inside view (not a nice view but really quiet) and at night it was 100% dark.

However the lightning system in the room was very poor, not well distributed and some of the lights (like the ones in the bedside table) actually illuminated my eyes! The light was so poor that you can be depressed…

I found a few outlets to connect my electronics and this was a very good feature.
On my scale of 1 to 5 (1=poor, 5= Excellent) the bathroom is a 4.5 and the bed was a 3. The reason the bathroom has a 4.5 is merely because the shelf inside the shower had a very steep inclination and my things kept falling down and the towel heater never worked. However it was really spacious, very good pressure on the shower and a unique design that simulated being inside a waterfall.

The bed was imply ok, however pillows were not comfortable and the ones that decorate the bed have a plastic cover so you can´t use them as pillows.

The internet connection was also good. The air conditioning was quiet and efficient.

The buffet was very complete with many hot and cold choices (even hot chocolate and churros!) but the dinner experience at the restaurant was really average and expensive.

Check out was very fast and the meeting facilities were also comfortable with full air conditioning.

Room Tip: If you don´t care about the view an inside room will be super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that, despite you give us only 3 over 5, you had a nice stay in the hotel. Regarding the size of your room you weren't so lucky. The room next door, the tiny one you saw, it is a single room. And single rooms are a bit smaller. We absolutely agree with your appreciations about the lights in some rooms (not all of them, just a few). We really want to do something to solve this problem, but it is not that easy: sometimes we need to break the ceiling in order to get the electricity from other light points. I hope we will solve this problem along this year. Thank you very much for your time and your suggestions. Be sure they are really welcome. I hope we will see you soon. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here two nights in Madrid, and we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Catalonia Atocha. First, I'll start by agreeing with most of the other reviewers that it really is in a fantastic location. Walking distance the Golden Triangle of museums, downtown shopping in Puerta Del Sol, and other sights in Madrid (although we did take a couple taxis at night, which are another cheap/great option).

The rooms were cozy, and the bed was VERY comfortable, but I believe our room was in the corner of the building so we only had one window and did not get a lot of natural light. But I will say this, the shower is fantastic! The water pressure was very powerful, and adjustable.

There may be more luxurious hotels in the area with more high-end features, but we scored a great deal at Hotel Catalonia Atocha. Location was great, bed was comfortable, and shower was amazing. There's also a bar attached to the hotel, and they serve breakfast, which was pretty tasty for 12 Euro a person. Staff was friendly and helpful as well. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends, I would just try to request a room w/ more windows/light, otherwise a great choice for staying in Madrid!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you used to share your impressions of the hotel with other users of the web site. Regarding the breakfast, we encourage you to try our buffet breakfast (in our breakfast restaurant downstairs) in your next trip to Madrid. For the same price you paid in the bar next to the hotel you will enjoy a huge variety of food, including fresh squeezed oranges, three kinds of fresh fruits, home made pastries, a wide cold meats assortment, different kinds of cakes...We wish you will visit us again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel believing it would be good for at least the location and that certainly is the case as it was within walking distance of most iconic places such as the Palacio Real and the Prado. The rooms were very spacious and luxurious with very comfortable beds and the towels changed every day. The slight downside was the air con was very noisy- but this is the case in the majority of hotels. The view was lacking in the hotel but we were advised that the inner rooms were better because the noise from the street may have been too loud. Also, there was a roof terrace in this place with a jacuzzi. This was the perfect place to spend a couple of hours as it wasn't too busy and the jacuzzi was refreshing after a day walking all over Madrid. Furthermore, the service was very polite, efficient and friendly- they were always happy to help! Overall, this hotel was excellent and I'd recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If you are not a fan of noise, ask for a room towards the back of the hotel as if you're on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

It is always great news to receive a review like yours. We do not find the appropriate words to express our gratitude, especially for those words referring our service. We try to do our best every day, and it is nice when we see that our guests appreciate that. Once again, thank you. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel was very centrally located. We arrived early for check in however our room was made available in the short time it took for us to check in and ask for some local tourist information. The staff were keen to help which was refreshing. Our room was very clean and although overlooking a busy main road it was quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Large windows/doors opened which was lovely. The beds were large and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and we both loved the shower. It was a short walk to many sites, we walked everywhere possible on the first day taking in Retiro park and it was great. Walking back late at night we felt very safe. The second day we used the metro to go to the Bernabeu, the nearest stop was a few minutes walk away and was very simple to use when equipped with the metro map. The outdoor seating area was small but absolutely lovely to sit down for a while at the end of a busy site seeing day, very peaceful. The restaurant/bar was very reasonably priced and the portions nice (the fruit salad was large and cheap) and the staff very attentive. I would return!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

"I would return". This is the kind of thing we would like to read at the end of every single review. Thank you very much indeed. Do not hesitate to contact us in case you have a new opportunity to come back to Madrid. It would be a great pleasure to have you again in the hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great service, decent room size and good value for money. Added bonus was the welcome drink included as we had booked through their website. Good location, but a decent walking distance to the main sights as the Madrid metro is virtually useless - but this is not their fault. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed the hotel that much. By the way, we are a bit surprised you weren't satisfied by the subway service in Madrid. The Madrid subway is considered to be one of the 10 best subway networks in the world. And it is the fastest way to move around the city, specially if you go to any of the neighborhoods far from the city center (Chamartín, Salamanca, Chambery...). We guess you might have found restrictions due to the construction works they do in July and August, when people is on holidays. It may cause some inconvenience to the tourists visiting the city in the summer. We wish you will visit us again in the near future. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a bright and comfortable hotel that is well positioned. We came by bus from the airport and the end of the line is Atocha station - the hotel is a 10 minute walk from here - although beware that it is up hill! After booking I received a welcome email from the hotel with detailed instructions on how to get to the hotel - these were accurate and helpful. There is a jacuzzi on the roof which has lovely views across the city and to the plains beyond. The Plaza Mayor is 10 minutes walk and the Prado is a little more - but through interesting little streets.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room at the back and were given this - and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. Regarding the e mail with the instructions to get the hotel from the airport / train station, we began to send it a year and a half ago approximately. The idea was making the trip easier, and it has been very appreciated by our guests. We usually send it in the moment we receive the reservation, but only in the case we have the e mail address. Once again, thank you very much indeed for your time and your kindness. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#26 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#41 Business Hotel in Madrid
#61 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Atocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;