We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Abrazo de Vergara

El Abrazo de Vergara
C/ Vergara, 10, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
915420062
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
El Abrazo de Vergara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 7,359 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. I tried the grilled cod and it was fantastic. Nice atmosphere. It is worth visiting. A great dinner after a long day of sight seeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    122
    33
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Really, really great food!
We had gazpacho, which was just delicious and with some cheese ice cream. The only problem was that it was not enough of this soup!
Potatas are also well cooked and with two tasty sauces.
I also had a veal steak and it was extremely good and tender.
Highly recommended place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can food be better than sxx? Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My ratings are not perfect because their information about hours of operation are not very clear and of the 2 waiters serving last night when I visited, I obviously got the least forthcoming (yes, I speak Spanish fluently) The restaurant is lovely in a quaint neighborhood behind Opera Metro but make you check their hours and whether or not they will actually observe their posted hours. The asparagus salad with sundried tomatoes and vinaigrette is exquisite, squid croquettes like butter but better and the duck confit with caramelized goat cheese is superb. To finish our meal, a warm brownie with ice cream was fresh, rich and luscious- great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Woah, that was nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Incredible meal. Try the cherry tomato gazpacho, warm asparagus salad, and the steak tar tar. I've never had gazpacho that delicious; fresh cheese ice cream dollopped in the center was like heaven in a small glob.

Great staff and a wonderful digestive at the end of the meal to top it off. Reasonably priced top tier eating. Where is the Michelin star?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Highly recommended restaurant that scores 5/5 in every aspect. The food was excellent not only taste wise but also presentation wise. The fois mit- cuit plate was an experience!! The service was really good even though the plates came with a slight delay. The atmosphere was chic and romantic and the location very central but quiet at the same time. Finally, we paid 30€ per person for 2 starters, main course, a bottle of wine and coffee in the end. For the level of this restaurant this price is certainly value for money. We certainly plan to go back when we are again in Madrid!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Abrazo de Vergara also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Abrazo de Vergara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Abrazo de Vergara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.