We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further - stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palace Madrid

Save Saved
You added The Westin Palace Madrid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Palace Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Look no further - stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When my husband and I decided to spend two nights in Madrid my first instinct was to go for a budget hotel. However, we are not the type to 'rough it', and the chance of non English speaking (and rude) front desk clerks, poor matresses, and dark, windowless rooms seemed too risky. As tempting as it was to save some money my better judgement prevailed. This hotel is absolutely beautiful! Yes, the rooms are smaller than we in North America are used to, but what they lack in size is more than made up in charm. Upon arrival we gladly left our bags with the porter to bring up, check-in was a breeze, and after a very long light from Vancouver we were cozy in our beautiful room within minutes. The bed was hands down the best mattress we've ever slept on, the bathroom was beautiful, and the separate w/c (toilet) was appreciated! Our only problem was the lack of hot water the first evening, but that situation seemed to correct itself the following two days. Everyone in the hotel was helpful, and our tipping seemed to be unexpected and greatly appreciated.

We booked the breakfast buffet with our room reservation and found it a wonderful experience. The dining room is beautiful and there is a great selection to choose from (including champagne). The service was good the first day, and only so so the second day, but since it's a buffet that wasn't a huge problem.

Walking a few blocks down to the Del Sol district was a great way to spend the day checking out shops, and some great (albeit crowed) eateries, and try as I might I was unable to find one bad wine! If we ever return to Madrid we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Well worth the splurge!

Tip: If you are travelling to Madrid one of the biggest favors you can do yourself is to book transportation from the airport to the hotel (and back) online prior to going. We paid 20 Euro (in total) for a transfer shuttle (van) that would have easily been more than double by taxi. There was one other couple sharing on arrival, and we had the van to ourselves when returning to the airport!

Room Tip: The rooms have large windows that open so I think almost any room would work well. We were at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,295
    593
    166
    65
    24
See reviews for
408
854
83
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cointrin, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night on a week-end for pleasure.

The hotel is really nice looking. There is always staff to help you with your luggage, check-in was quick and the employees are courteous. Our room was really nice, well decorated and clean. The bed was alright but I have seen much better beds in cheaper hotels.

We easily got late check-out. There is free wifi in the lobby and lounges, however, it was not working correctly, so they gave me a password to get on the paid wifi for free.

There are a few employees that do not understand really well English, witch caused them to come back for a drink three times in a row.

Food and drinks are really expensive with breakfast at nearly 40 Euros and a glass of Vodka at 27 Euros (just 2 examples).

The hotel is well located, near the Prado and 10 minutes walk from Plaza Del Sol.

This is a great place for a week-end, but it would cost too much to stay there longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is really quite an impressive building, and more so once you are inside. Bookings were made online, and once we arrived, check-in was quick and painless. A tiny lift takes you to your required floor, once you have managed to get your room card to activate the internal lift buttons, which takes a bit of juggling, and we were not alone in this.
Doors to rooms had the appearance that you were entering an apartment, and once inside, the rooms were a very good size. The bathrooms all marble with 'his and hers' sinks, a huge shower head which was great but a little underpowered and bathrobes etc as you would expect. All very clean and well presented.
Breakfast was excellent, with a buffet style selection catering for most tastes ranging from congee and samosas, to a chef cooking your eggs to order, through to a full English fry-up, including a glass or two of Cava should you happen to be an alcoholic and need a sharpener for the day! The setting of the dining room with it's stained glass dome is quite spectacular.
The bar in the evening is quite pleasant and atmospheric, but pricey as expected. We did not notice any traffic noise when we were there and the location was excellent for our needs which was a long weekend break. Lots of tapas bars nearby frequented by locals and not tourists which was perfect.
Staff were always on hand and helpful should you require it. A very pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel is in a perfect location. It's beautiful and elegant, but very expensive. Room service menu continental breakfast is 30 euros, a martini is 22. Outrageous! Stay here, but don't eat here. They are wonderful little restaurants within a block.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Palace Thanksgiving week. It is a grand hotel celebrating it's centennial anniversary this year. It truly is a 5-star hotel by European standards. Good value especially if you are a platinum Amex member. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay overall at the Westin. Very centrally located, with nice size rooms by European standards which were well appointed. Service was very good with attentive staff and the breakfast area was absolutely gorgeous!

Only issue was the very intermittent Wifi service... On the 5th floor, the iPad worked only half the time, though the laptop was fine.

Would stay here again....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our choice of hotels is usually driven by how centrally the property is located & proximity to major attractions. While vacationing in Madrid Westin Palace popped up as the first choice. We stayed here for 3 days. The hotel is magnificient, elegant & indeed a palace.
The hotel was very busy when we visited & there was a little bit of wait at the concierge but once at the counter we were promptly helped by some very polite staff.We got a suite overlooking the Neptune fountain, the room was large with plenty of closet space.Besides the impeccable beauty of the property what really clicked for us was the generous breakfast. Being vegetarians we often get limited to fruits, bread & juices for breakfast. But at Westin Palace there was this whole new possibility of having mediterranean plate with hummus, baba ganoush & warm bread. Also there were some delicious vegetarian samosas in addition to churros, breads, veggies etc etc. After tucking in the great buffet breakfast we could hit the road right away.
All major attractions: Prado, Reina Sofia, & plazas are walkable so are a number of great places to eat. The location was super convinient to see Madrid & also for catching trains to other sights. The stay at Westin Palace was s perfect combination of convinience,service & luxury. Will surely stay here again in our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Palace Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palace Madrid

Address: Plaza de las Cortes 7, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#8 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#11 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Palace Madrid 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by order of King Alfonso XIII in 1912, The Westin Palace, Madrid was recently restored to its original splendor. Situated near the Prado museum, historic monuments and some of the best tapas restaurants in town, It is listed in the Condé Nast Traveler "Gold List 2010" as one of the best hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Amex and Venere so you can book your The Westin Palace Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palace Madrid Hotel Madrid
Westin Madrid
Madrid Westin
Westin Palace Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Palace Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.