We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HOTEL OPERA to your Saves list
HOTEL OPERA
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cuesta de Santo Domingo, 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was great; excellent location, reasonable price, and friendly staff. The rooms are very simple and quiet. The staff spoke excellent English and always greeted us when we came/left. There is a cafe attached to the hotel that is good and affordable. This is definitely a great place to stay that is close enough to the attractions in Madrid.

The gym has one smith-like-machine (with weights) and maybe 4 pieces of cardio equipment. It's small but does the trick.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it wasn't the absolute best hotel I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: The rooms with the jacuzzi are great, but definitely not worth it for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Let me start by thanking you for completing our guest survey regarding your recent stay with us, here at the Hotel Opera.
Your referrals about the location, staff and services are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    247
    87
    27
    18
See reviews for
119
274
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days. The hotel was clean with a more modern decor. We got in around 4PM and got into our room right away. I had requested a high floor and was put on the 7th floor. The hotel only has 9 floors. The room was spacious with a large bathroom. WIFI available in the rooms and most common areas. Breakfast was include on our rate and was more than adequate. The best thing about the hotel is its location. It is right across the street from the Royal Opera, 5 minutes to the Royal palace, Plaza Mayor, Plaza del Sol, and Mercado San Miguel. The Metro station is just 7 yards away from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Opera and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services.
It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your 7 nights in our hotel.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this very clean and fresh hotel. Nice design interior. Good service (helpfull) and decent breakfast. Good sized room, very clean bathroom (enough towels). Comfortable beds. Good location, nearby subway. Supposedly the restaurant is good entertainment with opera singers (my parent went here also).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Opera and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again, here in our hotel situated in the heart of the city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in November and found a hotel with a first class location. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The room was comfortable and of a good size for a city hotel. The breakfasts had a good choice and quality of food. The restaurant and was of a high standard with a varied menu. Pricing was very reasonable. Would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Opera and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your referrals about the location, staff and services are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.
We work to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.
We hope to see you again, here in our hotel situated in the heart of the city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This family owned 4star hotel is ideal for exploring Madrid. It is between the Theatro Royal and the Royal Palace with great transport links and restaurants around.

The rooms are well up to standard and the staff are very helpful. Breakfast is of good quality and has a good variety of food.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Director General at HOTEL OPERA, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Opera.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

You can still find the best offers on our official website in your next visit to our city.

From the heart of Madrid and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in October. Great location for tourists. Friendly service with a smile. Disappointing no umbrella available when it rained. But hey, that doesn't happen often! Breakfasts ok with reasonable choices of hottish eggs, bacon etc and continental style buffet. Will stay here next time.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

a small contemporary hotel next to the botanical gardens and ten minutes from Plaza Major. OK, very touristy area and can be noisy at night because the Spainish are night owls but so full of life. Resturants cater to tourists and so can be over priced. Located right on the Hop On bus line (recommended). The rooms are small but very cool. Get a 8TH floor balcony room with hot tub for a real treat. Staff is very helpful, multilingual,and can be very funny. Very good breakfast included. Rooms well stocked with toiletries. Minibar reasonable .no coffee maker in room. Modern bar and nice casual cafe in house. strolling the streets at night is a treat.....but be careful of pick pockets...dont carry a wallet, use a money belt, and wear your back pack on your chest not on your back and you will be fine. Just a delightful place to explore Madrid

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Address: Cuesta de Santo Domingo, 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#97 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#104 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOTEL OPERA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.