We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe del Principe

Cafe del Principe
Plaza de Canalejas, 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
915 318 183
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,431 of 6,834 Restaurants in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
WEST YORKS
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This could be a great venue abut the service was poor and the bar a little shabby with glasses and plates left on tables.
The cocktails were two for one at 9.50 euros but not that good and we only stopped for the one drink.
The food did not look good and we did not revisit as even though we walked past a lot it never seemed busy despite its prime location.
There are so many more places to choose that passing this by will not be a loss.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    15
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just off plaza Mayor this sidewalk restaurant is a great place to watch the crowds of people, while enjoying Madrid's warm weather. The food is good, the service average but the fun is the location. Dining among some beautiful buildings and with lots of shops and sidewalk entertainment nearby. The time flies by as you wait the 20 ,invites to have your paella prepared, just for you. Some good wines also.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Andalucia, Spain
2 reviews
“worse restaurante i ever went to”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

so i was with my parents,we were looking for an indian restaurante that i looked up in the internet and we got tired and really hungry and decided to eat in this small cafe in front of us,and maybe try some spanish food,the waiter was an old man,he wasnt so patient with us as i had to translate to my parents,we orders tipical meat plates so my father assured that they would come with some bread,the man said yes,the food was horrible,no taste,meat was weird,a lot of oil,and they broght three small pieces of bread,we couldnt eat our plates so my father orderd the bill,it was really expensive and for our surprise they charged 3 EUROS for the bread!! not only bread wanst complimentary like other restaurants but they charged 1EURO for every small piece,and when we tried to discuss the matter he didnt accept and was really rude,my father went to the door telling him he's a theif,,
so DONT EAT AT THIS PLACE

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to have a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, we sit in front of the street so we can view a the people that come a cross.. good food and mojioto's. 2 for 9 euros

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good enough for tired tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had dinner here on our day of arrival in Madrid. We were jet-lagged, tired, and hungry. They advertised a special: sangria, gazpacho, and paella. The service was prompt, the sangria nicely flavored, the gazpacho refreshing and delicious, the paella hot, well- seasoned, and filling. And the price was modest. Our table by the window offered a fine view of the passing urban crowd. A fine end to a full day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Principe also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cafe del Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe del Principe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.