We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gabinoteca

La Gabinoteca
Fernandez de la Hoz 53, Madrid, Spain
913991500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #542 of 6,858 Restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The food is fabulous and the place is relaxing. However, just go if you like to try different flavors, this is a very, very modern cuisine

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    106
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cool place, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We're fans of No Reservations, so we YouTubed the Madrid episode and decided to check this place out on Tony's recommendation. Well, it's a fun spot, for sure. Every table is different, and the place has a lot of personality. So 5 stars for atmosphere. But the food was pretty disappointing. We had half a dozen dishes. None were amazing, two were good, and the rest ranged from uninteresting to not good. The famous Potito, for example, was just a mush of egg, potato, and truffle. The gambas al ajillo (shrimp in garlic) would have been interesting if they'd taken it all the way and made it a crisp wafer, maybe, but as a mushy gum, it didn't work for us. The empanada de mi madre (vegetable dumpling) was just a thick sauce with some kind of way overcooked vegetables. We couldn't even tell what sort of veggies they were. In fact, the chefs don't seem to understand that vegetables can be flavorful and beautiful. Everything we had was brownish and mushy (except the small salad). There was little attention to color or texture, which disqualifies this place as "creative" cooking, in my book, and puts it below most typical Spanish cuisine. Cost for two people, one glass of wine: €45 plus tip.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great space, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Had an amazing meal here. My fiancee had found out about it on an Anthony Bourdain list (apparently he visited during one of his episodes?) A stylish (albeit tight) space with very cute touches like a chairlift seat for one of the tables. Cool wooden wraparound bar area and open kitchen.

All the food was great and thoughtful versions of Tapas favorites. Like traditional "tomato bread" was deconstructed into the components and allowed the diner to be part of the creation process. A traditional (cheap) homemade birthday dessert was recreated but with the highest quality ingredients. Gourmet takes on fast food.

Everything was fun and tasty. The waiter we had was super friendly. From Guatemala, we chatted a little about basketball and baseball (Knicks and Yankees.) They also have a system which I have never seen before, which had a round console with three buttons. One to summon the waiter, one to request the check, and one to cancel. We felt weird about using it, but it worked like a charm! Cool.

If you're in Madrid, you have to check this place out.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Madrid by a long way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Such fantastic food and friendly service. I can't remember the name of my favourite dish but it was the potito of egg, I can still taste it now. My girlfriend and I were thinking of returning to Madrid just so that we could eat there again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gastro-tapas, innovative and exciting! Casual and modern decor. No reservations accepted for dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We came here based on an Anthony Bourdain 'No Reservations' episode on Madrid. Gabinoteca prides itself on its innovative approach on creating affordably priced yet great tasting tapas. My friends and I sampled the eggs/patato/truffle tapa - it's served in a glass jam jar and we were given teaspoons to scoop out the runny eggs + potatoes mixture. The potatoes were a bit too salty, but the tuffle oil - what a burst of flavor it gave the whole dish!!!! A great combination indeed. The mozzarella and tomoatoes + crouton "salad" was also surprisingly delicious - everything was mashed up so it's quite different from the chewy conistency of mozarella cheese one would normally be used to, but the combination of crunchy crouton bits and pesto sauce drizzled on top made the dish a refreshing and easy-to-love one. The beef cheek was slightly too salty, though it was wondefully braised to a point that it melted into our mouths - had the sauce been slightly less salty, I suspect the beefy flavors would come through better as the sauce was a little overpowering. The duck was also quite yummy, as it was medium rare on the inside and perfectly charred on the outside, though I must say it was a bit tough to chew through, so not sure if it was the way it was sliced (along the muscle grains vs. across?) or the part of duck that was chosen...we were too stuffeed to try their dessert though I did hear it's quite remarkable. All in all this was a very enjoyable meal, and a great place to start our wonderful Spain trip!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gabinoteca also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Gabinoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gabinoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.