We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Save Saved
You added Catalonia Gran Via to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in August.
Excellent location in Madrid, walking distance to many attractions.
Reception was friendly and helpful.
Room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was included and was yummy and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    198
    109
    37
    19
See reviews for
59
169
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Girona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We got a very good deal on a standard room. The first room we were given was fine except that, overlooking the busy Gran Via street, we found that neither of the double glazed windows shut properly, making it pretty noisy. I contacted reception for a room change and we were immediately offered an alternative interior room which was perfect. Although not a new hotel, the soft furnishings are modern and combine well with the heavy dark wood and marble. The room was very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
It was our pleasure to have delighted you with our service. Thank you for choosing to our hotel, as we know your choices in Madrid are many. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell others around the globe about your experiences with us. Good news travels fast and we are sure that your words will echo loudly with many future travelers. For this and your business, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were in this hotel for one week. It has spacious room, very comfortable beds, great location and very easy transport accessibility. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review here on Tripadvisor. The Staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel are pleased and grateful for your praise. We appreciate your business and it was our pleasure to serve you. We hope to see you again soon. Until then Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I was in large group of people from different Parliaments worldwide for seminar organized by Congreso de los Diputados, on March this year. We stayed at the Hotel for two weeks and I must say that during that period I felt almost like home, so - everything was great – room, hotel, service, bar, location, even - wine bar opposite of the hotel front door is superb.
The food in the hotel is regular, means ok.

Yes, I have to admit, that Israel's front desk team was great by solving some of my special needs regarding my room.

That hotel is my recommendation!

Room Tip: I prefered the room with Gran Via view possibly on topfloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here back in July when rooms in Chueca are at a premium. The hotel was reasonably priced, perfectly located, had a friendly staff, and was very clean. My only complaint is that the beds were overly hard Also, as someone else mentioned, the pictures of the rooftop pool are VERY deceiving. It's essentially a hot tub and the space is so small that it only holds 2 lounge chairs. Still, if you know all of that ahead of time, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The location is great, this is true. Very central. And the lunches were okay (aside from the restaurant staff not understanding that the vegetarian in our group was not vegan...).

However, if you are planning to have a meeting with this hotel, I would strongly recommend going elsewhere. The conference staff are incredibly disorganized and unhelpful, and were very inflexible with basic changes and/or requests that a normal meeting situation demands. The meeting spaces themselves are small and smelled terrible (ie: at best, dusty and stale, at worst, like an overflowing toilet). Water and coffee were not refreshed throughout the day and we kept running out (although we paid a LOT for this service), and there were a lot of mistakes, delays and confusion overall.

In terms of the hotel rooms, they were average but fine. Good towels. The pool is very small and thus FULL of people and very cloudy water. The pool opening hours were also inconvenient.

All in all, as a place to stay as a tourist, it is average at best. And for business, I would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Good day and thank you for your review of the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel. The staff of the Hotel aims for excellence with every stay and every guest. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and we hope to one day be able to impress upon you a more positive experience. Have a great day and we wish you happy travels wherever you may be headed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with 8 other girls, good value for money, spacious rooms and good location. The only down side was the pool is more of a hot tub, it was tiny and the picture on their website is an optical illusion! Children playing in the pool were splashing everyone else trying to catch some sun. Would stay there again though, Madrid is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others; we are delighted to hear your entire group was impressed with our Hotel. We hope you and your friends visit us again soon; until then safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Address: Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#122 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Catalonia Gaudi could not be better: Madrid's Gran Via at the intersection of Alcala Street, a few metres from the Plaza Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. All of Madrid's main attractions are in walking distance from the Museum golden triangle to the Congreso de los Diputados to the "tapas" bars, etc. The remains of the building date from the beginning of the century, although it opened as a hotel only a few years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Gran Via, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.