We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's not the spirit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palace Madrid

Save Saved
You added The Westin Palace Madrid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 458 hotels in Madrid
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“That's not the spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lets get the bad bits over first. The Lounge is a very buzzy place, it is comfortable with a wonderful glass roof, there's lots going on, elegant ladies, smart men in smart suits, everyone is doing something important and that is clear by their demeanor.
But here's the rub.. just before ordering a scotch for me, and a gin for the madam , I happened to glance at the menu, something I rarely do: and there it was "23 euros" each, and that just for the spirit, the mixer was presumably delivered by security van at even higher price.
I have been around some of the most expensive bars, but never asked to pay so much.
I would at this stage normally make some derogatery remark about the Spanish economy, but the room was quite reasonable, however you can't drink a room.
Well I say it was reasonable... yes lets be fair, great bed, marvelous pillows, the whole place immaculate in every way, but I don't like showers, I prefer to slump in a bath, so why, I ask pander to the showerers and have the tap half way up the wall near the showers so I have to stand up when I want more warm water?
So those are the only bad bits really, as to the rest... absolutely great, smiling and helpful staff, a lovely breakfast with everything fresh.. even at 10-55 for a service that ends at 11, and most important of all, nut a hop from the Prada Art Gallery, a skip from the VonThysen Art Gallery, and a jump from the Sacramento High Quality Shopping area.
Can't wait to go again, but am taking a hip flask.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one, I did, and they complied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,317
    590
    166
    59
    23
See reviews for
439
884
88
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our stay at Westin Palace was one of the highlights of our trip. As soon as you arrive you are taken into time warp. This is like going back to the days when al needed to be top notch, the best. The Hotel itself is spectacular. The rooms are richly decorated and comfortable. We enjoyed the Gym, the Rotunda and bar to have drinks. We did not dine in so we have no advice on the food. Of course the price is high but the hotel is like few others. And the location is excellent to get around easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When my husband and I decided to spend two nights in Madrid my first instinct was to go for a budget hotel. However, we are not the type to 'rough it', and the chance of non English speaking (and rude) front desk clerks, poor matresses, and dark, windowless rooms seemed too risky. As tempting as it was to save some money my better judgement prevailed. This hotel is absolutely beautiful! Yes, the rooms are smaller than we in North America are used to, but what they lack in size is more than made up in charm. Upon arrival we gladly left our bags with the porter to bring up, check-in was a breeze, and after a very long light from Vancouver we were cozy in our beautiful room within minutes. The bed was hands down the best mattress we've ever slept on, the bathroom was beautiful, and the separate w/c (toilet) was appreciated! Our only problem was the lack of hot water the first evening, but that situation seemed to correct itself the following two days. Everyone in the hotel was helpful, and our tipping seemed to be unexpected and greatly appreciated.

We booked the breakfast buffet with our room reservation and found it a wonderful experience. The dining room is beautiful and there is a great selection to choose from (including champagne). The service was good the first day, and only so so the second day, but since it's a buffet that wasn't a huge problem.

Walking a few blocks down to the Del Sol district was a great way to spend the day checking out shops, and some great (albeit crowed) eateries, and try as I might I was unable to find one bad wine! If we ever return to Madrid we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Well worth the splurge!

Tip: If you are travelling to Madrid one of the biggest favors you can do yourself is to book transportation from the airport to the hotel (and back) online prior to going. We paid 20 Euro (in total) for a transfer shuttle (van) that would have easily been more than double by taxi. There was one other couple sharing on arrival, and we had the van to ourselves when returning to the airport!

Room Tip: The rooms have large windows that open so I think almost any room would work well. We were at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cointrin, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night on a week-end for pleasure.

The hotel is really nice looking. There is always staff to help you with your luggage, check-in was quick and the employees are courteous. Our room was really nice, well decorated and clean. The bed was alright but I have seen much better beds in cheaper hotels.

We easily got late check-out. There is free wifi in the lobby and lounges, however, it was not working correctly, so they gave me a password to get on the paid wifi for free.

There are a few employees that do not understand really well English, witch caused them to come back for a drink three times in a row.

Food and drinks are really expensive with breakfast at nearly 40 Euros and a glass of Vodka at 27 Euros (just 2 examples).

The hotel is well located, near the Prado and 10 minutes walk from Plaza Del Sol.

This is a great place for a week-end, but it would cost too much to stay there longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is really quite an impressive building, and more so once you are inside. Bookings were made online, and once we arrived, check-in was quick and painless. A tiny lift takes you to your required floor, once you have managed to get your room card to activate the internal lift buttons, which takes a bit of juggling, and we were not alone in this.
Doors to rooms had the appearance that you were entering an apartment, and once inside, the rooms were a very good size. The bathrooms all marble with 'his and hers' sinks, a huge shower head which was great but a little underpowered and bathrobes etc as you would expect. All very clean and well presented.
Breakfast was excellent, with a buffet style selection catering for most tastes ranging from congee and samosas, to a chef cooking your eggs to order, through to a full English fry-up, including a glass or two of Cava should you happen to be an alcoholic and need a sharpener for the day! The setting of the dining room with it's stained glass dome is quite spectacular.
The bar in the evening is quite pleasant and atmospheric, but pricey as expected. We did not notice any traffic noise when we were there and the location was excellent for our needs which was a long weekend break. Lots of tapas bars nearby frequented by locals and not tourists which was perfect.
Staff were always on hand and helpful should you require it. A very pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel is in a perfect location. It's beautiful and elegant, but very expensive. Room service menu continental breakfast is 30 euros, a martini is 22. Outrageous! Stay here, but don't eat here. They are wonderful little restaurants within a block.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Palace Thanksgiving week. It is a grand hotel celebrating it's centennial anniversary this year. It truly is a 5-star hotel by European standards. Good value especially if you are a platinum Amex member. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#6 Family Hotel in Madrid
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#8 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Amex, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palace Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.