We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, old-fashioned and perfectly located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal la Macarena

Save Saved
You added Hostal la Macarena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal la Macarena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cava de San Miguel 8, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 458 hotels in Madrid
New Haven, Conn.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming, old-fashioned and perfectly located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Hostal Macarena could not be in a more perfect location, just under the Arco de Cuchilleros that leads to the Plaza Mayor, possibly the most scenic spot in Old Madrid. (To complete the picture, in the evening strains of traditional accordion and flamenco guitar rise from the street as the aroma of wood-fired stoves fills the air.) There are plenty of shopping, dining and tapas options nearby; it's also a short walk from the Mercado de San Miguel (San Miguel Market) and the Puerta del Sol, which is also the nearest Metro stop.

This is a simple, old-style private hotel atop a tavern in a gorgeous old building. The hotel itself is a second-floor walk-up with a tiny elevator crammed into the stairwell shaft. It is not luxurious, but to our tastes it was very romantic in an old-fashioned way. The interior is clean, simple and homy; rooms have commodious beds and some have balconies overlooking the scenic Calle de las Cuchilleros. (Some might find it a little bit noisy, although jet-lagged as we were it was not a problem for us at all.) The proprietors were helpful but did not seem to speak much English.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
7
49
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I LOVED this little hostal. Stayed for 5 nights and will definitely be back. It is small but spotlessly clean and located in an amazing part of the city. Riccardo at the front desk (he may be the proprietor) did not speak a lot of English but we communicated well and he was a doll--so helpful. I paid 68 Euros for a double room (it was two weeks ago, in November). Highly recommend this little place. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

Nice to stay, quite and very clean. Two major issues: 1) a bit far away from the subway although in the most central area of Madrid. 2) breakfast not included in a already quite average price

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Well located hotel beside Plaza Mayor. You will need earplugs though as the area is busy throughout the night plus the internal walls are paper thin.
Rooms are small but perfectly satisfactory and the ones with a balcony are excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are good value but very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great location and great room. Bathroom was large and clean with soap, shampoo and hairdryer provided. Reception was very friendly even though they had to use Google translator. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great location, very friendly staff, clean and comfortable, quiet at night (including the rooms with balconies facing the outside which we always stay in), great value. We are looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

PROS: Great location for the cost/night. Ricardo, the owner of the hostal, was very responsive and booking by e-mail went without a hitch. I also e-mailed him a couple logistic questions after making the booking and he responded to each inquiry within 24 hrs. Like most of the reviews have mentioned, the location is perfect, you are pretty much steps away from Plaza Mayor (literally, you go up these steps and you're there), Puerta del Sol, and Cava Baja and Cava Alta, which are pretty much where all the restaurants and tapas bars are. My brother and I also found this great market called Mercado de San Miguel, which was great for tapas or dinner near the hostal.
CONS: There was no A/C in our room, only a dinky ceiling fan which only spread the hot air. As we went around the end of June, it was extremely hot and I couldn't sleep. It was the worst part of our trip but it was probably my fault for not making sure that the room was airconditioned. It was also advertised that there would be wifi but the first night we were there, the wifi was out. After I told Ricardo, he fixed it the next day. Also, I am not an awesome Spanish speaker but I'm not horrible either and we were able to pretty much communicate well enough with Ricardo and the other hostal staff but some nights, my Spanish would be worse off and it was a struggle to let them know what we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal la Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal la Macarena

Address: Cava de San Miguel 8, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal la Macarena 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hostal la Macarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Macarena Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal la Macarena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.