We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Leon de Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Posada del Leon de Oro to your Saves list
Posada del Leon de Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cava Baja, 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, and Very comfortable bed! this hotel was the perfect place to stay after arriving from our overnight flight from the states. i highly recommend this hotel for people traveling with family or couples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    86
    18
    3
    7
See reviews for
65
120
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I were fortunate to have this hotel recommended to us by a Madrilena colleague. We normally go for a Hilton, Hyatt, Radisson etc for a city break after an unfortunate "boutique" hotel experience in Amsterdam some years ago! However, we are now converts to 'the best things come in small packages' if the Posada del Leon de Oro is anything to go by. The staff were all professional but friendly and nothing too much trouble. Great room, larger than many we have stayed in recently in the larger chain hotels, with all mod cons (v good air/con). Bed extremely comfortable too. The icing on the cake was the central location for sightseeing. Less than 5 minutes' stroll to the centre of Plaza Mayor. Do not hesitate to book up and enjoy this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were very happy with the friendly service, room and location. We arrived well before the posted check in time so there were no rooms available yet. The desk clerk let us leave our bags secured with him and we went off to have breakfast and explore the Sunday flea market, El Rastro. Our room was large and airy and the bed was really quite comfortable. We enjoyed the location of the hotel and its proximity to several excellent tapas bars and restaurants. We were traveling with friends and it was nice to just hang out at the hotel's wine bar (which has a cool glass floor showing old structures beneath the building) after a long day of sightseeing. We would stay there again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel is a very nice boutique hotel centrally located near the Plaza Major.
There is no parking close by and you have to use a public garage three blocks away. This is fine if you are fore warned.
We checked in very late on a Friday night and found the desk clerk to be somewhat rude.
Other than that, It is a good place to stay in the middle of a very busy part of Madrid.

Room Tip: we stayed in a family room that was fine for a family of four but not for two couples. The room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We returned to this hotel over Easter, having enjoyed a stay here 2 years ago. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the main sights, and located on the Cava Baja which is great for an evening trawling the tapas bars.

Check in was efficient and we had booked a larger room, since on our last trip we'd booked a smaller, cheaper room, but it was very small and we didn't like it. The larger room was on the top floor and was very spacious and quiet. The huge bed is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The air con kept the temperature down as did the tiled floor.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but we did have a drink and some tapas in the bar, which was very nice. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 302 is excellent, top floor, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our family of four stayed in this hotel for 4 nights during spring break (Holy Week). There is one queen bed and two pull out twin beds (as part of the furnitures) that were hidden when we first walked in. The location is very convenient, about 5 minutes walk to Plaza Mayor and the metro station. The room is clean and very chic and lovely. The front desk customer service is very friendly and helpful, giving us lots of tips and even help us to make dinner reservation at a few restaurants.
One of the lights by the sink was broken the second day, and we told the front desk but it was never fixed. :( The hotel has 3 (?) floors. The ground floor is a restaurant/tapa place. I'm sure the food is delicious because it was very crowded at night and can get quite noisy even after 11pm.
I'd recommend this nice little hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: restaurant downstairs, so tend to be loud. maybe ask for rooms on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just had a 6 night stay in this small boutique hotel in the Old City area of Madrid. Location was wonderful. Room was very small (we had booked the standard room - we peeked in some of the other higher category rooms, which seemed a bit more spacious), and the air conditioning struggled to cool the room, even with mild April temperatures. The small fridge also failed to cool anything in it, so no cold drinks at the end of a day's sightseeing! The shower was tiny and the breakfasts not bad. The bar and restaurant downstairs was busy, and served nice food and drinks. Having said all that, the location was great, with lots of fun tapas bars all along the street. Most of Madrid's tourist sight were within walking distance. Would still recommend this hotel to friends, but suggest they book one of the higher category, more spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Not the basic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Address: Cava Baja, 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#32 Family Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#107 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Leon de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.