We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set Your Expectations Properly: Luxury First, Business Second” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritz by Belmond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ritz by Belmond to your Saves list
Hotel Ritz by Belmond
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 10%
Ranked #20 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Set Your Expectations Properly: Luxury First, Business Second”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is obviously a great hotel. My trip last week was my second to The Ritz Madrid in the last 18 months, and I was eager to return. The room decor was classically elegant, the bathroom was a marble masterpiece, and the outdoor Terrace is one of my favorite places in the world to have an afternoon snack and read the paper.

But if you're traveling on business and need to work in the room, it's a bit challenging. The WiFi is good but not great, there are only two power outlets within reach, and the work space is actually a small secretary without room for accessories, papers, books, etc.

I still think The Ritz is well worth the visit, especially since the Prado is around the corner. I'll just leave my computer at home next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    186
    61
    31
    21
See reviews for
165
368
48
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Ritz is a great hotel in Madrid that lives up to the Ritz standards. The rooms are not very spacious, but they are nicely decorated. The service is really good and the staff is very friendly and always willing to provide you with information about the area and how to go to places in Madrid. Overall it was a good experience, even though it was a little pricey. I would consider coming back provided I could get a good deal !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

From the very first moment we walked through the door we felt comfortable and like film stars.From the beautiful foyer ,rooms and restaurant to the warm but very professional staff our stay was amazing.Lovely touches like complimentary water and amazing pastries left in our room we absolutely loved this hotel.One of the best will definitely return FANTASTIC !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had both Deluxe and Classic we loved the classic not much difference just slightly smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (my wife and I) spent 4 nights in a classic room over the Easter weekend. Overall I have high praise for the staff and the beauty of the public spaces but rate the room so so. We arrived early and were able to check-in without any trouble. The room however was not what I expected. A classic on the first floor it seemed small and just a bit behind other establishments I have been in. The bath room was small and cramped. The Ritz Carlton in Istanbul, Santiago and even the JW Marriott in Bogota come to mind as better facilities. The bar area was under manned for the Easter period and wait we did for service. (The bar staff was helping service the public lounge areas for tea, churrzos, etc. It was a crowded period throughout the weekend.)The location is good, next to the Prado, and taxis were easy and affordable too and from the hotel to the main toursit areas. we would return but if our room was a sample of all classic rooms I may ask to move up both in floors and in class of service. The breakfeast was excellent but we found the tea and coffee not served quite hot enough and it cooled quickly. We did not try the restuarant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Ritz Madrid what a great hotel fantastic service great rooms great location excellent restaurant check the price it is not cheap but excellent hotel excellent location for museums and town centre
We travelled on a weekend break and found the staff very helpful
We ate in the restaurant extensive wine list great menu all in all a very good weekend away

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz right around Christmas week. We had a fabulous time. The hotel is, as you know, very old world, classic luxe Madrid. The hotel is well taken care of, even if it can certainly use some updating. All the public rooms are grand, well done. It reminds us of the Copacabana Palace in Rio.

Service is very good and a strong point for the hotel. From the welcoming doorman to check in to the day to day staff you encounter. Great house keeping. Our room was very large, with a nice balcony looking directly at the Prado right across the street. The room had a large marble bathroom, many thick towels, very good products. Great concierge who arranged tickets for us to a sold out show and had other good recommendations. Bkfst is also very good, many options, old world service. The location is good, though we found ourselves often heading towards the Salamanca neighborhood both during the day and in the evening. Indeed, we originally had booked and stayed at a luxe boutique hotel in Salamanca. We lasted one night, then fled. The room was small and service lacking. The price was essentially the same as the Ritz. But no comparison.

In sum, the Ritz is a grand old lady where you can be very comfortable and coddled. Would not hesitate to return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights with our two kids and the whole experience was very grand and special . My husband had to work most of the days while in Madrid but kids and I have explored the whole Madrid and further .
Hotel is in great location , staff is very helpful and attentive - they spoilt my kids with every day treats and constant attention to all their wishes ( in a very good way ) .
Relaxing piano music almost 24/7 in the hall , beautiful fresh flower arrange nets thought out , fresh fruits bowls in our suite daily .
We had amazing double suite with great bathrooms .
We were fortunate to spent Valentines while staying there and had dinner at the main restaurant - the whole menu that was offered was pure delight .
Every single room service was always top quality .
I would say this was the best hotel so far that we stayed in with the services to suit all your needs . Perfect place to stay for the families , couples or a business visit .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ritz by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz by Belmond

Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#5 Business Hotel in Madrid
#15 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz by Belmond 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Belmond, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Ritz by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritz by Belmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.