We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandeman's New Europe Madrid Tours

Sandeman's New Europe Madrid Tours
Plaza Mayor, Madrid, Spain
+49 (0)30 510 50030
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 186 activities in Madrid
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Offering free walking tours of Amsterdam, Berlin, Copenhagen, Dublin, Edinburgh, Hamburg, Jerusalem, London, Madrid, Munich, Paris, Prague and coming soon to Brussels and Tel Aviv, SANDEMANs NEW Europe Tours is committed to providing everyone, no matter what their budget, with the best tour available. It is our goal to help travellers fully discover the beauty and rich history of as many European cities as possible.Our expert guides share with you their personal stories and insights during their intriguing tours. Since they work for tips, every tour is consistently one of the best in Europe.This group is open to everyone, those who've enjoyed on of our FREE TOURS, private tours, or unforgettable PUB CRAWLS or those curious to join us!
Stadt Ilmenau, Thüringen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Was wonderful to get to know the city and for orientation afterwards. Our tour guide (SANDRA YOU'RE AWESOME) was great and built up a very personal relationship to everyone. Very good for young people. Recommended for the beginning of a madrid trip, cause you're getting several coupons and tipps for the next days and you can also ask for best locations and prices, and probably the locations most tourist will not find without these tipps.
all in all: very great!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,322
    379
    47
    22
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Free walking tour of Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went to Madrid for 3 days and went on the walking tour. It was brilliant and the guide Eduardo realy knew his history. It was fun and interesting but not like a boring history lesson. Much better than a bus tour (for 20 euro each). Eduardo also pointed out the best restaurants, bars, and attractions in between historical locations. He brought some of us out on a pub crawl one night too which was great fun. The walking tour is FREE because the guides dont get paid for their work but I, like everyone on the tour was so impressed by his knowledge and good manner, decided to give him a tip.. I would 100 percent recommend this tour!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sandeman's free walking tour Madrid-Connors was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

At the tourist office in Plaza Mayor we were told to look out for the red umbrella and exactly at 11 am Angela from Sandeman's arrived to set us on our way.The next three hours were lovely.

The walking tour was very informative,spaced out and great fun thanks to our guide Connors.He did a great job.Filling us on little known facts and tidbits from Spanish history he walked us through all the main attractions around plaza mayor including the areas around the palace.We had a good time specially with his take on Flamenco dancing.Yes he certainly deserved his tip! He also directed us to a restaurant for a memorable Spanish lunch. A great introduction to Madrid it was indeed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eduardo lo mejor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I think the 6th Sandeman's walking tour we've been on and Eduardo was the best guide we've had. Knowledgeable, enthusiastic and with a sincere fondness for his home city. Another great tour. Thanks again Eduardo.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tour guide Paula was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

It was raining on 28 Sept so the 11am tour got cancelled. The male tour guide (didn't catch his name) during the 11am tour first said that 4 people (including us - who showed up for the tour despite the rain) didn't ensure that he would derive sufficient tips - when we suggested that we agree on a minimum price (to ensure that it was worth his while) he said that it was company policy to have at least 5 people on the tour. We joined the 1pm tour in the end and Paula - the tour guide - was great. She kept the history and anecdotes about Madrid lively and interesting. And she was in good spirits throughout the tour despite the slight drizzle towards the end. Overall good tour but I guess it depends on which tour guide you get. Would suggest that if 4 people showed up for the tour on a rainy day - that the tour go ahead - especially when the website says that the tour goes on rain or shine. PS the tapas place (that the tour brings you to at the end) in the end serves great Spanish omelettes, salads and paellas (big servings!) - it's 7 euros for one plate of tapas plus a drink) - not a tourist trap - worth going for if you're hungry after the tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Sandeman's New Europe Madrid Tours also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Sandeman's New Europe Madrid Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandeman's New Europe Madrid Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandeman's New Europe Madrid Tours to your Saves list