We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location, loved the experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Leon de Oro

Save Saved
You added Posada del Leon de Oro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada del Leon de Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cava Baja, 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Londra, Regno Unito
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location, loved the experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The quality of design,cleanliness. Location perfect for Tapas bars & Restaurants, walkable to many pleasant squares & the main galleries & to at least 4 Flamenco establishments.

Would have much preferred not to have an internal room - felt a bit claustrophobic without an outside window.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    72
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
55
109
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PUERTO RICO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Returned for just one night on my way back home and it was just perfect again.
I stayed 3 nights in October and as soon I enter the small lobby the staff inmediately recognized us and gave our keys to another beautifull room on the 3rd floor.
Javi and Nacho, thanks again for your hospitality, you are an added value to this boutique hotel !!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

very unique boutique hotel with character. un hotel con mucho encanto. we spent one night here . the breakfast was good the staff were friendly and welcoming. and the decor i absolutely loved. would recommend and would definitely come back. the location was great also La Latina very convenient and lots of little bars and restaurants. definitely give this place a try if your in madrid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview Heights, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent the final 2 nights of our honeymoon staying at Posada del Leon de Oro and after leaving, we both wished we had more time there. The rooms were good sized, even for US stanards, and the hotel bar was a great place to catch a quick drink before heading out on the town. The selection of restaurants in the area is amazing, we ate at multiple of them and each one was exceptional. By far the best meal we had in Madrid, and maybe all of Spain, took place directly across the street at Posada Del Villa. The location of the hotel was perfecly centralized and we were able to walk to every destination that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we just came back from a long weekend at the Posada del Leon de Oro and it was absolutely perfect! we loved everything about it!
the staff was so friendly, the hotel itself is beautiful and we loved the design, breakfast was good and the location is amazing.

a very good choice at a very good price! :)
would defiantly recommend to anyone who's going to Madrid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights over New Year. Having spent a long time searching for the perfect hotel for our visit, as 2 friends we had specifically requested a twin room, on arrival this was not the case and we were rudely advised that...if we must we will split the beds.... the room looked shiny on entry, but was actually grubby and throughout our stay the floor was not wiped. The side tables had sticky stains on them,,,,,The breakfast is basic to say the least and works if you dont mind waiting....recomend you grab a coffee out! The location is great for the bars & tapas but the hotel staff give you no advice or help at all about were to go or indeed that its wise to book as most restaurants are full if you dont!! The staff infact gave us the impression that guest just get in the way of them trying to run the bar & restaurant downstairs...most mornings there was a guest at the front desk complaining about something....adn recieving the same rude treatment. Really dissapointed with this hotel..AVOID...AVOID...AVOID we wasted upto 185 euros a night here...........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This has the potential to be a great hotel, the street is noisy but you are in an area known for this so bring your earplugs. The rooms are really nice decor wise, we loved the little balcony out onto the street below. However, from the moment we stepped into the hotel we felt like we were an inconvenience. It started with having to move rooms because there was apparently work going on in the room we had reserved, and then complete lack of information by the person that checked us in about the hotel and area. We didn't even manage to find a directory of services in our room which I have in every single hotel I have ever stayed in. There is a really lovely bar at the front of the hotel which we would often come back to after a night out but when we came back late afternoon on New Years Eve we were told off for trying to order a coffee as they were trying to set up for dinner that night, we said that we were guests so they let us stay! We would have been happy to go back to our room but there are no coffee making facilities! Our room looked great but wasn't particularly clean, we had to clean the floor with a towel a couple of times as the same dirt was there two days running, the towels incidentally were full of holes and I'm pretty sure that our water glasses were not replaced at all during our stay. There just seems to be a sense of indifference that radiates from most (not all) staff at this hotel, it's like they just can't be bothered which is a real shame. I wouldn't return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Address: Cava Baja, 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#23 Family Hotel in Madrid
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Leon de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.