We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Save Saved
You added HOTEL OPERA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Santo Domingo, 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 457 hotels in Madrid
wirral merseyside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is definately not a 4 star hotel,it's 3 star at the very best.The rooms are very tired and worn and ours was not clean when we got it.A major problem is the noise-there is absolutely no soundproofing at all,you can hear every sound from the street and at night it's incredibly noisy.We were on the fifth floor to begin with but got moved to the seventh because the manager said the street noise would be less,it wasn't and the noise from the room above was terrible!Breakfast was a farce,do not bother with breakfast at all.We had booked breakfast and specified that one of us was coliac,when we got to the breakfast room there were people queing for tables and lots of dirty uncleared tables and no sign of staff.I went to find somebody and asked for the gluten free bread and waited,after half an hour I asked another waitress who was incredibly rude and after 45 mins and no bread we left.There was no service from the staff apart from one girl on reception who was very helpful and pleasant.The best thing about this hotel is the loacation but we would not visit again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    205
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
90
215
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We were given a room that was not ready yet but was resolved immediately by the staff.
We booked for triple room, and its very spacious. One double bed and sofa bed and so comfortable, linen are very good quality. The bathroom is huge!
Mini bar in the room.
Reception staff were very nice and multilingual.
We were not able to try the food in the restaurant and bar.
My only negative feedback is some dusty furniture but overall experience is great.
The plus point of the hotel is the location- very accessible to airport by train and nearest to del sol station. Walking distance to the palace, shopping center, museums and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently visited Madrid over the Easter period with my Wife and two young Children. We had reserved a family room, and if the truth be known, we were absolutely surprised by the size of the room. There were two beds together, an extra single bed brought into the room for the children, and also a sofa bed. The bathroom was very large, with a bath and a shower. We noted that everything was exceptionally clean. The room had excellent views of the Royal palace, and also of Opera. Breakfast wasn´t included, although we did have breakfast at the Hotel every day, due to the reasonable prices, and also the wide variety of choice. The Hotel staff were very helpfull and always very polite. As we had gone on the trip with two young children, we asked the staff if they had any ideas for the children to enjoy their stay further. Luis Miguel gave us many ideas. Due to The professionalism and helpfullness of Luis Miguel, we felt as though we were treated as VIP´s.
The next time we decide to visit Madrid, we will not hesitate to book another room with your Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views, as they are impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Ópera.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Opera between 2nd - 5th April and thoroughly enjoyed both the hotel and Madrid in general. We booked a top floor room with jacuzzi and this was really good. Although the rooms are not big, they are very clean and are as they are advertised. The hotel itself is quite small and in a quiet location 2 mins from the Palace. Breakfast was fine, not amazing, but again clean, efficient and friendly. Daniel and Riccardo on the front desk were very friendly and helpful, offering advice about Madrid. We would definitely return to Madrid and the Hotel Opera!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

the stuff was mean and helpless. i've booked a room with transfer to the airport included to the price. The day of my departure I asked the guy at the reception what time should i leave the hotel if I have to be at the airport at 8.30. "7.45 is enough" he said. The car was there almost 8. And then, suddenly they told me we will go and pick up other passengers from the other hotels. i called there from the car and asked them what should i do? they told me there was nothing they could do.
i am sure, they could find another cars for those other passengers, cause it was not myfalut that the car came to late and, most of all, that they didn't warn me about those other passengers. The manager i talked to, was incredibly helpless and mean, and during this phone call she didnt even try to listen to me, she said it wasn't their fault because of traffic, but i don't understand why it has to be MY problem, if transfer is included to the price. in the end of our talk she just hang up the phone!!! i couldnt believe it.
i missed my flight and was forced to stay in madrid for one more night,
which actually was horrible - cause i have business meetings early in the morning next day.
so, despite wonderful location, and nice room,
i dont think i'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Lady
We´re very sorry for your problem with the Transfer to the Airport.
I recomend to you next time to leave before the hotel because you can find Jam Traffic.
Think that Madrid is a Capital with 3.500.000 citizens, this is not a small village.
Is very strange that if you leave your flight you didn´t contact with us again and only leave a comment.
I contact with the Transfer Company because all minibus have GPS and they leave you at the airport with 2 hours before your flight.
Please, next time I recommend to contact directly with the hotel if you lost your flight because we´ll invite to you to sleap with us.
Sincerely
Pedro Alonso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of the Rick Steves tour during the Barcelona to Madrid package. The hotel location, staff, service and room was very nice and made the last part of the Spain trip very memorible. We highly recommend this hotel if you plan to visit Madrid. Made walking to all of the Madrid locations a plus especially the Palace. The checkout process since we stayed an extra day was handled by Enrique in a very professional manner, great staff all around!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the upper floors on the side street, being near the Plaze Opera, the outside noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Let me start by thanking you for completing our guest survey regarding your recent stay with us, here at the Hotel Opera.
Your referrals about the location, staff and services are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.
I transmit your good comments to our colleague of reception, he will be delighted to know it.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.
From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A clean comfortable hotel with very friendly and knowlegable staff. A great base to explore all that Madrid has to offer. On the Palace doorstep, and within easy walking distance of the wonderful tapas bars.There is some street noise late in the evening but only to be expected in a vibrant city. The only downside was the breakfast not a great variety but adequate, but would recommend the opera cafe as an alternative and a good place to have a nightcap after a great night out. Would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Gerente at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Opera and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again, here in our hotel situated in the heart of the city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Address: Cuesta de Santo Domingo, 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#48 Business Hotel in Madrid
#49 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#77 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL OPERA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.