We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Gran Via to your Saves list
Catalonia Gran Via
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi) (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect location - Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Good size room - I had a single room. Clean with a really good bed. For once an excellent hairdryer! Staff helpful and friendly. Free wifi works well. Good breakfast buffet with a good choice.
On the negative side: Gym and pool both very small and A/C doesn't work very well, but I would go back to this hotel if in Madrid again as well as recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Marianne: Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    235
    132
    45
    30
See reviews for
84
226
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Situated along Gran Via this hotel has an excellent location for getting around in the city. Its an old building, which is very well mainated. Lobby is fairly large and has a nice bar area close to the reception. We had a room with a big terrace, which was excellent for early mornings and evenings. Rooms itself had a good size with an excellent bed, which provided a really good sleep. Furniture was fairly and in good condition. Cleaning maids did a really good job and were very friendly. The only bad thing in the room was that it was hard to control hot/cold in the shower. Staff were mostly very serviceminded and friendly, although seemed to be a little understaffed. Will we return if visiting Madrid? Certainly!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente: Agradezco sus comentarios acerca del hotel. Siempre es una satisfacción encontrar a clientes que han tenido una feliz estancia como es su caso. Esperamos poder volver a recibirle en próximas visitas a Madrid , hasta entonces le enviamos un cordial saludo hasta Gotemburgo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I chose this hotel because I wanted to be right in the city centre, and have access to a pool. Top that, the Junior suite has its own hot tub on the super size balcony. The suite is brilliant value by anyones standards, and if your staying here you might as well go the extra mile and book it. The staff standards were as expected for a hotel of this size (friendly yet proffessional), and the whole place was smart without being precious. Had a meal in the resturant and was pleasently suprised, smart food in decent potions that don't leave you hungry! The only weak point was the breakfast, but I'm English, and were never going to get a decent brekkie outside the UK. Just down the road is place called Granvia Uno which serves up an acceptable spanish breakfast in very cool surroundings with a neat jazzfunk soundtrack. If in Madrid again, I'll be back to the Catalonia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Catalonia Gran Via, until we got the bill. The room was nice and the breakfast was decent. Then my husband had to make a phone call because his debit card was eaten by an ATM machine and we asked if we could call from the front desk and they said no, we had to call from the room. So we called from the room and for a four minute conversation we were charged €56! We even used the five digit collect call number for Spain and a collect call number for our debit card. We have stayed in Catalonia Hotels before and we never will again! This was a complete rip off and extremely disappointing!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Lauren: I am very sorry about the phone call bill and is really a pity that this changed your perception of the hotel. I'm sure it had to happen some kind of billing error with that call so I appreciate if you can contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience. I would like an opportunity to make it right. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I really enjoyed staying here. The location is perfect--very easy to walk to most attractions in central Madrid and near shopping and restaurants. The room was a good size. I was able to get a comfortable double bed instead of 2 singles. The room had everything I needed (fridge, safe) and was relatively quiet. The bathroom (toilet area) was a bit cramped because of the bidet, but I guess that's a European thing. The staff were helpful and friendly although I had to wait a bit to get my questions asked.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I am surprised that this hotel is currently showing only 69% as we found it just what we were looking for.
The room and the bathroom were both a good size and was well equipped. (The bed was incredibly comfortable). Both were kept spotless throughout our weeks stay.
Although we heard some noise from occasional visitors passing in the corridor, the room was almost soundproof.
The food in the restaurant was delicious and at €18 for 3 courses, not badly priced.
All the staff that we came into contact with were cheerful and most helpful - some understood English better than others but all understood English better than we did Spanish.
The central location makes anywhere in the city just a short walk/ride away.
Finally it is worth commenting that the exterior of the hotel is currently covered by scaffolding as work is being carried out, although this did not bother us at all and shouldnt put you off visiting..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped: Antes de nada quisiera agradecerle sus comentarios; estoy seguro que con comentarios como el suyo subiremos ese 69 %. En referencia a los andamios que usted comenta y para la información del resto de nuestros huéspedes, le diré que ya han sido retirados después de restaurar una de nuestras dos fachadas y que el resultado es espectacular; nos sentimos muy orgullosos de contar con una de las fachadas más representativas de la Gran Vía madrileña. Le esperamos en próximas visitas a Madrid. Un fuerte abrazo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is ideally located. You can walk to Fuencarral shopping area, Sol, Plaza Espana and great eateries. I travel to Madrid a lot, and this was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. The separate stone shower was to die for. The only unsatisfactory thing about the room was the lack of a window. Hotel is reasonably priced, despite its prime location. The free wifi was definitely a bonus!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Address: Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#128 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Gran Via, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.