We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection to your Saves list
AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36, Zurbano Street, 28010 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #53 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Beautiful property, unique in every way, lovely rooms, outstanding service, gorgeous patio for breakfast. My only complaints were Marriott didn't allow us to use points (Marriott problem, not the hotels) and the breakfast service in the patio was sooooo slow we had to cut it short to avoid missing our flight. Make sure you allow for a 90 minute breakfast. The poor fellow working there was all alone and was literally sweating from speed walking to the kitchen inside to the tables outside. he simply couldn't keep up. All in all, I would unquestionably stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear DCosta57,

Thank you very much for review us on TripAdvisor; and also thank you for choosing us while your stay in Madrid.

For us is always a pleasure to know our guests experiences in order to know how we can improve our service or our facilities. Thnak you for your comments regarding breakfast, we know that our breakfast takes longer than normal buffets from big hotels, but we tried to make the difference in this service and complete a unique and personalized experience at our property. We are concious that in some situations this does not fit for all guests.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and thoughts.

Hope to see you soon again in our Property.

Kind regards,
Fernando B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    45
    15
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
94
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

we enjoyed our stay, the service was great, the decor was perfect. the rooms were so clean and very large. Would highly reccomend the hotel. The only drawback was that you had to take a taxi to be close to the historical part of the city. But the staff and hotel decor made up the difference.

Room Tip: We were given great rooms even though we used our Marriott points to pay for the 2 rooms for 3 night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Donna K,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our Property while your stay in Madrid and for sharing your experience with others in TripAdvisor.

For us is always a pleasure to know that we achieved our guest expectations. Our entire staff has the commitment to improve and mantain every day our level of service through that small details which make your stay a memorable experience.

Once again, thank you very much.
Hope to see you back again to our Property.

Kind regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at the Santo Mauro for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute (except maybe when we had to pay 33 Euro for breakfast). The rooms were very comfortable and roomy, the service was excellent and we truly enjoyed our stay. Overall - a top-notch hotel that is definitely worth a stay when in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Loofie G,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us while your stay in Madrid and for the time taking to review us on TripAdvisor.

For us these comments are very helpful in order to improve in our daily basis and also for our future guests, that for sure these comments help them to know better Santo Mauro hotel before their arrival.

I would like to thank you your positive comments regarding our property. We always try to make each stay memorable through small details. It's a pleasure for us to know that we achieved your expectations.

Regarding the price for the breakfast, as you could saw, this hotel has an A La Carte breakfast. We intend to give you a personalized service with cold and hot dishes prepared at the moment trying to be different from traditional buffets of big hotels.
At this point, this service takes a little bit longer and has this cost. Also during summer, this service is served at the gardens, which upgrades this service.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments.
Hope to see you back again at our property.

Have a great day!
Kind regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely hotel in charming neighborhood with restaurants and carrefour express nearby. Front Desk (Miguel Angel and gentlemen working afternoon. Didn't get his name) and bell staff (Javier and Fernando) were wonderful. Excellent platinum treatment even though i was using points. Only slight difficulty was confirming late checkout but were able to confirm one of our rooms (we were leaving early for an outing so needed to know if we had to pack all up) but they did confirm we could keep one room. Beautiful hotel. Loved the room - lovely wood floors and very spacious - and the bar where we enjoyed our welcome cocktail. So much character. My AC didn't work well so Fernando and front desk were ready to move me to another room but it did cool down. Was a very hot day in Madrid. No issues with wifi unlike some other reviews and I have teenagers!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear bob s,

Thank you very much for choosing us while your stay in Madrid and for share your thoughts with other trough the web.

It's a pleasure for us knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always try to make each stay memorable through small details, which is our daily main aim from our asociates. Santo Mauro Hotel has the advantage of being part of Autograph Collection hotels, they are unique, different, special, everyone is different and can offer a different experience.

I want to thank your special mention to our associates, their commitment is always to follow our Marriott procedures to ensure a perfect stay to our guests.

We hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again at our property,

Best regards,

Have a great day!

