We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Atocha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Atocha to your Saves list
Catalonia Atocha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Huertas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Perfect location, friendly helpful staff and fantastic breakfast with fresh fruits and a great variety of choices :)
Rooms are fairly big and clean - great for a city trip week-end. I will go there again for my next stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    279
    56
    10
    5
See reviews for
94
320
48
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Visited with a group of 8 friends for 2 night weekend in November. Excellent hotel with comfortable rooms and helpful and friendly staff . Good location close to all attractions and nightlife. Would stay again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are very happy to know that you had a nice stay in the hotel. I understand you discovered the near location of Huertas Street, one of the most famous night life areas in Madrid, with plenty of places to have a drink. Next time, we recommend you to visit La Latina area, with some of the best tapas places and Restaurants in Madrid. Of course, it will be a great pleasure to see you and your friends again in the hotel. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We traveled to Madrid by train and stayed at the Catalonia Atocha for two days. Perfect location, very friendly and helpful staff, fantastic shower, comfortable bed, nice size room and a welcome cocktail. What more could you want? I would recommend this hotel to anyone! They are not far from the Atocha train station, several blocks from the major museums and the Hop on Hop Off tourist buses. We ended up staying a day longer than planned and the staff could not be nicer about extending our stay and even offered us a cheaper rate that was available for our extra night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Catalonia Atocha is a really really good hotel in Madrid. When I was there, I was just thinking that when I arrived home, I would definetly recommend to others in Trip Advisor. Great room, confortable bed, amazing shower, modern, everything new, good service, excellent breakfast, near of all, mainly for who arrives by train to the city. A really lovely experience to feel welcome in Madrid!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your time and your nice compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon in our beautiful hotel. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed a night here on our way to Zaragosa and Barcelona. The hotel is beside the metro station and also a 15-minute walk to the Madrid Atocha train station. There are a few small restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well as small convenience stores nearby. The reception was very helpful in getting us tickets to the football game on the same day at Santiago Bernabeu. Many food choices for breakfast, rooms were clean and spacious. A recommended hotel if travelling to other destinations in Spain by train.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
The location was the main reason why our Company decided to buy this wonderful building: the small distance from Atocha Station, the small distance from the Art Triangle (Reina Sofía Museum, Prado Museum and Thyssen Collection) and the small distance from the main sights of Madrid (Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol...). We are glad to know that you appreciated this perfect location and you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great service, comfortable bed and clean room.
Stayed for one night in this modern and sleek hotel. I was due to leave at 5am the next morning and really appreciated that the staff had prepared a Takeaway breakfast for me. I truly enjoyed it on my train from Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. Our staff loves receiving accolades such as these. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Catalonia Atocha on 2 occasions of 1 night each, before and after heading south to Andalucia. On both occasions, the staff were friendly and helpful, one assisting us with printing our airline boarding passes, and another helping us to find a shop that sold generic spectacles (!). There is good free wifi but breakfast is not included in the rate.

Stay #1: a small standard room, but with a GREAT shower! (Friends had a considerably larger standard room, so there is some variation.)
Stay #2: a superior room with terrace. (It was only 18 euros more than the standard room of the first visit, but that's due to the change of season.) Very roomy and comfortable, and it was nice to sit on the terrace with a bottle of Rioja.

The location is excellent. The hotel is about 10 minutes' walk from Atocha Station - note that it's uphill - where airport busses and trains to the south arrive and depart. The Prado is in easy walking distance, and the centre of town not too far away. There are nice little tapas bars, too, on nearby sidestreets.

A few general points for 1st-time visitors to Spain:
1. Taxis: excellent. No scamming, although some charged for 'las maletas' (suitcases) while others didn't.
2. Trains: RENFE, the Spanish rail system is world-class, and tickets can be booked online (and it's cheaper!). All 10 RENFE trains we used departed on time - although only 9 arrived on time, as the 10th was delayed 3 hours after a not-too-serious level crossing accident!
3. Barajas Airport: terrific. And honest: when I realised that I had ost a 50 euro note going through security, I rushed back 15 minutes later to discover that it had been found and put in a safe for me!!

Room Tip: Go upmarket if you can; if not, try for one of the larger standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cataloniaatocha, Director General at Catalonia Atocha, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your thorough review. We are glad that our staff ensured that your stay was a pleasant one. Regarding the taxi fares, we would like to take this time to point out some important information about taxis in Madrid:
-First: one should pay special attention to the sticker on the back seat window that displays the fares and supplements. Not all cities in Spain charge the same, especially regarding the luggage.
-As a second precaution one should always request a receipt.
Again, we would like to express our gratitude for you taking the time to write such a nice review. Best regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Atocha

Address: Calle Atocha 81, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#29 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#55 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Catalonia Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Atocha Calle Atocha 81 Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Atocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.