We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal la Macarena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostal la Macarena to your Saves list
Hostal la Macarena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cava de San Miguel 8, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I love this hotel and have stayed here multiple times. It's a smaller hotel, with smaller rooms (but very clean and comfortable) and all of the staff is wonderful and very helpful. It's located on a lively street in the heart of the city (if you don't like the noise, ask for a room on the side street) and the rooms have balconies, so it's great to look out over the city. I have recommended it to all of my friends and now everyone I know stays here and loves it. You can't go wrong with the price or the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    58
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
50
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Clean, affordable and right in the heart of Madrid. Walking distance to madrid's most famous tapas markets and streets. We were very happy with our accommodation choice. Will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My friends and I spent four days in Madrid and absolutely loved this place. Although the rooms were small, they were very clean, the beds were comfortable, and we had a nice little balcony. The bathroom was spotless, too. The only "complaint" would be that it's right in the middle of everything, so it's pretty noisy at night outside. Don't plan on actually getting to sleep until about 2am. However, it's pretty quiet in the mornings. We happened to be there during the soccer match between Spain and Italy (Spain won, so you could imagine the days of noise that followed). The owners were wonderful and very accommodating, despite the language barriers. We got really good at charades! Highly recommended if you're looking for a clean, friendly establishment in the middle of it all. Close to the Sol Metro station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

basic but very charmiong old fashioned hotel. Staff very friendly although english limited but that adds to the charm. The location really could not be better to sample Madrid life, Plaza Mayor and
San Miguel market place are really buzzing. The Emma Cafe/restaurant around the corner was our favourite but you will be spoiled for choice of good value eating places.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Conn.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Hostal Macarena could not be in a more perfect location, just under the Arco de Cuchilleros that leads to the Plaza Mayor, possibly the most scenic spot in Old Madrid. (To complete the picture, in the evening strains of traditional accordion and flamenco guitar rise from the street as the aroma of wood-fired stoves fills the air.) There are plenty of shopping, dining and tapas options nearby; it's also a short walk from the Mercado de San Miguel (San Miguel Market) and the Puerta del Sol, which is also the nearest Metro stop.

This is a simple, old-style private hotel atop a tavern in a gorgeous old building. The hotel itself is a second-floor walk-up with a tiny elevator crammed into the stairwell shaft. It is not luxurious, but to our tastes it was very romantic in an old-fashioned way. The interior is clean, simple and homy; rooms have commodious beds and some have balconies overlooking the scenic Calle de las Cuchilleros. (Some might find it a little bit noisy, although jet-lagged as we were it was not a problem for us at all.) The proprietors were helpful but did not seem to speak much English.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I LOVED this little hostal. Stayed for 5 nights and will definitely be back. It is small but spotlessly clean and located in an amazing part of the city. Riccardo at the front desk (he may be the proprietor) did not speak a lot of English but we communicated well and he was a doll--so helpful. I paid 68 Euros for a double room (it was two weeks ago, in November). Highly recommend this little place. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

Nice to stay, quite and very clean. Two major issues: 1) a bit far away from the subway although in the most central area of Madrid. 2) breakfast not included in a already quite average price

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal la Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal la Macarena

Address: Cava de San Miguel 8, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal la Macarena 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal la Macarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Macarena Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal la Macarena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.