We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palace Madrid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Palace Madrid to your Saves list
The Westin Palace Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

As a multi-year starwood platinum (p100), I had high expectations for this visit and they were all exceeded. While an old building, the hotel was immaculate (no "faded glory" here) and the service was outstanding. We were escorted to our room by the manager and had extra bottles of water and an afternoon dessert awaiting us when we returned prior to dinner. Our room (#223) was enormous with a sitting room and dining area separate from the bedroom. The location is also ideal - a stones throw from the Prado and a very short walk from all the other key sites. Can't wait to return!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review
Happy to read "can´t wait to return"
Hasta pronto !
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    643
    174
    59
    25
See reviews for
471
964
101
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location with very short walking distance to the Prado, Thyssen-Bormemisza, and Reina Sofia museums, Altocha train station, el Sol metro stop, nice shopping, and excellent restaurants. The rooms are a nice size, with a nice view and excellent service.

The concierges provided advice on what sites to see and spoke English.

We stayed a total of 7 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and for staying 7 nights with us
Hasta la próxima
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. First of all, the hotel is just beautiful. The ceiling of the restaurant off the main lobby is gorgeous. Rooms are very well appointed, fairly large and have good bathrooms. We had a suite which overlooked the fountain in front of the hotel which was a nice view to have before going to bed and when awakening. When we arrived to our room, they had sparkling wine, chocolates and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us which was a nice touch. The service was very professional, though not overtly friendly. They did their job and did it well but I didn't necessarily feel they went they ever went the extra mile (outside of the welcome to our room which was obviously great). Location was very good. We could walk or take a short cab ride to most anything. Overall, I would give this a 4.5 stars and would happily stay here again (maybe after trying the competing hotel across the way).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and we look forward to welcome you again to celebrate your wedding anniversary
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and it's walking distance to most places in the city. Some further away places my friends and I did take cabs but they are very cheap there so its no big deal. The rooms are nice and spacious with a great bathroom and we also had daily free coffee sent to our rooms by request. There is a hotel gym with a good variety of equipment, both for cardio & strength training. The service is top notch at this hotel, very friendly staff, especially down in the lobby/reception area. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and mentioning “top notch service”
This motivates us a lot
Saludos
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff at the Westin were highly committed to providing a quality service to my child and myself. The rooms were fabulous and the food in the hotel was to die for. The hotel is located in a central location which is close to manny sites. The front desk was truly on point! I was here on vacation for four days in Madrid and after my stay in the Westin, I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: request a room that faces the street because the location is great and this will add to a fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and for saying you look forward to return
This is a good sign that we exceeded your expectations
Saludos
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel is beautiful inside and out. Old world charm and beauty. Location is as central as it can be-across from Prado. The entrance and the dining - are simply stunning. Very professional and willing to help staff. Rooms are great. We got upgraded to the suite thanks to our dual membership-platinum Amex and SPG. We felt like royalty - the suite was like one beautiful apartment where you can entertain many guests. Our windows were overlooking the piazza and the fountain. The food in the restaurant is delicious and has something for every taste. We are simply impressed and will not stay anywhere else when we come back to Madrid. And we recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family who travel there.

Room Tip: We can only recommend location that was generously given to us - overlooking the fountain located ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your nice review and saying you won´t stay anywhere else
Hasta la próxima !
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night on our way home from Portugal. But I am planning on coming back. Fantastic location in an absolutely amazing city. Beautiful hotel. Top notch service. I think that the rate is approriate for what you get. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marc l, General Manager at The Westin Palace Madrid, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor
Thank you for your 5 star rating and saying the hotel met your value for money expectations
Saludos
Marc L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Madrid
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#8 Family Hotel in Madrid
#8 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palace Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.