We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant City Hotel -- Would Come Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Magna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Magna to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Magna
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de la Castellana 22, 28046 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
new york city
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
464 helpful votes 464 helpful votes
“Pleasant City Hotel -- Would Come Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location is a bit distant to the city center but it depends if you care. Madrid has various quadrants and 5-10 Euro in a taxi will get you just about anywhere. I had a nice junior suite with good light and I liked the decor in the room and in the lobby. The bathroom was good and the Asprey toiletries were appreciated. The Business Center is staffed until after midnight although I found the PC's a bit too slow for what they should have been. The gym is OK; the spa treatment fine (the spa itself was undergoing renovation). Breakfast was pretty good and dinner in the lobby was rather good. Last time in Madrid I had stayed in the Westin near the Prado but I didn't like it; felt cold. The NH Nacional near the Prado is a good budget choice. This hotel is warmer and there is the feeling that there is lots of staff around and that they notice you. All of the 5-star things you expect are delivered. They send up some nice foodies to your room every day. I would come again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    70
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
45
124
14
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is modern, classy,and clean
Spacious rooms, the place is full and no one is seen…peaceful
Very well positioned, everyone has been supporting, helpful throughout our stay
It felt like the impeccable service we have dreamed of when entering a hotel of this league
One is treated like a guest, one gets the privacy of a hotel, the breakfast was fab the service quick the massages superb, we have tried it all and can only recommend big time
they inform you about thing one forgot to ask :0)
Big thanks go to the probably best concierge 2012 in my case
from clubs to the michelin star restauratnts to the prado the drivers... they will make it happen you just simply have to call the concierge

big thanx to them .. this weekend was perfect.

Room Tip: I had standard and we were very happy ... so anything above that must be heaven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. Asia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It is a good hotel. Maybe even an excellent hotel but it is just too expensive for what it is.

This hotel has attractive, well designed rooms, a reasonably good location depending on what wants out of Madrid (in the case of this hotel designer botiques and top end shopping).

Service was not particulary outstanding. Housekeeping was average, Conceierge service was poor and it is clear why when you see the same men working long shifts answering the same questions. Still that is their problem, not ours.

Breakfast is glamous without substance. So what is wrong with this hotel? It is just too darned expensive for what it is. The extra something that comes when you are paying Euro 600 per night just is not there. We have paid more for Le Sireneuse in Positano or for The Peninsula in Hong Kong but they offer that extra something that Villa Magna does not have. Magic.

I am sure there are similar options in this wonderful city for half the price that offer 80% of the goods. If you want to pay then there is no reason not to stay here. Funny review!

Room Tip: a view of the Paseo Castellana is hardly worth paying extra for. A street is a street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been staying at this Hotel for over 20 years, and this continues to be one of the leading hotels in the world.. ! A major refurbishment has taken place (the Hotel was closed for around 2 years) and it has now moved from Mahogany and polished woods to Nordic Greys, Fawns and Blacks. Very spectacular decor with a wonderful lounge and large bar with indoor/outdoor terrace. Food is,as always, excellent and the level of service needs to be experienced to be believed. If you stay here I can guarantee that it will become one of your favourite Hotels too ! It even has a Cortes Ingles store immediately outside the back door...!

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are spectacularly good.....if you want a view you need a room facing the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed three nights. The hotel is in an unattractive building, but very close to the fashionable and upmarket shopping district of Madrid.
We had a junior suite with a view over a roof. The room itself was clean comfortable although a little elongated.
The bathroom was marble everywhere, a great shower, bath and heated towel rail.
Walk in robe, very sizeable.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the doormen.
The main negative was overpriced food and minibar. €8 for hot water to room, €8 for bottled water, and €35 for average quality breakfast.
The room itself was nice but not worth the price compared to other experiences I've had.

Room Tip: One in the front of the hotel overlooking Castellana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Villa Magna for four nights at the end of September. The hotel was clean and efficient, the rooms were excellent, and the service was wonderful. Though I did not speak Spanish (my wife did), this was not a problem. Though we stayed in 5-star hotels throughout Spain, this one was clearly the best. Check in and out was fast and efficient, especially when we had to leave to get an early AM flight on a Monday. The only issue we had was that the mirrors in the rooms doubled as TV sets and the next door neighbor had his TV on all night long (must fall asleep with it on). Two nights we called down to complain at 4am, and it was promptly stopped. The last two nights we went to the front desk and told them of the situation. The visitor had checked out that day and the staff was nice enough to keep that room empty for the rest of our stay. Overall, a wonderful hotel that I would enthusiastically recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise. Madrid is a very busy city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

All of the elements of our stay in the Villa Magna were first rate. The room was like an open suite which had a comfortable sitting area, a work area and a very satisfactory bed and dressing area. Bathroom was elegant - large and finished in stone.

Food in the restaurants was very good and the staff were quite pleasant.

Location is excellent for the heart of Madrid. easy to get places by cab quickly and many key destinations are within walking distance. Shopping is just out the door.

Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front. The view of the Paseo de la Castellana really makes you feel like you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Magna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Magna

Address: Paseo de la Castellana 22, 28046 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Madrid
#3 Family Hotel in Madrid
#7 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Magna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Magna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Magna
Hyatt Hotel Madrid
Hyatt Madrid
Madrid Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Magna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.