We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bad smell” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carlos V to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #119 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, bad smell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is really centrally located and that is the best thing about this hotel.
The service was also really good and the staff was friedly and always available.
The breakfast was really nice.

The room was quite small but clean.
The bed was quite hard for my taste, though.
The worst thing about the room was the really notable sewer smell in the bathroom, It really bothered me during our four day visit and lasted the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: Ask a room from the back side of the hotel, they are quieter than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear sirpasi
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. Customers' feedback is our best way to test the real quality of our services and facilities and subsequently try to improve where we can.
I want to apologize for the smell you could feel in your room, I just wonder if you reported it during your stay; it seems we did not detect it, if we had it would have been solved immediately.
We would be very happy if you consider to stay back with us your next time in Madrid. If so, please do not hesitate to report at our front desk any problm or inconvenience you might find so that we can fix it.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    348
    114
    32
    12
See reviews for
136
270
52
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on about 5 previous occasions, so obviously we think it's pretty good, and excellent value for money. We always ask for the same room which is 507 - top floor with a huge terrace. All the rooms at the top with terraces are the best as the terrace space makes up for lack of space in the room. As the hotel is situated in the middle of the pedestrian streets which lead down to the Puerta del Sol, there is no traffic noise at all. Staff members are all courteous and helpful and it's always good to keep coming back to a hotel that still has all the same staff. It's a good idea if coming from the airport to have a map for the taxi drivers as they always seem to have trouble finding the hotel (even when they use a GPS!) Even though the hotel is on a pedestrian street, taxis are quite at liberty to drive up and drop people off at the hotel door. Breakfast tends to be a bit average (a typical hotel buffet) but there are plenty of little cafes and restaurants close by if you just want coffee, (fresh) juice, croissants or pastries, for a fraction of the cost at the hotel. Free internet in the lounge is a bonus if you don't have your own computer. The only downside is the beds - not terribly comfortable and it may be time for them to be upgraded.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with terrace (not a "balcony room") - room 507 is probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Zoe005
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the commuinity and for your loyalty to our brans and our property. We are proud to be your home at Madrid.
We'll aslo take very much in consideration your tip about our beds when thinking of future rennovations.
Hope to see you back son.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

As others have said, the really great thing about this hotel is its location. Superbly located for all the main sights. Don't be put off if the taxi driver appears to dump you in a pedestrian street as happened with us. The hotel is just round the corner. Taxis do come to the door for your trip back to the airport or the station. Friendly, helpful staff. Good breakfast. The rooms are small as you would expect with this sort of place but perfectly clean with comfortable beds. Bit of city noise at night but not a big issue. Great value as well including free WiFi. Why do so many hotels still charge for that?

Room Tip: Higher the better, just to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear oldbutkeen
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
I am sorry your taxi driver didn’t bring you to our door, although are street is pedestrianized they are allowed to do it, as well as those for your trip back to the airport. I just hope your luggage were not too heavy to carry it the few meters round the corner.
We would be very happy to receive you back at our hotel your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The decision to stay at this hotel was a good one. Centrally located, it was an easy and very eye filling walk to just about everything. Although only 5 minutes from the Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real, Gran Via shopping, restaurants and cafes.....by the way, the restaurant in the Hotel is excellent!!! Very quiet considering it's close proximity to the activity centers nearby. Special gratitude to morning staff members Manual y Andres for their assistance in making our great experience in Madrid a long lasting one.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony.....not for the view necessarily, but because it gives you addition space to rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear AnaheimCA
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s lovely to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff contributed to make your experience in Madrid an everlasting memory.
It would be great to receive you back at our hotel your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This a great 3-star hotel and we had no complaints whatsoever. Having read some rather negative comments beforehand, we were a little wary, but it turned out to be an excellent place to stay. Obviously, I haven't seen every room in the hotel, but 508 at the back of the hotel at the end of the corridor was absolutely fine. It was very clean with sufficient space both in the room and the bathroom. It should be remembered that this is a 3-star hotel offering excellent value for money, so if more is expected, then accommodation with a higher star rating should be sought. Being at the back, we heard nothing from outside. Only on occasions did we hear some guests allowing doors to slam noisily, but that is down to lack of consideration from them and is not the hotel's fault. Breakfast was provided in a beautifully furnished room which also acted as a lounge during the day and evening. A range of hot and cold food was served which was delicious and plentiful. Depending on the time you turned up meant the breakfast area could be busy, so we tried to get down before 9 o'clock which made it a pleasant experience. One of the hotel's greatest assets is its location. Considering it is in the centre of such a busy city, the location is really good. All the staff at the hotel were consistently courteous and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: When making the booking, request a room at the back of the hotel which is not facing the busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear BritishFlyer
I’d like to start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
Yes, we have some reviews not as good as yours. It is our main goal to try to make our guests feel like home at our hotel but though with most of them, like you, we succeed I am afraid it is not always possible to exceed all the expectations. Anyway, together with those who write good reviews about our hotel like yours, we also thank those who let us know where we can improve.
It would be wonderful to have you back at BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlos V your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a 3 star hotel which punched above its weight. We arrived late and were shown to our room which was an adequate size for our stay, the bathroom had many complimentary items and more available on request which were delivered to our room within minutes, the bathroom had a good shower and was not cramped at all. We requested a room on the 5th floor at the back and experienced no noise at all.

Breakfast was much more than we expected for a hotel in this location and there was a choice of continental or English so no complaints at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful over and above what we expected even getting us a seat on the mini bus to the airport at very short notice which we thank you for.

The location is very busy but ideal for sightseeing and the metro very easy to use to get to sites a little further away.

Room Tip: For a quiet room choose a higher floor and request one at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Linda O
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’ lovely to know we were able to meet your expectations and help you enjoy your stay with us at the very heart of our lovely town.
We would be grateful if you consider to stay back at our hotel in case you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Was surprised to find our facilities rather cramped and dull - and the included breakfast was unappetisingly the same day after day.

Staff friendly and helpful - but limited amenities in the hotel.

Close to central squares and shops

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear smsfirecracker
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. We find customers’ feedback is our best way to try to upgrade the level of our facilities and service.
On behalf of our entire team I would like to apologize for not having exceeded your expectations. It is our main goal to try to reach the highest level in guest satisfaction but it is clear we failed in your case. We are a small family run hotel, with classic decoration and limited service: room, breakfast, bar and internet office. You may find us dull if you are used to stay at larger hotels with activities program and more varied facilities.
We would take very much in consideration your comments about our breakfast. We serve each day 6 different sorts of hot dishes, 4 cold cuts, 4 different fruit juices, 4 types of cereals, cheese, assorted fresh fruit, vegetables, together with breads, buns, rolls… and of course coffee, tea and milk, but it is always possible to vary the selection a bit more.
We would be glad to have you back with us in case you decide to give us another oportubity to serve you
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Address: Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carlos V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.