We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and boutique in bohemian La Latina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Leon de Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Posada del Leon de Oro to your Saves list
Posada del Leon de Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cava Baja, 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Chic and boutique in bohemian La Latina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Our hotel was perfectly located on the bustling Calle de la Cava Baja - Madrid's main tapas street. The posada is a converted 19th Century coaching inn with a contemporary design aesthetic. Our spacious twin was minimalistic and its chic and sexy design had a playful edge: oversized lampshades, hand painted walls, a blissful rain forest shower, all in white, hidden behind a mirrored door; the wash hand basin was conveniently located in the room which is great for two guys getting ready for a night on the town.

The rooms open onto a rustic atrium. The bar was buzzing with Madrilenos feasting on tapas. It specialises in Spanish wines with an emphasis on those from the region around Madrid. Il Cad and I savoured local vermouth and tortilla before beginning our tapas crawl.

For less than 10 euros, the breakfast includes fresh-squeezed juices, glazed croissants, fruit, manchego and cured meats, and a wide selection of crusty artisan bread. The dining room has a glass floor displaying the ancient walls of La Latina and random bottles of wine, which only added to the charm.

The lads behind reception offer a personal service and for less than £88 per night, this cheek posada offered oustanding value. In short, designer chic whilst retaining its historic charm and in a great location less than five minutes from the Plaza Major and the foodie paradise of the Mercado de St Miguel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    85
    18
    3
    7
See reviews for
64
120
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is fantastic. Walking distance to all the big sights. Only 5 minutes from the Plaza Major and sourrounded by many quaint and old streets without traffic and noise. Close to Metro. In the area there are so many restaurants and bars that you may be frustrated by not being able to reach them all :-) The hotel is quite small and cozy with a delightful mix of history and modern rooms. There is life without the noise. Polite and friendly service at the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauroux
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our daughter was working in Madrid for three months and found this charming little posada right in the heart of MAdrid. The Cava Baja is full of character. Apparently the King of Spain eats in the restaurant a few doors away nearly every week.
The Posada was a converted winery and they had cleverly created glass floors so you could see down into the cellars. WE stayed up the top in a wonderful room with lods of character, with a bath with a jacuzzi [as well as a shower].
Charming bar with a great choice of wines. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Go for the one at the top with the jacuzzi - very relaxing after a day's sightseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked a double Corrola room at Posada del Leon de Oro and they kindly ungraded us to a balcony room (first floor) instead.

We were very warmly welcomed by the reception staff who whipped out a Madrid map and showed us a clear route to catch all the main sights in Madrid and places to catch a bite.

The room was very clean and it was quite nice to people watch from the balcony. The furnishing is very quirky and modern. Lots of mirrors in the room also made the place seem very spacious. The room also boasts a Sony Bravia TV. I didn't watch any TV, so I don't know if there were any English channels.

The bathroom light blew out on the second night, but after we alerted the staff the following morning - it was replaced by the time we got back to the room that evening.

If I had to pick up on a couple of negatives:

1) we were allocated a twin room instead of the double that we originally reserved. However saying that, we weren't too fussed and we liked the room enough. After all, a hotel room is a place for a good night's sleep. Which leads me to my next point...

2) We would hit the hay around 12am most evenings and we would be able to hear the murmour of people chatting outside the local tapas bars (the hotel is right next to lots of great tapas bars/restaurants). If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest that you request a non-street facing room... or time your bedtime with the locals'. Personally, I can sleep through anything so this was not really an issue for me.

Location wise, it is within a few minutes walking distance to most of the main sights of Madrid (Sol, Plaza Major, the Royal Palace, Mercado San Miguel), a couple of supermarkets and lots of tapas restaurants. La Latina metro station is only a 3 min walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is truly an excellent place. When we were booking the hotel, we did a google search to find some very terrible looking pictures of the property a few years back. My first dose of advice is to ignore these pictures as this hotel has been transformed into a true gem. This is the definition of a boutique hotel with a modern twist as all the rooms are very modern looking in terms of layout, design, and furniture. The best part of the hotel is probably the street that it is on. It comes alive in the nighttime with dozens of tapas restaurants and bars serving hundreds of people during the traditional after 9pm tapas time. Random parades of people will erupt with music coming from all angles. It was terrific. The hotel is also decently close to the metro. The bar and restaurant are gorgeous with glass floors and other neat Spanish decor. This is an expensive place but it is worth every penny if you want an authentic Madrid experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUERTO RICO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Choose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and really find a small boutique hotel of 5 stars.
Location, staff were great and room was clean and large enough for being a small hotel.
When they say to write them in advance , as I did, they really answer all your emails and will honor your requests, including early check in, if available.
And yes, of course I will stay again in this beautifull boutique hotel in my next visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is a great alternative to asseptic international hotels ... In the middle of a living area, full of traditional restaurants and tapas bar, 5 minutes walk from Plaza Mayor, this posada is a very nice hotel. The bar, lobby, and restaurant are authentic. You would expect the same in the rooms but even if they are very modern, they are confortable and extremely clean. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Address: Cava Baja, 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#31 Family Hotel in Madrid
#44 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#106 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Leon de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.