We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palace Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Palace Madrid to your Saves list
The Westin Palace Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Houston, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel is one of the most gorgeous hotels I have ever been in. Very luxurious. The room and bathroom were huge, the staff were very friendly and accomodating. The restaurant and bar are expensive but nice to sit and lounge with a drink. It is in a great location in the city and we walked everywhere. The Prado museum is across the street. We walked from the train station with our luggage but if you take a taxi it is probably only 10 euro. To get to/from the airport, you can take the airport bus and walk from that drop off point to the hotel, it is not far at all, or it is a 30 euro cab ride to the airport. There is free wi-fi in the lobby area but you have to pay for it if you want it in your room. We didnt have a problem sitting in the lobby to get on the internet. We had a great stay and I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Happy to read you find our staff friendly and accommodating and that you will recommend our hotel
Saludos
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    641
    174
    59
    25
See reviews for
471
962
101
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and came away with an even better experience then we had our first time around. Outside of being surrounded by grandeur, the breakfast was amazing. The location is perfect for museums as well as strolling up side streets to get to shopping. The service at the hotel is as you would expect and the wait staff at the restaurant warmly greeted my daughter and son every morning.

We bussed it in from the airport on the #11 express but opted for a taxi back to the airport.
The doorman was very helpful setting up a taxi van that could hold our family of four with luggage and it cost 30 euros.

We love the feel of Madrid and the kindness of the locals. This generosity permeates throughout the richness of the hotel to provide a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel, the staff and the people from Madrid
We look forward to welcome you again
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We loved our stay at the Westin. The room was fantastic, the staff was friendly, and the free cup of coffee each day was very good. The hotel is in a great area, very close to the museums. The walk is a bit long to the good nightlife areas, but only a couple metro stops away.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Nice to read that you liked the location of the hotel and found our staff friendly
Saludos !
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The location and property is no doubt excellent !! The staff was very polite and helpful . Checkin was fast and rooms fabulous !!
We got a great price too !!
You can walk or take a short taxi ride to the main square .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hola Tripadvisor
Thank you for mentioning the polite and helpful staff
Hasta la próxima !!
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is my favourite hotel in Madrid - a great historic hotel over 100 years old in a fantastic location in the centre of the city. The decor, service and rooms are exceptional - and the breakfast selection is one of the best I've ever seen. A great hotel in a wonderful city - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you so much for your nice comments. I share all the Tripadvisor comments with my team and those like yours motivate us very much.
Hasta la próxima !
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo, SP, Brasil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed there for four days, and strongly recomend the Palace, with fantastic restaurant,
service and rooms. Ask for a "suite junior", spend time in the breakfast, lunch at least one day,
go to the bar and ask for a wine by the glass, and you will feel the paradise ...

Room Tip: junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hola Tripadvisor
Muchas Gracias for your nice recommendations
Hasta pronto !!
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A good welcome from the door staff, check in was good and then you meet 'the stairs' which is just a natural issue with an old hotel so no big drama but be prepared to carry up around 12 stairs to the level where the lifts are. The bar is expensive 'for me' 30 euro for two beers! Food OK but as with all these places its when things go slightly off piste is when you see the real colour. The Intercontinental does not ask you to put your room key in the lift to access a floor and has good security, the Westin has security in the lobby but does ask you to put your room key in the lift to allow you to access your bedroom floor. So, when it doesnt work the reception is where you get things sorted out...well please take your ID! Mr. Jobsworth is waiting for you...your name and room number is typically enough to gain a recharge around the world not the Westin Palace. For your own safety and security they need ID and if you don't have it they'll ask to come to your room to prove you are who you say you are even though the screen tells them. However, this procedure which is what I heard a lot about doesnt matter if one of their colleagues recognises you...thats good enough. So do try and pick someone who either follows procedure and you take ID or work with someone who recognises you...maybe a pink hat with a budgie reciting shakespeare! I can't wait to read the managers response to this as it was he that talked about 'procedure' to such an extent I could see 'procedure' was endemic and at these prices! You live and learn as they say...

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor just in case you need to use the lift at any time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with other Tripadvisors
To enhance security we indeed have card readers in the elevators and when guests do not have the card we ask for a proper ID to issue a spare key
If the guest does not have an ID we accompany the guest to the room and check the ID
Also on the first floor we have glass doors with card key access
I apologize for the inconveniences and if for a technical reason the card reader did not read your card
Best regards
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Madrid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#8 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#8 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palace Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.