We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever and also extremely that they use fake picture on their website” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Lemus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Lemus to your Saves list
Pension Lemus
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   C/ Hortaleza 7, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Chueca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 240 Madrid B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worst place ever and also extremely that they use fake picture on their website”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

What to say from the picture that I posted you get a picture of the place. Absolutely disgusting we had to leave after one night because we couldn't sleep on that dirty beds and use that filthy toilets.

As other review mention the venue is perfect for horror movie such as ' Hostel'. I really believe that this place should be shut down because of healthy and safety reason.

Also the lift in the building stank too and in the night that we stayed there we spotted dodgy people in and out.

The worst thing is how the management is dishonest to provide websites with fake pictures creating false expectations to traveller.

It has been absolutely the worst place ever I ever been in my life.

Please don't visit this place because it's absolutely terrible and disgusting.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    15
    10
    16
See reviews for
7
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We had a small and dirty room,with dirty sheets,an awful bathroom, the receptionist didn't spoke english and at the end was not possible to sleep because a group of guys were screaming all night.
Is been a terrible experience!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a small room with a balcony (3 people) facing the street, so it was quite noisy at night, because the building was centrally located in a busy sidestreet to the main street, Gran Vía. The receptionist was nice and helpful an it was Nice that you not only got a room key but also a key for the building. The bathroom was ok, but the you need to hold the showet head by hand. And the water temperature is pretty unstable.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is great when it's hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place was very convenient to the metro system, the room was clean enough and the reception was very nice and friendly. I would avoid the bar and go to the little convenience store around the corner, 3.80 for a coke is a little pricy but then again it is Paris.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Lemus has two faces - nice staff (married couple from Cuba) and they are very helpful, open, fun, but the hostel itself is not very hospitable. I had a single bedroom, without window, heating, anything...just a bed...but obviuously it's cheap so it's fine. I appreciated the 2 euro breakfast down at the bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Páros, Kikladhes, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The pension is situated in the very center where you have everything very close to you. Not very noisy also. BUT I couldn't spend another night there (we stayed for one night) on our way to Morocco. The room was so small, with an awful smell coming out of the shower/ bathroom...Awful!
Expensive for what it is. The guys who own the place should really do something about it....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We just returned from a family trip to Spain and our stay at Pension Lemus was the worst part of it bar none!
Our first problem was encountered six days prior to our stay when we inquired about modifying our reservation (canceling one out of four nights) and found that the exorbitant fee for doing so made it impossible. When we arrived we found the reception area dirty and dimly lit, and the receptionist unprofessional. Not very welcoming. We were required to pay the balance of our bill at that time. Our room/apartment, was in another building several blocks away and the receptionist accompanied us to it. When we entered, we saw a large patch of the wall (about 3.5 by 1.5 feet) that had black mold on it. As it was late, we didn't deal with that immediately. We settled in for bed and found that the heat wasn't working. Needless to say, we were cold that night. Next day we mentioned the mold to someone who seemed to have more authority and he said they discovered it when they were cleaning and were "waiting for it to dry so we can paint over it." No offer was made to us to put us in another room. We also mentioned the heat situation and were told that the heater was new so the knob might be tight. We asked for more blankets and were told that they had just been washed and were not dry yet and were given two bedspreads. (One looked like it had dried blood on it). When the blankets were dry, we were never brought any. The heat never worked the entire time of our stay. Lastly, the free WiFi that was advertised on the booking website was not available to us in our building. We were told that it had been ordered but not yet installed. So in order to use the internet, we had to go to the main building which as I mentioned was several blocks from our room. This was cumbersome and inconvenient. Had we known we would not have internet in our room, we would have stayed somewhere else. Even if the grievances over the mold, heat and internet were resolved, we would not recommend this Pension because of the rigid reservation policy and unprofessional, and uncaring staff and owner.
Two things we learned is to deal directly with the hotel/pension/hostel instead of going thru a booking agency. Also, read the fine print about the cancellation policy in case you find you don't like the place once you arrive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Lemus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Lemus

Address: C/ Hortaleza 7, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Lemus 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Pension Lemus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Lemus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.