We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palace Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Palace Madrid to your Saves list
The Westin Palace Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I recently stayed at The Westin Palace earlier this week. The service, room, views and food was amazing. Truly opulent and 5-star experience, beautifully decorated, classy and chic. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the fountain best to go for a room above second floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for your great review about your stay!
Happy to read that we exceeded your expectations and looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,479
    658
    178
    60
    25
See reviews for
485
985
102
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Massana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We where lucky enough to get upgrades to an amazing suite through amex. And the only negative was a long wait for it to be ready. The hotel is really nice old school charm. Mixed with some nice restaurant adventures. All in all I can recommend it for the cozy atmosphere. And the friendly service.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Tripavisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for recommending us due to the cozy atmosphere and the service received!
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future!
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

All Westin's are typically great but this one takes the cake, even better than in Paris. The opulent lobby, restaurant, hallways, and décor, epitomize luxury and wealth. If you "go-all-out" on vacations, you must stay here. The staff are what really makes this hotel the best in Madrid. They all speak fluent English and are patient with your attempt at Spanish. They are incredibly nice, friendly, and even good-looking!

Breakfast buffet is excellent, gym is very good, rooms are superb.

The location is truly perfect within a 3-5 minute walk to the Prado Museum (this helps in the am when you should get there at 9:30 a.m. 30 minutes before they open). There is a metro stop within a few blocks and outdoor cafes, restaurants, bars, etc., very close by.

The Palace is truly just that, a Palace.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review about your stay with us!
We are so happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations in all aspects.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our second time spending almost a week at this location. Everything you'd want in a hotel is provided here. Everyone from chamber maids to the bellmen are friendly and ready to help. The atmosphere in the entire facility is opulent and enticing. Located perfectly for exploring Madrid museums and other areas such as Plaza Mayor etc. Would be more than happy to stay again when in Madrid.

Green Features: Environmental-friendly practices are what you would expect from this type of hotel
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your second stay with us!
Happy to read that we exceeded your expectations with the service provided by our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you a third time in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a very good hotel. High standards of service and beautiful decor are particular highlights.
Breakfast in the atrium is not to be missed and for once well worth the crazy price top hotels charge for breakfast. Sit there and soak in your surroundings.
Dinner is fine without being great and with so many lovely restaurants in the city, i wish we had eaten elsewhere on the last night of our stay.

Room Tip: Pay for the best room you can afford. The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay and for mentioning our high standards of services.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

“The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel” is a palace branded with the WESTIN brand, do I have to say any more.
Recently I stayed with my family there, we booked four rooms and we have been upgraded to the fifth floor, the stay was enjoyable, from the location, the history of the hotel, the staff, the breakfast, the cleaning, the check-in, the check-out, ……..
My only complaint was the overpriced valet parking, other than that I would like to thank the whole staff for making our stay pleasant.
And 100% highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review about your stay with your family. It's a pleasure for me to share with my team your comments about our staff and we are so proud to be able to exceed your expectations!
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Truly enjoyed this terrific hotel in a perfect location. Received a fantastic room upgrade as a SPG Platinum member. The bellmen and concierge were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and housekeeping did an excellent job. Many sights, restaurants and bars are within walking distance.

Some little annoyances like the check-in staff could have been more friendly, the room temperature would not cool down as much as I'd like and a marble tile in the shower chipped off during the stay. Needless to say the positives highly outweigh the issues which mainly come from this being an older property.

I was satisfied with the gym which was better than expected for a European hotel. It's also easy to get a quick 3 mile run in around the nearby El Retiro park. Breakfast was more than adequate but not as outstanding as some reviewers make it seem. The special dining room under the rotunda makes up for the average food and the Starbucks under the hotel is a nice option when you skip the hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paloma H, Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your detailed review and for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts and your SPG Platinum status.
We are happy to read that we exceeded your expectations in almost all of the aspects and I take good note of your comments for improvement.
Looking forward to welcome you again in a near future,
Best regards,
Paloma H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madrid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#8 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palace Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.