We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritz by Belmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ritz by Belmond to your Saves list
Hotel Ritz by Belmond
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Paseo del Prado)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #20 of 456 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was there for 5 days in July. Excellent location-across from Prado. Center of everything. Service was excellent . Rented a car and the doormen parked the garage and the hotel charged no fee.The food was excellent. Nothing like sitting in the garden for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks. The hotel is old world as were the rooms,but spotlessly clean and a joy to be in.
Special kudos to the concierge staff. I needed to cancel the balance of the trip due to an emergency in the States. They helped me cancel hotels and get on the next avialbale Iberia flight to Miami. They could not have been more helpful and understanding.
I highly recommend the hotel and will return there when in Madrid

Room Tip: Just be courteous and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz by Belmond, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear RickGold,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you for choosing us for your stay in town. I sincerely hope the emergency you had is now resolved and that you are looking forward to returning to Spain very soon to keep enjoying the beauty of Madrid and the Ritz.

Even short, it has been a pleasure to have you as a guest with us and appreciate very much your great feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    202
    64
    32
    22
See reviews for
181
397
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for two nights with my 15-year old daughter. All the staff from door to restaurant to front and concierge desks and room were uniformly pleasant and helpful. Room was comfortable, quiet and dark at night with none of the annoying night lights of a lot of more modern hotels. Garden tapas was lovely and breakfast buffet was very good. Location is excellent for the museums and only a short walk to the other main attractions. Overall a first-rate luxury hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz by Belmond, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Charles M,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing us during your recent visit to Madrid! it is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our team was up to the expectations.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon with your daughter!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We just returned from 3 nights at the Ritz in Madrid with our 14-month old daughter and really loved it. The location is great (Retiro and Prado museum right around the corner, playground across the street and a relatively short walk to most sights) and the staff incredibly friendly. We especially loved the garden restaurant (can highly recommend the tapas tasting menu), which is like a little oasis in the city and very welcoming. Very child-friendly. Will certainly be back next time we are in Madrid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz by Belmond, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Ritz and thank you for choosing us to stay with your family while visiting Madrid.

I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay and specially our tapas menu in our garden restaurant. It is a new concept we have launched this summer and it has been having great success!

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Amazing Hotel a combination of classic Old stile European hotel + all modern facilities
A superb hotel
Rooms are a bit oldish and the bathroom (toilette) needs more space and if your neighbor from an upper floor flashes the water - you hear it
Nevertheless breakfast is fantastic so is afternoon garden tea the lobby the concierge stuff are very helpful/ friendly and professional
the atmosphere is a mixture of clay and trendy in the positive way location is great
if you can afford it - it is very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz by Belmond, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Amirrachmaninov,


Greetings from Madrid and thank you for your review. It has been a pleasure having you as a guest at the Ritz and I appreciate very much your feedback about our rooms. Since all our 167 keys are different, I would be delighted upon your future stays with us, to show other rooms providing more bathroom space and less oldish.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Excellent old fashioned elegance. Beautiful surroundings, fabulous flowers, great restaurants and perfect service… We were upgraded to a Suite and really loved every moment of our stay. Fresh flowers and fruit. Crisp, monogrammed linens, plush towels and Acqua di Parma cosmetics, made us feel really special.
Thank you Management for the great memories of our stay in your hotel. We certainly will be back.

Room Tip: The best location if You are an art lover, The Prado Museum is next door. The hotel offers limo ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz by Belmond, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Luwrobel,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing Hotel Ritz Madrid for your stay in town. Thank you as well for the great comments about your stay, our facilities, amenities and team. Without hesitation, your satisfaction is the best reward me and my team can have!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Madrid!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Great service, good food. We had tapas tasting menu in the garden which was 45euro per person, quality was good. Great for access to the reitro park. Location is good for access to other attractions. Only thing which could be improved is the service during breakfast. More staff needed to keep everything stocked up, but still giving it 5stars.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz by Belmond, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Natalie,

Thank you very much for your review and for enjoying our location, facilities and services. I am pleased you have enjoyed our new tapas tasting menu and have taken good note of your comments about our breakfast service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My 3 yr old daughter and I spent our last evening in Spain here and it was amazing. From the time we pulled up until the time we left the staff catered to our every need. We stayed in a superior room which was beautiful and just the perfect comfort we needed before our long trip back home the next day. We had dinner in the Garden Terrace where the staff was excellent. They brought my daughter back to meet the chef and she had her picture taken with a chef hat on. The staff made sure we had everything we needed until the moment we left in our taxi for the airport. Thank you for helping us wind down and relax at the end of our long trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRitzMadrid, Director General at Hotel Ritz by Belmond, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Martene,

Greetings from Madrid and thank you very much for choosing our hotel to wind down before heading home! I am truly happy you and your daughter enjoyed meeting our team, specially our chef.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back soon to the legendary Ritz Madrid for some additional R&R!

Regards,

Christian Tavelli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ritz by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz by Belmond

Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#8 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#21 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz by Belmond 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Belmond, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ritz by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritz by Belmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.