We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Madrid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Magna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Magna to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Magna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Castellana 22, 28046 Madrid, Spain (Barrio de Salamanca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Best in Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel both for business and pleasure and I always return to it. The location is fantastic - centrally located from the main sights and a range of dining options as others have noted. The quality of the rooms is great - spacious rooms, complimentary wifi and nice Asprey toiletries. Rooms are well furnished, spotless and the service throughout the hotel fantastic. They have a charming outdoor terrace - both at the front and back of the hotel. Would not stay anywhere else in Madrid. I have not used the spa or hotel restaurants as there is so much choice on your doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L Morri... G, General Manager at Hotel Villa Magna, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I cannot tell you how delighted I was to read your comments following your recent visit. It will be a pleasure to share these with the hotel staff.

We are very happy you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Villa Magna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    82
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
145
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a Junior Suite for 4 nights in June. Room was great and the Hotel was in a fantastic location to walk and explore the city.
Arrived on Saturday night and neither of the hotel restaurants were open for dinner which reflects business focus.
Breakfast was expensive (€40) and service was poor.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L Morri... G, General Manager at Hotel Villa Magna, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Villa Magna. I am sorry that your experience with the restaurant and the service did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The trip to Madrid was fantatsic! Love the bars and culture! Very relaxing and lots of sights to see. The hotel was nice. Food was good and the dervice as well. Had a great experience and love the pata iberico...the best ham in the world!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L Morri... G, General Manager at Hotel Villa Magna, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your warm and enthusiastic comments and for taking the time to share your experience.

My staff and I hope you will regard the Villa Magna as your Hotel in Madrid and hope you will come to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Despite a rather unimpressive façade, the hotel is attractive and our rooms were quiet and comfortable. Our check in was efficient and our luggage arrived quickly to our room. The room is slightly dark for my taste but the bathroom was well lit and large.
We had excellent breakfast every morning of our stay and the staff were polite and went out of their way to make sure you had everything that you needed.
Our rooms were clean and turn down service was nice-- a large bottle of water by the bedside and a new one given every night. It is so nice for a hotel to provide such a simple, but appreciated gesture.
Wifi worked well and we had no issues throughout our stay. The concierge was exceptional and offered nice, local restaurants that were not overrun by tourists. We asked for more authentic places and he listened!
My only small complaint was the inability to cool our bedroom down at night. Our sitting room was cool but our bedroom was warmer than I would have preferred.
A very nice hotel that has top to bottom service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L Morri... G, General Manager at Hotel Villa Magna, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Villa Magna. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul Turkey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A very nice hotel, A classical, very clean excellent service, top quality, the staff is very helpful, rooms are functional, all ammenities are top quality. Highly recomended as a business hotel. Close to shopping areas as well. Do not miss it

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L Morri... G, General Manager at Hotel Villa Magna, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
I cannot tell you how delighted I was to read your comments following your recent visit. It will be a pleasure to share these with the staff.

We are very happy you had another wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Villa Magna very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I arrived with my three large bags at 07:30. Nobody was by the hotel entrance. It was only after paying the taxi driver, unloading the bags and starting to roll one to the door that the bellman arrived. The lobby was absolutely quiet and nobody at reception. The doorman started to call to to get someone to come to reception. It surprised me, as of course I usually expect the door and reception to be staffed 24/7. I liked the junior suite I was shown to: clean, quiet, good layout, some small nice accents like pillow spray. Yet there were some minuses: there are switch to change shower to bathtub soak was broken. During the day after housekeeping there were no clean glasses and the bottle opener had disappeared (we called to have that all restocked). Good selection in minibar and all the time fresh ice. Movie on demand service is not available despite a remote with all the necessary buttons. The only way we could figure this out was to call technical assistance. Next day I tried the restaurant, and this was subpar. The waiter did not know what champagne they offer by glass. It took 15 mins to get that information, after we ordered she delivered a different kind of champagne then was ordered. The waiter also had bad breath. At night time I and friends came to garden bar which close at 2am, we took a table at 1:45 and ordered Chivas Rigal 21years Royal Salut and get answer that the bar is closed (At 1:45!). I have to spent some time to go to reception, figure out the situation, and finally we received our order. I see this rude service first time in 5 star hotel. When I do check-out I found they double charge me for SPA. It was rectified but still too much work for guest to enjoy luxury service in luxury hotel. So location is good, amenities and quality of rooms are also good but I do not experience any wishes to return to this hotel. Price is ok for 5 star hotel just no life atmosphere in this hotel. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L Morri... G, General Manager at Hotel Villa Magna, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Villa Magna. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Hotel Villa Magna, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very stylish hotel in good location. Staff very helpful and friendly and they definitely went the extra mile to find some documents I had left behind after I checked out. The rooms were spacious and very quiet and we really enjoyed our stay. Great service

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles L Morri... G, General Manager at Hotel Villa Magna, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words.

My staff and I hope you will regard the Villa Magna as your hotel in Madrid and hope you will visit us as often as you like. We will make every effort to make your stay comfortable.

My appreciation, once again, for taking the time to register your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Magna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Magna

Address: Paseo de la Castellana 22, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#5 Business Hotel in Madrid
#6 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Magna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Magna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Magna
Hyatt Hotel Madrid
Hyatt Madrid
Madrid Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Magna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.