We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carlos V to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #119 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times in the past 10 years, because it is a great location for me to visit family in Madrid who only live one Metro stop from SOL. Yes I agree with other reviews, the rooms do now need freshening up! Bathroom small and also needs to be upgraded! Our room was small, bed very confortable and the room was clean. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast very good. We have also found that taxi drivers from the airport don't seem to know where it is. We find the best thing to do is ask for Puerta Del Sol, look for El Court Ingles (large department store) and walk up the street, hotel is 2nd road on left 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: If in the summer and you want windows open the front can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Conmackie
Thank you for sharing your commentrs with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed yout stays with us enough to become a regular guest, you make us feel proud for being your home at Madrid.
We take very much in cosideration your advise about updating, but we promise we won't chance our style.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    348
    114
    32
    12
See reviews for
136
270
52
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in early October 2012. The hotel was arranged by our agent, and although initially hard to find (because of basic taxi driver) we settled in to our nice but outdated decor room. The check-in staff were tops and through our leave the check-in and breakfast staff were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel has a good breakfast and is in close walk to Puetre del Sol. For here you can get the hop on bus for a good tour around the sights of the city. The room was spacious and the bathroom quite clean and functional. This is a good hotel to stay on a medium budget when in Madrid. We felt incredibly safe in this part of Madrid due to the high level of Police presence (recent Government initiative) and were happy to wander the area in late evening in well let areas. No hesitancy in recommending the Carlos V.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Austravel25
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us, we'd love to see you back your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

p.s.: thank you for your recommendation!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was clean and help pleasant bathrooms very small but can be dealt with. Rooms needed major upgrading. Our room had a musty smell. Kept spraying it. Bedspreads were old. Could not move around in shower. Had a parlor on 1st floor that was a pleasant meeting place but that was best could say about. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear 38tennis
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. We will take them in consideration for future renavations.
Some update works have been done during 2011 and 2012, we hope we can face others next year. It will be a great pleasure if you decide to give us the opportunity to serve you again so that we can provide you a better experience.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldas da Rainha
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A brief review: check in took 15 minutes, with just three couples to process. Bedroom was fine, and available 'early'. Bathroom clean, but trkly 'compressed'. Breakfast totally overpriced compared with various (very close cafes/bars)...eg 13,50 Euros for eggs and bacon. Central location great, but with it came much street noise throughout the night; worse noise though from fellow residents (kids to teenagers) who ran amok up and down stairs, slamming bedroom doors, with the staff showing little interest in 'calming' them. Bar takings are obviously not importabnt to the Hotel, as it was always difficult to get served....we finally gave up on it totally when reception said it was open but the barman insisted it was closed, and this at 10.55pm in a city centre establishment.

Sorry, but we and our friends won't be going back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director de Recepción at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Ian P
Thank you very much for sharing your comments with the community. We'll take them very much in consideration, as customers' feedback is our best way to try to uograde our level of service.
Let me just point I do not really understand what you say about our breakfast; we serve a full all-u-can-eat buffet, including cold and warm dishes (fresh fruits, yogurt, juices, cereals, cold cuts, cheese, buns, rolls, bread, scrambled and haard boild eggs, bacon, Spanish ommelette, saussages...) with coffe and tea, and we charge 9.90 euros per person.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location in the heart of Madrid. Only 2 blocks from Puerta del Sol. Our room was clean and had a large balcony on the 5th floor with a table and chairs. I will stay here again when I come back to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Twobyte2
Thank you for your comments, it's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again on a next trip to Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thsi hotel is located right between Sol and Gran Via (Callao) on a pedestrian street.
We have stayed there on many trips to Madrid and the service has always been very good. It is small but rooms have been refurbished and bathrooms are nice and clean. Plenty to eat at breakfast. Always request rooms located in the interior of the building due to street noise at night. (people talking, singing, etc.)
It is modest but excellent if you come here to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dera Ugly60
Thank you for sharing your comments with the comunity. It's great to know you enjoy our unbeatable location and our services enough to have become a regular guest. We are happy to be yuor home at Madrid.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice easy to use hotel really central for walking to many of the interesting bits of town, and you'll get a good nights sleep if you specify a quiet room on the booking form. We had room 508 which is at the back with a side window that is not overlooked. The room is not massive but perfectly adequate for a couple who spend more time looking at the sights of Madrid than television [CNN is on offer but all other TV programmes are rubbish anyway btw!]
We had breakfast included in our booking for us a must, we avoid accommodation only/no breakfast deals which end up trying to find somewhere out on the streets to get coffee/breakfast [I have unfond memories of searching for hours in Amsterdam] The breakfast and service offered here is top class and we rate this hotel highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear guest
Let me thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed our central location and breakfast.
We'll be glad if you decide to stay again with us in case you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Address: Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in Madrid
#111 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carlos V, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.