We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot to love, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritz by Belmond

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ritz by Belmond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Ritz by Belmond
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off standard rates
Ranked #18 of 456 hotels in Madrid
London, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A lot to love, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I wanted to love this hotel, and there is a lot about it to love, but it also had glaring flaws and gaps in service that really surprised me given its 5-star status and many rave reviews. My room was never made up and cleaned at all the first day of my stay. The concierge was brusque and perfunctory. Some kind of massive ill-managed and badly controlled press event in the lobby one morning made it nearly impossible for guests to get off the elevator, navigate the lobby, and escape through the front door. And despite a large number of uniformed waiters in the restaurant at breakfast, we, along with many other guests, nearly had to stand on our chairs and jump up and down in order to flag someone down just to refill our coffee cups.
The rooms are comfortable (mine had a beautiful view of the Prado), the public spaces are exquisite (carpets to die for throughout), the hotel could not be in a better location. But we found the service sadly lacking.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at the back overlooking the Prado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    135
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
114
264
35
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yoknapatawpha
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is perfection. A stunning hotel in a beautiful location. Everything about it signals the fact that it's one of the best hotels in the world. The rooms are elegant and luxurious. The hotel and its gardens breathe serenity. The food is first rate. The staff strike that perfect balance, familiar in first class hotels, between intimacy and deference. The beauty of it all is that, by comparison with world class hotels in, say, London, Paris, Rome or New York, it's not that expensive. It's brilliant value for money; and, if you go there, you'll leave wishing that all your life was like this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had the worst breakfast for the highest price I ever paid in my life. Never ever again! The most boring omelette and French toast, tasteless, dull, horrible. How do they even have 5 stars it escapes me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed in Ritz Madrid on numerous occasions and it has been simply spectacular. The room ,the public areas the bar the breakfast area the food-all stunning.
Marvelous every time! Thank you to all the staff that have been extra curtious!
Mr and Mrs Jalali

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff anticipate your every need If you can afford it this hotel is sheer luxury. It is very well located and you get the true feeling of Madrid. The bar staff are second to none. The rooms are turned down seamlessly and the standard of the linen and toiletries are of the highest standard
The Resturant for breakfast is very good and cover every need During our stay we were very well looked after and the concierge service were very helpfull

Room Tip: Excellent location and rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel understands excellence. The lobby, the bar, the services were all first rate. The decor and furnishings were all beautiful and tasteful. Breakfast was included and first rate.

At the same time, I had asked for two twins but I got a king. The toilette closet in the bathroom was tiny--knee to wall. On the other hand, the towels were luxury and the towel rack was heated. All of the ways a person comes into contact with a room were carefully thought out and a pleasure.

Yet I was promised a bottle of cava, which didn't come, and the fruit was not replenished. On the other hand, when they found out there was no wine, they provided it, and it was delicious--perfect with the fruit and chocolates.

The view out the window was a depressing blue hump, which was probably the ceiling of the first floor below it. Craning my head out the window, I could see rooms with brighter and better prospects than the dark, strange hump looming up in front of my window.

The closets and the dressing room were ample. The small anteroom was interesting as a means of moving from hallway to room.

Returning here after a short trip to Africa, I received an upgrade to a suite that overlooks the Prado. The services were at another greater level, most certainly. This room clearly warrants the name, "Ritz." In truth, the first room did not.

On the other hand, although the room was reserved for me and my son, the hotel charged for his one breakfast (out of about a week's days). They did correct this. In the lounge, a setting of luxury, there is a bar and food service. The cognacs were memorable.

The trips to the airport were efficient and comfortable in an S-class MB. Everything at the concierge and porter levels was first rate. The concierge cut through some significant barriers for us to re-book flights to Amsterdam and that was worth a great deal.

All in all, the knowledge of what is outstanding at times exceeded what their actual service was. It was sometimes haughty with a touch of arrogance, but then when they focused their training came through and the service was what it should have been without the effort of penetrating their attitude.

Both rooms were worth the price, so too the service, amenities, and food. It isn't a lack of training but rather the problem or manner of delivering it when called upon as opposed to offering it in the normal course of any day. It's problematic to rate rooms that can be luxurious with an awareness of luxury usually but not always available.

The location is excellent. Guests can walk to several key places like parks and museums. Also, at least one neighborhood square of tapa bars was a short walk away. Even the movies were close by.

Room Tip: Clarify in advance by email what you understand to be the room you have agreed to. Upper level floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a wonderful stay! Our room was absolutely gorgeous with a sitting area and the bed on a slightly elevated platform. When combined with the interior design, a very regal room. The service was phenomenal including most possibly, the most helpful and kind concierge we have had anywhere. The location is perfect with all the sights easily accessible. We also greatly enjoyed the the food, service and ambiance of the terrace restaurant.

We look forward to our return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ritz by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz by Belmond

Also Known As:
Ritz Madrid
Madrid Ritz-Carlton
Madrid Ritz
Address: Plaza de la Lealtad 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Madrid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#12 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#28 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ritz by Belmond 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best area of Madrid, facing the Prado and the Thyssen Museum, Hotel Ritz is a legendary 104 years old Grande Dame from Europe. The standard of its service and unrivaled prestige have earned it a place among the world's best hotels. Immaculately presented rooms and suites, and elegant dining in our restaurants and our beautiful al fresco garden terrace in summer, make Hotel Ritz the perfect place to stay in Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Ritz by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritz by Belmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.