We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong service made a difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added HOTEL OPERA to your Saves list
HOTEL OPERA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Santo Domingo, 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Strong service made a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Location: Down a tight street, but one block away from Opera Metro stop. Reception: Very polite and accomodating. I rented in the "historical building", but they moved me to the updated hotel without a problem. I would say it's a clean, standard hotel (I was in room 104 anyway), but the service pushed it into the 4-star realm. Room: very clean. Bathrooms: very tight, although quite clean. The toilet was inserted between the counter and the wall and was ridiculously narrow to wedge into. Furnishings: modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks in advance for your great comment about your stay in our Opera Hotel located at the Heart of Madrid.

We always try to do all the things possible for you to have a relaxing stay with us.That was the reason why We offer another room in this Hotel instead the Other.

We look forward to hearing from you and remember you can continue visiting our website to enjoy the best promos and seasonal offers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    232
    76
    21
    13
See reviews for
104
250
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent five nights at the Opera in October 2013 and loved everything about it. The hotel was very convenient to The Opera metro stop. It is five minutes from the Royal Palace, and has many restaurants nearby. The room was quiet, and had very comfortable twin beds. The bathroom was modern and had a bath and a shower.We would definitely go back to this hotel again and again. As long as they keep running it as they are now, my girlfriend and I will always stay there. Weather was about 25 degree Celsius , sunny with clear blue skies, an ideal time of year to visit madrid. Madrid in general is a lovely city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks in advance for your fantastic comment about your stay with us, in our Ópera Hotel located at the heart of Madrid.

We will like to invite you to continue visiting us for the next times you come to Madrid. It will be a pleasure to offer you our best smile and our best services of course.

Remember you can continue watching our website to enjoy the best promos and seasonal offers,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Opera in September 2013 and loved everything about it. We stayed in a suite with a jacuzzi and private balcony and the extra cost was worth every penny. The rooms in Europe are smaller than North American standard but with the private balcony and outdoor jacuzzi tub we had more than enough space. The location is perfect, right in the midst of the outdoor cafes, bars, restaurant and shopping. Breakfast was included and a great start to the day. Front desk staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Room was spotlessly cleaned each day.

Room Tip: The extra cost of the jacuzzi suite is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your great comment about your stay in our Hotel Ópera located at the heart of Madrid.

Its a pleasure having customers who enjoy each part of the hotel. You had our lovely rooms with terrace and Jacuzzi on the top floor of the building.

We are located in the main centre of Madrid, next to the main touristic places to go walking , also for go shopping and enjoy the best traditional tapas of Madrid.

We hope you had a great stay, and We look forward to see you soon again, to continue offering our best services and help in all the things you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fabulous location, just a short walk to the palace, Sol Square and across the road from the opera. Busy at the breakfast buffet but called back a little later without any problems. Friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend this hotel - and Madrid in general - it's a beautiful city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Ópera.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.

Maria Carús
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I would strongly recommend this hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting most of Madrid's attractions on foot. It is five minutes from the Royal Palace, and has many restaurants nearby. The room was quiet, and had very comfortable twin beds. The bathroom was modern, clean and had a nice bath and shower. Buffet breakfast was well stocked with plenty of choice from cereal,toast, yogurts to scrambled eggs and bacon. Staff in reception were helpful and pleasant. Weather was about 72 degrees, sunny with clear blue skies, an ideal time of year to visit madrid.

Room Tip: If possible make sure your room is on a higher floor as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for this comment about your stay in our Hotel Opera located in the heart of Madrid.

Autumn is one of the best months to visit the city. There is a very nice weather but is not hot a lot. it allows you to walk around the centre of Madrid for a long time.

All our rooms are thought por people who need to relax, for those who comes to work, for visit the city etc. All of them with all type of facilities in the rooms but also in the rest of the Hotel ( Little meeting rooms, computers, Lobby bar, Cafeteria, Gym and sauna)

We hope you enjoy Autumn in Madrid, and we invite you to come back because in our Opera Hotel,you can enjoy in all the seasons.

Remember you can continue visit our website to see the best promos and offers.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We would definitely go back to this hotel again and again. As long as they keep running it as they are now, my wife and I will always stay there. First and foremost, the staff, what an extraordinary, charming, and caring group of guys and gals work at this hotel; truly impressive.
The staff in this hotel is number one, but also, and as importantly, location, location, location. Rooms are small, European style, but beds are very comfortable, well maintained and clean, charming overall. Location is next to the Madrid Opera house and Plaza de Oriente, within blocks from La Plaza Mayor, El Palacio Real, La Puerta del Sol, La Gran Via, and a tasty choice of both local and more touristy but still noteworthy restaurants. Breakfast at the hotel is plentiful and very good; their pastries are to die for.
If you are looking for a great place to stay in Madrid, clean, great service, good breakfast, great location, and reasonably priced, then stay at Hotel Opera; You won’t regret it! We are going back next year and we are staying there.

Room Tip: Within blocks from El Botin en la calle de Cuchilleros. You have to try their Cochinillo or suckling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear customer,

Thanks in advence for this gorgeous comment about your stay with us, in our Opera Hotel located in the heart of Madrid

We like to care to all our customers, we offer them our Hotel as their second home, so we try to do all the thing possible for your stay.

Of course our location invites to enjoy all the most and little places of Madrid because we are just located in the main centre of Madrid, next to the Opera House, to the Royal Palace, and next to the main restaurants for traditional Tapas.

We would like to see you again, and of course you can continue visiting our website to see our promos and offers fot the next time you come.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here bank holiday weekend in August and it was brilliant! The weather was so hot and the location really is perfect. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is nice and simple. I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed on the top floor in the Jacuzzi room and the room was worth every penny (heard no traffic noice either).

Warning: We brought a tube ticket from the airport and paid extra to include multiple trips thinking we could use these trips to get around madrid. However, these trips were only valid from the airport. So just buy a single tube ticket from the airport and buy multiple tickets when you get to the center.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room on the top floor is worth it and we didn't hear any traffic noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear client,

Thanks in advance for your comment about our Hotel Ópera located at the heart of Madrid.

Its a pleasure to know that you had a lovely bank Holiday in Madrid. You Choose the best Hotel and ones of the most beautiful rooms. They are comfy, and invites you to relax when you come back to the hotel, after a day long around the city without any type of noise.

Also its nice to hear that you liked our homemade buffet breakfast, with differents products for all our customers and until 11:00h every day.

We look forward hearing from you soon, and remember you can continue our website to enjoy the best promos.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Address: Cuesta de Santo Domingo, 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Madrid
#66 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#79 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#111 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL OPERA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.