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I would like to give the facility 5 stars and the staff even more! Truly nice and helpful and always there! We never tried the breakfast. At €33 that was on average what we spent on dinner including wine in southern Spain. It just wasn't worth the price for scrambled eggs and juice. Another annoying issue was that the so called free wi fee did only work in the lobby and not in the rooms. At this level it should have been included in the room price!
This was during July so the lobby bar was outside! Extraordinary nice! Also expensive but since we are Norwegians we can live with €9 for a glass of chilled white wine as long as it's accompanied with snacks! (It was)
Very nice place for couples!
Lastly! Fitness room is small and with a humidity like 80%! Don't expect to do your main workout here :-)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jan B,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us while your stay in Madrid, and also for the time taken to leave a review about your experience at our property.

Thank you for your comments regarding our common areas and terrace. During summer season it becomes a really good place in Madrid, having a relaxing time in the main centre of the city. Our garden is transformed into the restaurant, we think that is one of the unique experiences that this property can offer to theirs guests.

Regarding Wi-Fi, we have connection at every part of the hotel, following always our company policies.

Sorry for the disturbs this may caused you.

Hope to see you back soon at the hotel.

Have a great day!

Best regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the hotel at the end of June. The hotel has interesting, pretty spaces inside, including a library dinner room and romantic bar area. The outside breakfast terrace is lovely, beautifully landscaped and food is good, although it has street noise. The staff was very helpful and nice and even when we came back after midnight, they called someone so that we could have drinks at the hotel bar. Our room was a premium room style. It was very spacious and had a separate large closet area with storage and separate bathtub from the large, actual bathroom. The hotel is a little a ways from the action, but as long as you like to walk a bit, it is manageable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear R&RX2,

I want to thank you for your sharing your experience with others through TripAdvisor, and also for choosing us while your stay in Madrid.

We are glad to know that your stay in our property was satisfactory. Our daily main aim is always to make each stay a unique experience through small details, taking advantage, as you said, our former library, and speccially in summer season, our garden where you can enjoy your breakfast, lunch or dinner, also our Sunday's Brunch.

As you mentioned, we are a little bit far from the action; we are located in a residential area where you can relax during your stay and reach the action area in a few minutes, by taxi, walking or even taking the underground.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments,

Hope you have a great day!
Kind regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is situated in a family palatial home in the center of Madrid (very good location) and fully renovated. The rooms are spacious, charming and impeccably clean: with a signature decor, this hotel certainly deserves its categorization as an Autograph Collection hotel. The staff is generally very professional and helpful, especially the porters and reception.
I found it great value for money as well, but the fact that I was upgraded to a junior suite (room 14) certainly helped on that front.
Breakfast is a-la-carte instead of buffet, which also means you can have it in your room if you would like for an additional €5 fee (if it's included in the room rate you will pay nothing else than this €5). I thought service at breakfast was slow and the staff wasn't the most joyful I have ever seen either, but the food was fantastic and they will try to accommodate your every wimp, even if it's not on the menu.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the patios or on the garden side with access directly to the room from outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HSM, General Manager at AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear dfvital,

First of all I want to thank you for choosing us during your stay in Madrid, also for sharing your experience with others through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that your stay with us was satisfactory.

Everything we do is aimed to providing an excelent service through smal details which make each stay a memorable experience, according an Autograph Collection experience.

Again, thank you very much for your comments, we hope seeing you soon again in Madrid and at our property.

Have a great day,

Best regards,

Fernando B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection

Address: 36, Zurbano Street, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Madrid
#38 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#62 Family Hotel in Madrid
#80 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in the former residence of the Duke of Santo Mauro, an influential member of Madrid society at that time. The hotel consists of three buildings surrounded by a magnificient garden that makes it an oasis in the heart of Madrid. Located in the exclusive area of Chamberi, surrounded by palaces of time, the Hotel is located next to the main shopping area of the city, the financial area and major tourist attractions. It has been demanded as destination for business and leisure travelers for over 3 decades.The Santo Mauro hotel has 49 unique rooms, customized to the smallest detail that will make the experience of staying in a palace accompanied by a personalized service tailored to each guest.The former ballrooms are now part of the lobby in which each room has its unique style as the Red Room Decorating Frenchified, the Chinese Room with a collection of oriental pieces and Chivas art deco bar to enjoy a variety of gin and tonics or cocktails. Following the orders of the Duke of Santo Mauro, this palace, dating from the end of the 19th century, was built by the architect Louis Legrand. Located in the heart of the Madrilian district of Chamber and very close to the Paseo de la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection Hotel Madrid
Ac Hotels Madrid
Ac Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Santo Mauro, An Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.