We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carlos V to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #119 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights here and was great value for money. Most attractions within 5 mins to half an hour walk maximum, and very close to the clean and efficient metro. Very good breakfast served between 7am and 11am - brilliant! Staff friendly and hotel facilities good with free but slightly iffy Wi-Fi. Clean and pleasant room for a short stay and would recommend friends to stay here and would again stay ourselves if we get back to Madrid again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel as it could be noisy at the front as the spanish do enjoy enjoyi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Margaret G
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community and your kind recommendation! It’s great to you enjoyed our stay at our unbeatably located hotel right in the heart of downtown Madrid
I am also happy to know we will be your first option in case you return to Madrid, we’ll be pleased to have you with us.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    348
    114
    32
    12
See reviews for
136
270
52
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

.. spent a week in the hotel and had no complaints at all - room and bathroom spotless - towels in abundance - warm - very warm. Good breakfast at a very reasonable price - Madrid very expensive to eat out so breakfast in hotel a good start to the day. Centrally located - lounge/bar/dining area quite luxurious - a happy hour too - 2 hours!!
Tad noisy early hours with the road cleaners! But given the thousands of people milling around day and night streets needed good clean up! We had read about the noise in other reviews but decided still to take a front room with small balcony with a view rather than a back room with no view. I always travel with ear plugs anyway and these were a hit
Three computers for clients use.
All staff helpful and friendly.
A lovely old building with a charm of its own

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Annie B
Let me first of all thank you for the time dedicated to share your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed our stay at our unbeatably located hotel right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
Yes, our area is a bit too noisy at night, it’s the due we have to pay for being located right in the heart of the city! Gladly you were forewarned and brought your earplugs with you :)
We’ll be happy to have you back with us if you decide to return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

All the staff I encountered were friendly, and the room small but adequate. For a cheap base in central Madrid, it was ideal. Breakfast was included, and was pretty good. Staff at breakfast were very amenable to requests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear A380fan
Let start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. Guests’ feedback is our best way to assess the real quality of our services.
It’s great to know you enjoyed our stay at our unbeatably located hotel right in the heart of downtown Madrid and we would be happy to have you back with us on your next trip to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Best Western Carlos V is a very nice and clean hotel in a very good location in Madrid. There were a few minor problems....the air conditioner could only be turned on or off with no temperature adjustment, and they missed a few wake up calls. So that would give it a rating of 4 from me. But we arrived on an early flight into Madrid, and we were tired from the long flight, and they went out of their way to let us check in early. So that brings their rating up to the maximum 5.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you are arriving early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear weatherman19
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed our stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
I’m glad to know we were able to give you a room at your early arrival; knowing we are not perfect (who is…) it is by small details like this that we to try to get close to excellence.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Puerta del Sol is considered the center of Madrid. In the thick of it is the Best Western Carlos V. For those starting your Spanish adventure, I highly recommend this hotel for not only its location, but really great staff too. They're quite helpful in the way of recommending places to see/do as well as calling up taxi services to get you to the airport.

In fact, one of the staffers called a car for me at 5:30 am, five minutes later, the taxi drew up to the door. Feeling suspicious, the staffer spoke to the cab driver, but wouldn't let me get in it. Turns out, the car was for another pair of passengers also staying at the hotel. I couldn't help but think that he really looked out for me.

There are countless shops and restaurants all within a 5-10 minute walk. I personally liked visiting the trendy neighborhood of Chueca which is only a stone's throw away. For those that really enjoy walking, the Reina Sofia, Atocha Station, Lavapies are all within a 20 minute walk of the hotel.

As others have said, the rooms are dated, but they're quite comfortable. I don't expect the opulence of a Le Meridien when I stay at a Best Western. Inside the room contained two single beds, a fridge and "minibar", television and a safe (which one can rent for 1.9E a day). I slept quite well and didn't really spend too much time inside the room.

All in all, a really great hotel with an amazing location. If it's your first time to Madrid, give the BW Carlos V a try.

Room Tip: Rooms on Calle Vitoria Maestro can be quite noisy, especially on a weekend evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Louie M
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the community and your kind recommendation. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
I’m also glad to know you found our staff helpful and that you experienced that at a Best Western you were staying with people who care, as you could feel when you called a taxi.
It would be wonderful to have you back with us on your next trip to our gorgeous city. We’ll try to make you recommend our hotel for more people than those who come to Madrid for the first time.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Loved the location. Out the door, down the block and you are at the Puerta del Sol. Surrounded by nightlife and Madrid crowds. The staff was exceptionally helpful at all times. Our only concern was that occasionally at night our room was a little noisy. You are at the heart of the city so some noise from street cleaning and crowds is to be expected. Our room was small but clean and came with free WiFi. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The view from our street side balcony was great but it did come with a little extra noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Attheedge.
Let me thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to make you feel at home.
Yes, our location is a bit noisy, but as you say it’s what you can expect if you want to stay in the heart of a busy city like Madrid. I guess you must have stayed in a room at the front of the hotel, but we also have rooms at the back much more suitable for light sleepers.
We’d be happy to have you back on your next to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived very very early in the morning on our flight from the US, and they got us into our room quickly. The staff at the front desk were all very courteous and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast, but it looked very nice. It's in a neat room that is also a great space for relaxing. We sat in there and got on the internet there while we waited for our room to be readied. We had no complaints at all about our room. It was basic but still nice and clean. The location of the hotel is great. Very close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
• Dear dtand2a
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. It’s great to know you enjoyed your stay with us in our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
I’m glad we were able to give you a room early in the morning; we know it helps to enjoy the city especially if you are just arriving from overseas!
Pity you did not try our breakfast, why not on your next trip to Madrid? We would love to receive you back home.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Address: Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carlos V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.