We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location with Comfortable Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ritz, Madrid to your Saves list
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Paseo del Prado)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #19 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location with Comfortable Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was afraid The Ritz might not seem like a true Spanish experience, but The Ritz Madrid has THE perfect location for walking to the Prado Museum, strolling through the Park, and to outdoor eateries in the evening. It's about a 20-25 minute fast-paced walk to the Royal Palace. Not at all tiring if you're in reasonable shape. Elderly or people with joint problems may want to take a taxi to the Palace- but it's a short, inexpensive ride.The formal tea in the hotel is lovely, and the hotel's breakfast has everything - no matter what kind of diet one might be following. The rooms are very spacious with good closet space and lockbox, a charger for iPhones/iPads, and have nice L shaped bathrooms with separate tub and shower, double sinks, with the commode and bidet in a separate area with door so the bathroom seems more like 2. Massages, hair appointments, and regular manicures/pedicures are available by appointment in the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We faced onto a quiet courtyard but I doubt there's a bad room in the hotel. There are so many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    231
    77
    33
    25
See reviews for
208
458
61
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I wanted to love this hotel, and there is a lot about it to love, but it also had glaring flaws and gaps in service that really surprised me given its 5-star status and many rave reviews. My room was never made up and cleaned at all the first day of my stay. The concierge was brusque and perfunctory. Some kind of massive ill-managed and badly controlled press event in the lobby one morning made it nearly impossible for guests to get off the elevator, navigate the lobby, and escape through the front door. And despite a large number of uniformed waiters in the restaurant at breakfast, we, along with many other guests, nearly had to stand on our chairs and jump up and down in order to flag someone down just to refill our coffee cups.
The rooms are comfortable (mine had a beautiful view of the Prado), the public spaces are exquisite (carpets to die for throughout), the hotel could not be in a better location. But we found the service sadly lacking.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the back overlooking the Prado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoknapatawpha
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is perfection. A stunning hotel in a beautiful location. Everything about it signals the fact that it's one of the best hotels in the world. The rooms are elegant and luxurious. The hotel and its gardens breathe serenity. The food is first rate. The staff strike that perfect balance, familiar in first class hotels, between intimacy and deference. The beauty of it all is that, by comparison with world class hotels in, say, London, Paris, Rome or New York, it's not that expensive. It's brilliant value for money; and, if you go there, you'll leave wishing that all your life was like this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had the worst breakfast for the highest price I ever paid in my life. Never ever again! The most boring omelette and French toast, tasteless, dull, horrible. How do they even have 5 stars it escapes me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed in Ritz Madrid on numerous occasions and it has been simply spectacular. The room ,the public areas the bar the breakfast area the food-all stunning.
Marvelous every time! Thank you to all the staff that have been extra curtious!
Mr and Mrs Jalali

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff anticipate your every need If you can afford it this hotel is sheer luxury. It is very well located and you get the true feeling of Madrid. The bar staff are second to none. The rooms are turned down seamlessly and the standard of the linen and toiletries are of the highest standard
The Resturant for breakfast is very good and cover every need During our stay we were very well looked after and the concierge service were very helpfull

Room Tip: Excellent location and rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel understands excellence. The lobby, the bar, the services were all first rate. The decor and furnishings were all beautiful and tasteful. Breakfast was included and first rate.

At the same time, I had asked for two twins but I got a king. The toilette closet in the bathroom was tiny--knee to wall. On the other hand, the towels were luxury and the towel rack was heated. All of the ways a person comes into contact with a room were carefully thought out and a pleasure.

Yet I was promised a bottle of cava, which didn't come, and the fruit was not replenished. On the other hand, when they found out there was no wine, they provided it, and it was delicious--perfect with the fruit and chocolates.

The view out the window was a depressing blue hump, which was probably the ceiling of the first floor below it. Craning my head out the window, I could see rooms with brighter and better prospects than the dark, strange hump looming up in front of my window.

The closets and the dressing room were ample. The small anteroom was interesting as a means of moving from hallway to room.

Returning here after a short trip to Africa, I received an upgrade to a suite that overlooks the Prado. The services were at another greater level, most certainly. This room clearly warrants the name, "Ritz." In truth, the first room did not.

On the other hand, although the room was reserved for me and my son, the hotel charged for his one breakfast (out of about a week's days). They did correct this. In the lounge, a setting of luxury, there is a bar and food service. The cognacs were memorable.

The trips to the airport were efficient and comfortable in an S-class MB. Everything at the concierge and porter levels was first rate. The concierge cut through some significant barriers for us to re-book flights to Amsterdam and that was worth a great deal.

All in all, the knowledge of what is outstanding at times exceeded what their actual service was. It was sometimes haughty with a touch of arrogance, but then when they focused their training came through and the service was what it should have been without the effort of penetrating their attitude.

Both rooms were worth the price, so too the service, amenities, and food. It isn't a lack of training but rather the problem or manner of delivering it when called upon as opposed to offering it in the normal course of any day. It's problematic to rate rooms that can be luxurious with an awareness of luxury usually but not always available.

The location is excellent. Guests can walk to several key places like parks and museums. Also, at least one neighborhood square of tapa bars was a short walk away. Even the movies were close by.

Room Tip: Clarify in advance by email what you understand to be the room you have agreed to. Upper level floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#11 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Huertas
Urban Hotel Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid
#22 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Chueca
Only You Hotel & Lounge
Only You Hotel & Lounge
#3 of 453 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz, Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz, Madrid

Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Madrid
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#19 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz, Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz, Madrid is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Ritz, Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritz, Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.