We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday City Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritz by Belmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ritz by Belmond to your Saves list
Hotel Ritz by Belmond
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Paseo del Prado)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #20 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Birthday City Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from Madrid where we spent 4 nights at the Ritz Hotel. A great hotel
within short walking distances of the Prado, Reina Sofia, and Baron Thyssen Bonamizsa Galleries;
all worth a visit at least twice. The Hotel staff were so helpful and attentive; booked a flamenco
show for us which was the most enjoyable thing to do. Excellent holiday all around.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    213
    69
    32
    24
See reviews for
189
416
54
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suntan01
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just returned home from a 3 night stay at the Ritz Madrid
Style, elegance and charm, this hotel has everything and is perfectly located to explore Madrid. The city tour bus stopped outside the hotel.
A special mention for the buffet breakfast which was delicious
We received friendly and professional service from every member of staff, the atmosphere inside the hotel was wonderful, so relaxing.
We had a beautiful room, 314 overlooking the Prado Museum.
Such a special 3 days- very romantic in a perfect setting - We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A great stay. We had a beautiful room overlooking the Prado. This is a classic hotel with excellent service.
Arrival and check in was fast and easy. We were moved from the lounge because we had arrived on a hot day from Seville in shorts, but this was handles with grace and professionalism. We were seated on the terrace with a drink while our room was prepared.
The room was quite large and the bathroom was functional.
Breakfast was very good and the service was excellent,
The doorman was friendly, efficient and very helpful.
I would certainly stay here again when in Madrid and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I really enjoyed the atmosphere. Great food and service and walking distance from all the cool places. The breakfast buffet was yummy. The staff was helpful and met all my needs. Loved the rich bath products..very fancy. The concierge made all the arrangements for restaurants, train tickets and tours. Great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been in this hotel begining of March 2013. The hotel is verywell situated just in front of several museums area such as : El Prado,... . You can also benefit from the city tour bus which is parking just in front of the hotel. The hotel has a nice breakfast buffet which couldn't be better. The room , in spite of beeing a double room, but it is with a moderate size with very old furniture .
Comparing with the Ritz price worldwide, the Ritz Madrid is the cheapest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent a heavenly afternoon at the Madrid Ritz, famous for the best chocolate churros in Spain... and they were!

For 12 euros I got china cups and plates, linen tablecloth and napkins, silverware and a pianist. The drinking chocolate arrived piping hot, luxurious and thick. The churros were large, fluffy on the inside and I was surpised to receive 8 of them! Very good for dipping. If you are keen to try local dishes and you are a chocolate lover you won't get better churros anywhere in Spain.

The Madrid Ritz has a summer program of music events in their beautiful walled garden and the location is very convenient for all the local tourist attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. Initially I chose this hotel because the pictures on the website were amaze and c'mon, who wouldn't want to stay at The Ritz?! And while the amount of attention the employees gave us was great and the personal concierge and 24/7 maid made us feel really comfortable, I've got to admit, I was very disappointed in the accommodations. Yes, I get that its old world flavor is what many people flock to see but for us, the bed was extremely uncomfortable, the furniture was faded and very worn (felt like we were in a European thrift store) and even though we booked a deluxe suite, the room was maddeningly small. On the upside though, their room service was wonderful and their continental breakfast was a huge plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ritz by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz by Belmond

Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#18 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz by Belmond 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Belmond, Venere, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Ritz by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritz by Belmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.