We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real home made Madrid food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Casa Salvador

Restaurante Casa Salvador
Barbieri, 12, 28004 Madrid, Spain
+34 915 21 45 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 6,833 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Real home made Madrid food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Timeless place. Taurine environment. Excellent home made classicals from Madrid. To recommend their rabo de toro! Those places you need to look after in Madrid.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    33
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
“Casa Salvador restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Typical neighborhood restaurant. Fixed price menu at 22 euros for 3 courses including a glass of wine or other drink. Friendly and efficient staff. Good quality/cost ratio. Aside from myself, only locals for lunch today, no tourists.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small, neighborhood cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We sought out Casa Salvador based on Trip Advisor reviews, and had our hotel book for 9 p.m. on a Friday (which is when the restaurant opens). It is located north of Gran Via on a corner in a colorful neighborhood (local fabric and hardware stores along with "XXX" bars). Like other reviewers, we were the only patrons at 9 p.m. when seated in a room on the main floor, but we watched a steady stream of regular patrons climb to the upstairs dining area. The restaurant is filled with old bullfighting photographs, programs, posters and paintings. The older man who waited on us, presumable the owner, could not have been more helpful. He gave us a table in a cozy side room that never became overheated, even after more patrons joined us. He gave us menus in Spanish and English then brought the album of photos to explain many of the dishes. He also brought a small serving dish of green olives that tasted of lemon or a light vinegar, and french rolls. We ordered a mixed vegetable plate (panache de verduras) which was served to both of us on individual plates and was flavorful (spinach, cauliflower, mushrooms, carrots) all evenly cooked and seasoned. I then had the lenguado plancha, described as grilled salmon but I think it was sole, the whole fish without the head, grilled to perfection with soft moist flesh. I boned it myself, but you might ask him to do it. It was served simply with a large wedge of lemon and another of tomato and a small yellow potato. My dining mate ordered rabo restofado, oxtail roasted and served with sauce, peas, carrots, and potato. He found it a bit fatty but enjoyed it. We ordered the house vino tinto (Rioja Bordon), something we drink at home. Chocolate ice cream (helado chocolato) was very good but not gelato. Our entire meal with cover and a bottle of water and coffee was 63 euros, served timely and with attentive but not hovering service. By 10 p.m. the place was nearly full. This is a great neighborhood restaurant with a large enough menu to satisfy, especially after a long flight.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food & price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good restaurant. Friendly staff and good good & price. We only miss a little bit music and candles with lighters on the table. Fast service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Traditional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

When walking to Casa Salvador you pass many new restaurants with designer interiors and dim lighting. Well this place is totally opposite. We first turned up at 8 and the place was closed, returned at after 9 and woke up one of the waiters snoozing as we were the first customers of the evening. The first thing you notice is the bright lighting and then that the decor, furniture, pictures on the walls, crockery and even the waiters have probably not changed one bit in the last 50 years. The food was good quality ingredients, simply prepared in the traditional way. Certainly no fusion or food fads here. Beware of the house red, a robust wine that left us feeling a little jaded the next morning. Nevertheless a pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Casa Salvador also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante Casa Salvador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Casa Salvador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.