We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

APARTMENT IN HISTORICAL BUILDING MADRID CENTRE

FROM GALLERY
FROM GALLERY
FROM GALLERY
GALLERY
COMFORTABLE 150 CM BED
WIDE WARDROBE
BEDROOM
Madrid
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JanevAust...
Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a superb location - clean, quiet and with very kind and helpful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this apartment in February 2013. As we were getting out of the taxi, the taxi disappeared with one of our bags. Carmen and Manuel were very helpful in calming me down and taking us to the police station to make a report. They also rang the taxi company every day for a week to try and locate our bag. We appreciated their kindness very much. The apartment is a studio on the top floor of an old building. It is double glazed and thus very quiet. It has everything one needs and is clean and quiet and in a safe area. We enjoyed our stay very much. The bathroom was very good and the kitchen had everything one needs, including a pair of kitchen scissors (for dealing with pesky packets). the bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The apartment is near Plaza Mayer, the centre of the city, the Mercado San Miguel (wonderful food and drink), the delicious restaurants and tapas bars of La Latina and within easy walkable distance of the big art galleries, Retiro Park, the shopping in Salamanca, the Museo of the Americas and the central station. We enjoyed Madrid, there is a lot to see and having a good,comfortable base makes a big difference. The apartment felt like a home away from home.
Carmen and Miguel were very professional in their dealings with our booking and as I said, very kind and helpful when we were staying at the apartment. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cosiness, the atmosphere, the facilities, the location and the kindness of the owners
Liked least: We stayed for ten days or so and would have appreciated a change of linen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Melbourne
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sophed
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a wonderful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here in April with my family (2 adult children) for 3 nights as part of a months trip round France and Spain. We loved our stay here - the apartment while small was very cosy and had everything you could need. It was very nicely decorated with lovely bright colours, a comfortable couch/sofa bed and dining table. While the ceiling was low there was a skylight with a view over the Madrid streets. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking and there were nice little necessities for when we arrived such as tea bags, toilet paper etc. which all the other apartments we stayed in didn't. It was on the 3rd floor with no lift which didn't bother us at all. It is in the most beautiful old historic building that was very old but beautifully decorated and maintained.
When we walked out the door we realised as well as being in a lovely area we were very central to everywhere which to me is a major plus when you only have a few days in each place. When we walked up behind the apartment we ended up right near Mercado de San Miguel (fantastic market) Plaza Mayor, the palace and shopping area. Across the road was a lovely area of little narrow streets full of bars and restaurants (Calle Cava Baja)
Dealing with Carmen was so easy and by far the best experience out of all the apartment rental dealings. Before we left we corresponded by email then when we got to Madrid we rang her as we headed to the apartment (we were driving) and met her outside. The security was good with a code to get in. Carmen showed us around the apartment, explained everything and there were instruction books on all the appliances. As we wanted to get an early start to Barcelona on our last day Carmen met us the night before to give us back our bond. The only downside of renting apartments over hotels is the meeting up. We had to ring ahead which was difficult when we weren't using phones overseas (been bitten before when travelling from Australia) and then having to meet up again to get bond back and for them to check the apartments whether it's the night before or the day of leaving can be difficult. We had made the arrangement with Carmen when we first arrived but on the actual day we were miles away over the other side of Madrid and we had to rush back. I'm not sure how this could be improved - but it's definitely better to stay in an apartment with a family of 5 rather than a hotel.
Madrid is fantastic - we really loved it - the palace and parks are beautiful as are the bustling squares and shops and I would definitely stay here again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location was fantastic and apartment was cute and cosy.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ChicagoFa...
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Excellent location (historic district). Train station is walk-able in 25 minutes. Very well furnished and spotless apartment. Just enough space for my husband and I and two teenage children. Air conditioning was outstanding. Lovely building. Carmen was so accommodating and helpful while we planned this trip. Definitely 4 stars.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location, combination of historic building with modern furnishings
Liked least: We liked everything about this place.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Niall
Ireland
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Caroline
Canada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Melbourne
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Carmen T
Speaks English, Spanish, French
Listed since : Feb 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 101 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing