We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical - made Madrid for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Leon de Oro

Save Saved
You added Posada del Leon de Oro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 8 more sites!
Posada del Leon de Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cava Baja, 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Montauroux
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Magical - made Madrid for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our daughter was working in Madrid for three months and found this charming little posada right in the heart of MAdrid. The Cava Baja is full of character. Apparently the King of Spain eats in the restaurant a few doors away nearly every week.
The Posada was a converted winery and they had cleverly created glass floors so you could see down into the cellars. WE stayed up the top in a wonderful room with lods of character, with a bath with a jacuzzi [as well as a shower].
Charming bar with a great choice of wines. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Go for the one at the top with the jacuzzi - very relaxing after a day's sightseeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    71
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
54
102
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked a double Corrola room at Posada del Leon de Oro and they kindly ungraded us to a balcony room (first floor) instead.

We were very warmly welcomed by the reception staff who whipped out a Madrid map and showed us a clear route to catch all the main sights in Madrid and places to catch a bite.

The room was very clean and it was quite nice to people watch from the balcony. The furnishing is very quirky and modern. Lots of mirrors in the room also made the place seem very spacious. The room also boasts a Sony Bravia TV. I didn't watch any TV, so I don't know if there were any English channels.

The bathroom light blew out on the second night, but after we alerted the staff the following morning - it was replaced by the time we got back to the room that evening.

If I had to pick up on a couple of negatives:

1) we were allocated a twin room instead of the double that we originally reserved. However saying that, we weren't too fussed and we liked the room enough. After all, a hotel room is a place for a good night's sleep. Which leads me to my next point...

2) We would hit the hay around 12am most evenings and we would be able to hear the murmour of people chatting outside the local tapas bars (the hotel is right next to lots of great tapas bars/restaurants). If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest that you request a non-street facing room... or time your bedtime with the locals'. Personally, I can sleep through anything so this was not really an issue for me.

Location wise, it is within a few minutes walking distance to most of the main sights of Madrid (Sol, Plaza Major, the Royal Palace, Mercado San Miguel), a couple of supermarkets and lots of tapas restaurants. La Latina metro station is only a 3 min walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is truly an excellent place. When we were booking the hotel, we did a google search to find some very terrible looking pictures of the property a few years back. My first dose of advice is to ignore these pictures as this hotel has been transformed into a true gem. This is the definition of a boutique hotel with a modern twist as all the rooms are very modern looking in terms of layout, design, and furniture. The best part of the hotel is probably the street that it is on. It comes alive in the nighttime with dozens of tapas restaurants and bars serving hundreds of people during the traditional after 9pm tapas time. Random parades of people will erupt with music coming from all angles. It was terrific. The hotel is also decently close to the metro. The bar and restaurant are gorgeous with glass floors and other neat Spanish decor. This is an expensive place but it is worth every penny if you want an authentic Madrid experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUERTO RICO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Choose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and really find a small boutique hotel of 5 stars.
Location, staff were great and room was clean and large enough for being a small hotel.
When they say to write them in advance , as I did, they really answer all your emails and will honor your requests, including early check in, if available.
And yes, of course I will stay again in this beautifull boutique hotel in my next visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is a great alternative to asseptic international hotels ... In the middle of a living area, full of traditional restaurants and tapas bar, 5 minutes walk from Plaza Mayor, this posada is a very nice hotel. The bar, lobby, and restaurant are authentic. You would expect the same in the rooms but even if they are very modern, they are confortable and extremely clean. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in June, we chose the hotel due to the central location and were not disappointed.

The hotel sits on a busy street with Tapas Bars literally side by side down the whole street, even the hotel has a Tapas bar and restuarant. This made it super easy to find somewhere to eat as the choice was amazing.

Our room was extremely comfortable, the bed is king size and the pillows were really the most comfortable I've ever slept on in a hotel, wished I could have taken them home! The bathroom is nice with a rain head shower and toiletries were topped up daily. Wifi was okay, sometimes it was slow.

I was concerned that the room may be noisy as we faced onto the main street, but the shutters and double glazing really cut out most of the noise, but I do admit we got into Spanish life, staying up late, so by the time we did go to bed, things had quietened down. We were in Madrid over a weekend and there was a noticeable difference between how busy the street was on Saturday night to Sunday and Monday. But definitely don't be concerned about noise, it really was not a factor.

We found the staff to be friendly and we were always greeted coming in and out of the hotel.

We did not have breakfast or eat in the restaurant but we did have some tapas and drinks in the bar which was really nice and good spot for a night cap.

I would highly recommend this hotel, the location is superb, comfort levels are excellent and reasonable price for Madrid. If I return to Madrid I'll be sure to stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in this small hotel for the last night of our trip to Spain, but I wish we had been able to stay here for several more days. The rooms are each very unique - my in-laws had a room on the upper floor with sloping ceilings and a window overlooking the quiet street. My husband and I and our two kids had two adjoining rooms that had small balconies. The location is great - a quiet street but near lots of restaurants, etc. There is an excellent fruit market a few doors down. When we arrived, we were served a wine drink (juice for the kids) while we completed the paperwork. The breakfast was not included in our rate, but by paying the day before for the next morning's breakfast, there was a discount. The breakfast didn't look like much at first, but a server will bring coffee, juice, and eggs cooked to order. Excellent croissants. I recommend eating here before heading out for the day. All staff members were very friendly and accommodating, and spoke English pretty well. We loved this hotel and would look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, make sure to ask first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada del Leon de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Leon de Oro

Also Known As:
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel Madrid
Posada Del Leon De Oro Hotel
Address: Cava Baja, 12, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Madrid
#55 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#119 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada del Leon de Oro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a guesthouse, it is now design and a singular Hotel. Located in the neighborhood of La Latina, in the heart of Madrid. It has 17 rooms, all unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Posada del Leon de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Leon de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.